We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place”
Review of Ryndle Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ryndle Court Hotel
Ranked #86 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just returned from a four night stay. Room clean, had a fantastic view of Peasholme Park. Lovely friendly staff especially the owner Peter who helped and advised us on routes to get where we wanted to go. Better to stay at north end of Scarborough as parking seemed a nightmare at the South Bay. Parking at Ryndle Court not an issue. Breakfast plentiful. If you don't want a full english breakfast, you could have what you want. Opted for a bacon sandwich only one morning and unlike comments earlier there were three rashers in my sandwich.What people should remember before making unkind comments is that the Ryndle Court is only a two star establishment and if you want the Ritz standards, then pay the Ritz prices. Will definately return to Ryndle Court and would recommend it to anyone wanting a friendly b & b in a lovely location with excellent breakfasts.

Room Tip: ask for a front facing room overlooking Peasholme Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebuslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 123 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Reading the other reviews it's obvious that expectations play a big part in how you might feel about this hotel. We found it no more than adequate and wouldn't book again. It was reminiscent of an old-fashioned seaside boarding house. It was one of a number of places we stayed while walking the Cleveland Way and unfortunately for the Ryndle Court it really didn't match up to the other B&Bs; but I do think that many B&Bs nowadays are really upping their game. We stayed in some really excellent and individual, almost boutique type places that charged no, or little more that the Ryndle and gave much better service and really high quality food including home-made bread and jams, with afternoon tea (home-made scones and cakes) often offered on arrival at no extra cost. There was nothing wrong with the food at the Ryndle - it's just that the competition (especially in B&Bs) nowadays is so much better. Breakfast had plenty of choice including the usual full English. I decided only to have bacon and beans and you might have thought the chef would think that as I wasn't having the full English they could afford to give me a bit of extra bacon or some more beans - but no, just one slice of bacon and a few beans at the side. Perhaps the chef didn't have the discretion to do this I thought but it turned out to be the proprietor. The fruit was tinned and again, didn't compare favourably with the fresh blackberries, strawberries and blueberries we'd been offered elsewhere and the bread was the old fashioned white or brown sliced loaf instead of the more artisan breads many prefer nowadays . Like another reviewer, I'm afraid I also commented on the cleanliness of the chef/proprietor's clothing.

The rooms are a bit tired, decor is probably 1970s. We had a huge bed which was very comfortable but the headboard didn't extend the full length of the bed which was a bit odd. There were tea-making facilities but this was the only place we stayed that didn't give us fresh milk.

On the positive side, the rooms were clean and we had a lovely view of Peasholme Park from our window. It's very close to the town for an evening meal, and to the beach. The staff at breakfast were friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ponte55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Started well, greeted by the friendly proprietor but was this let down as he was wearing a filthy apron. No offer of help with bags up 2 flights of stairs. Stayed in the top of the hotel in a small family room , the decor was shabby , towel rail broken and shower temperamental , when took a shower stood in water because drainage inadequate. Part of skirting missing in bathroom, sink not cleaned adequately. Breakfast was paltry; the beans on the toast barely covered the surface.
When leaving said proprietor still in filthy apron asked if we had a good stay. Related the above experience, he was aghast "What do you mean shabby?" he demanded. No apology was given.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Arbor25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights on a "spur of the moment" short break in North Yorks. Recommended to us by another hotelier in the town whose rooms were full.
Good points: pleasing external appearance; very warm welcome; comfortable, clean room; easy parking; pleasant location in a quiet spot overlooking a local park.
Not so good points: very small tv screen for the size of our room - high up on the wall and difficult to see the picture; shower head a bit black and mouldy (but otherwise a good shower); breakfast menu could be a little more imaginative - and coffee stronger.
Would recommend to anyone wishing to spend a few days in Scarborough as part of a longer holiday or for a short-break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portsidejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed in June for 3 nights, but just started reviewing..
Pluses location, clean room, decent enough facilities, pleasant helpful staff. As other reviewers say you certainly can do a big breakfast - if that's what you want
Downside - For a 'hotel' charging the high end of middle market rates I thought breakfast poor, a bit like a canteen. The bread is standard white or brown sliced, the main ingredients are mediocre and tasteless, jams etc are Robertsons in small catering plastic packs - it just feels processed & designed to get you in & out as fast as they can - btw breakfast finishes by 9.30 & they start to clear away at 9.15 - some of us prefer later times..
As a base it's OK but I wouldn't go back -(or to Scarborough itself) but then I don't think I'm their target audience

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheldonCooperKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

A 2 star hotel that deserves more. If you want a good breakfast served speedily this is the place. Right by peasholm park plus easy access into central scarborough and seafront drive around to south bay. Room 5 is large overlooking the park bathroom completely adequate.
All in all the tariff is very good value we paid £35 person in late july.

Room Tip: ask for a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldsmithpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My mother booked the disability access room 12 months in advance, but on arrival was given a different room that was unsuitable for her needs. Poor explanation and no offer of reimbursement or further help. We ate there one night and found the menu unimaginative and dinner limited and poor value. The hotel claims to have a restaurant but in fact the choice is very limited, you have to make your choice at breakfast time and eat dinner at six o'clock. The place is really a boarding house. Dull, uninspiring and dated.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Watlingbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
961 reviews
2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
6.1 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryndle Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryndle Court Hotel

Address: 47 Northstead Manor Drive, Scarborough YO12 6AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $52 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ryndle Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully situated overlooking Peasholm Park near the sea and North Bay Leisure Parks. All 14 bedrooms are en-suite and comfortably furnished to a high standard, with TV, tea/coffee facilities, clock radio and hair dryers. The Dining room offers a traditional menu with a wide variety of alternatives to choose from, including vegetarian and special diets. A full English and Continental breakfast is served daily. There is a relaxing TV/coffee lounge, a separate residents licensed bar, a patio area, border garden and guests car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ryndle Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing