We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Brilliant, very friendly, helpful and lovely.”
Review of Alexandra House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexandra House
Ranked #141 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Brilliant, very friendly, helpful and lovely.”
Reviewed August 22, 2010

For anyone who has difficulties booking a family room with a teenager I would definitely recommend this Guest House. Everything is very clean and the breakfasts are fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisC00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tranent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We've been holidaying in Scarborough for the past 5 years and this hotel has been a lucky find and we'll definitely be booking a return stay in this hotel in subsequent years. The owners were great - really friendly - nothing was too much trouble. We stayed for a week in August 2010. We travelled with family, including 2 young children and we were made to feel really welcome - the rooms were all good sizes. Carol and Dave, the owners, were great with the children who really appreciated the little extras like fishing nets which they had on hand for guests to use - the sweets also went down a treat! The breakfasts were superb - good choice so you could have something different every day - we'd recommend the boiled eggs and soldiers (delicious!). The hotel is located close to the South Cliff so was within easy reach of the town centre, cliff lifts and beaches. One suggestion to make our stay even better (6 stars?!) would be to have access to wifi in subsequent years. That said, we couldn't recommend this hotel enough! Brilliant.
Scott & Susan, East Lothian

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottheald05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This hotel is a real find.Exceptionally warm and attentive owners,but in no way intrusive. We arrived before check-in,knowing we could leave our cases, but our spacious and spotless room was already available.Breakfast was locally sourced, very fresh and beautifully cooked to order.The hotel is in an excellent situation to explore the South Bay in particular and only a 10 minute walk from town and a great choice of cafes, restaurants and shops.We thoroughly enjoyed an excellent production of "The Mikado" at the local theatre. Our hosts know the area very well and could suggest lots of interest to do and see. Thanks for a super stay - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairec98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheppey, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Having read the reviews on this guest house we had no hesitation in booking. When we called, we were greeted by this cheerful Yorkshire accent. Carol, the landlady was most pleasant, helpful and accomodating. All booked in no time. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and were met by David, Carols husband. This, i must point out is a well run family owned guest house, usually booked well in advance but with occasional space. Both Carol and Dave hold down shift work occupations as well but the guests would not notice as their shifts never clash and one of them is always available. Rooms are clean and neatly decorated with fresh towels every three days. Breakfast is the usual hotel/guest house assortment but the full English is sourced locally. Country herb sausages from award winning Beavers butchers in Masham, local bacon and eggs, Black pudding made locally by a little old lady and very good as well. (Make sure it's crispy on the outside, it's the best!!) and as much toast, coffee etc as you could manage.We had room 2 and whilst it was more than adequate we thought that the en suite could have been a little larger by the w.c. area but we understand that improvements are scheduled for a date to be advised. The overwhelming point about our stay was the way that both Carol and Dave (along with Carol's mum) all treated you as if you were a friend they hadn't seen for ages coming to visit and not as a commodity just to make profit from. We would book again if in the area so would suggest you have no hesitation in booking if you want good service at a realistic price

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandcarol_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

My wife and i managed to get away for a few days and found Alexandra House. The couple running the place were very friendly and helpful. When the owner found out that my wife had a gluten allergy, she went out especially to get gluten free sausages and also provided gluten free bread. I am afraid to say that i broke the toilet handle - sorry! (was a bit past its sell by date...). I apologised but they were kind enough to put us in another room for the second night.
All in all a lovely break.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeganley2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Stayed at the Alexandra at the end of May, I was on my own and had the single room. On arrival I met Carol who was lovely. She showed me to my room and although a little small it had absolutely everything you could need, with lots of extra nice touches and very clean. The bed was increadibly comfortable and the area was peaceful at night. The only thing I would say is that the curtains let the light in in the morning so I woke rather early but that is my only negative. There was a good selection for breakfast, starting with cereals or fresh fruit salad which was really good followed by a good yorkshire breakfast with local produce, this was excellent, definitely not your average fry up! Carol is such a lovely person and should I ever be in that area again will most certainley stay at the Alexandra again. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Lincs
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

excellent value, very very clean room, great breakfast, a good choice.. Carol very friendly and helpful..Near the quiet end of scraborough (south Bay)..., yet only 10mins or so, to the North Bay and town centre... we had a great time, we will be back....

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags21NorthEastLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#16 of 182 in Scarborough
614 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#60 of 182 in Scarborough
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra House

Property: Alexandra House
Address: 21 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4 star Victorian guest house situated close to the spa, beach, town and university. Enjoy a deliciously Yorkshire breakfast in our sunny breakfast room. Families welcome. We go that extra mile to make your stay special. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing