We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, filthy cutlery!”
Review of Ryndle Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ryndle Court Hotel
Ranked #82 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, filthy cutlery!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were very happy with our family room - double and single in one room and twin beds in adjoining room. One small shower room was just about adequate for 5 but was spotlessly clean. Very disappointed in the standard of food at dinner which was a special celebration dinner. We would have been better off eating out. Dinner was ordered after breakfast and my vegetarian daughter ordered cheese and tomato pizza - the only pizza listed on the menu. When dinner arrived she was presented with pepperoni pizza which she couldn't eat. She was then offered two fish choices or veg lasagne. Vegetarians don't eat animals so that was no good, and she didn't want lasagne or she would have ordered it. She ended up with a plate of baked beans and no apology. Having had the order since the morning, either a request for an order change or the purchase of the correct flavour pizza could have been made.
The cutlery and glassware were dirty and chipped as were the condiment holders.
However upon checking out there were apologies and no charge for the dinner fiasco.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scootie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    31
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
35
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed at Ryndle Court with 2 friends on a "boys-trip" away. The hotel is family run, very clean and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble-even storing our luggage on the last day, whilst we went into town. Family are great and very welcoming. Would be pleased to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_damant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Recently visited this hotel with my sister in law (she had visited during previous ownership)and my husband for the cricket.
Externally the hotel looks well presented with lovely gardens. We were greeted by the proprietor and allocated our rooms which were extremely tired looking.
However we were awoken in the early hour by bed bugs.
Horrendous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
After showering, shaking all our clothes, we packed and went down to reception
The proprietor could only be alerted when I accidently set off the burglar alarm.
Although slightly apologetic we were not immediately offered a refund or alternative accommodation.
We spent the next few hours until day break sitting in the lounge as we had travelled by train and had no means of leaving.
I ONLY HOPE ALL THE BUGS ARE LEFT BEHIND IN RYNDLE COURT.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liiyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryndle court h, Owner at Ryndle Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We Would like to appoliges once again and could not offer another room as the hotel was full. We would like to explain our procedure at Ryndle Court Hotel, for managing these problems ,We have a contract with a professional company who inspect the hotel, both inside and out for any problems on a regular basis, and this room had certificate of been clear and as never had any problems over 8 years we have owned the hotel . As soon as we were made a wair we telephoned the company and they arrived and delt with the room before lunch time and the room was taken out of use . We are very dissapointed that this happend as someone as brought these into hotel and would hope that all other similar establlishment have a similar procedure .On a posative note after the agreed period of time this room as now got full clearance as do all our rooms 4/10/2013 and have certificate to reassure all our guests old and new.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

i stayed here for one night on sat 17 th of august 2013 with my mother,it was her birthday so we were hoping this hotel would be nice for a night away,we arrived early,about 11.45 am and we were told by the owners son in law that our room wasnt ready yet,we left our luggage and went into scarborough.when we returned to the hotel and went to our twin room(room 4)we were shocked as it was very messy,the beds looked like someone had been laid on them,the carpets hadnt been hoovered,there were dirty used glasses and cups left,the courtesy tray with tea/coffee on,hadnt been refilled,and there were coffee stains on the tray,plus the waste bin hadnt even been emptied from the last occupants.my mother was disgusted.we decided not to say anything as we dont like to complain.the only plus points were the view onto peasholm park and the breakfast was ok.it wasnt cheap to stay here at £70.00 for the two of us,im glad to see the hotel is only a two star! its not worthy of more.wont return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank big_rog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
326 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

On checking in we had a very friendly greeting from the owner's wife and were instantly made to feel welcome. We were shown around the hotel and even shown our table for breakfast the next day which was a lovely touch. Our room was room 12 on the second floor, overlooking the park, and was very large, light and airey. The only downside was that the shower room was quite 'tired' and the soap dish in the shower was dirty and the grey suite needs updating to a fresh white suite - would make all the difference. As the weather was so nice we sat outside with drinks until gone 11pm so it is nice that there is this outdoor area.The bed was very comfortable which gave us both a lovely night's sleep. In the morning we were able to go straight to our table for breakfast which was served by very friendly and attentive waitresses, and even the owner came out to say hello - a nice touch.The food served was fresh and hot and was delicious - so much better than a buffet system - downside no decaffinated coffee. A lovely stay and one which we hope to repeat in the future. Well done to all, a credit to you.

Room Tip: A front facing room - overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Me and my partner stayed for one night on 15/7/2013. On arrival we was greeted nicely, and checked in with no problems. Room was nice, nice breakfast, but was instant coffee, Nice bar with normal pub prices and John Smiths on tap!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southam_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Myself, mu husband and our two children (age 5&2) stayed for one night, last night and it was a great experience. We booked a family room, the previous day, and were told we could call in anytime from 10am to collect our keys. When we arrived, the room wasn't ready - it needed hoovering, but we were allowed to go in and leave our bags. The room was spotless and didn't look like it needed a hoover.

We were in room 25, on the third floor in the smaller part of the two buildings. The room had a double and two single beds. Plenty of room and storage space. Warm room. A clean, functional bathroom. Airy and light in the room. Anyone with mobility issues would struggle to get to this floor, the stairs were steep, but not in any way a problem.

The entrance hall is open and spacious, a nice reception area, TV room, and two spacious dining areas including a bar area. The drinks in the bar were normal bar prices, and the service was good - a simple and easy process to alert the owners you were at the bar. The owners were friendly and helpful and always on hand to help.

Breakfast was good, great service and friendly staff. They catered for the children too. We spoke to other guests who were also happy with their stay. Lots of free parking available, a car park and on the street parking. A 5 minute walk down to Peasholm Park, a 10 minute walk down to the beach. Good location, quiet in the evening and a comfortable stay.

Many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank **$**
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Outlook Hotel
The Outlook Hotel
#93 of 183 in Scarborough
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#35 of 183 in Scarborough
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lysander
The Lysander
#45 of 183 in Scarborough
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Harmony Country Lodge
Harmony Country Lodge
#21 of 183 in Scarborough
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#75 of 183 in Scarborough
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Norlands Hotel
Norlands Hotel
#97 of 183 in Scarborough
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryndle Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryndle Court Hotel

Property: Ryndle Court Hotel
Address: 47 Northstead Manor Drive, Scarborough YO12 6AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ryndle Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully situated overlooking Peasholm Park near the sea and North Bay Leisure Parks. All 14 bedrooms are en-suite and comfortably furnished to a high standard, with TV, tea/coffee facilities, clock radio and hair dryers. The Dining room offers a traditional menu with a wide variety of alternatives to choose from, including vegetarian and special diets. A full English and Continental breakfast is served daily. There is a relaxing TV/coffee lounge, a separate residents licensed bar, a patio area, border garden and guests car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ryndle Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing