We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Guest House”
Review of White Rails Hotel

White Rails Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Rails Hotel
Ranked #105 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Always assured a warm welcome from Chris and Diane. Been visiting for many years and always found it to be spotlessly clean with excellent food. We are happy to recommend to friends and family,we meet up with friends twice a year and have discovered that many guests return year on year. Ideally located and only a short walk from Peasholm Park, north bay and town. Arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. D and J South Yorkshire

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JANET L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 31 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have been staying at White Rails Hotel for our annual holiday for 11 years and are extremely pleased that we found such an excellent holiday venue. Chris and Diane are perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble and the warm welcome we receive makes us feel like part of the family. The accommodation is extremely comfortable, everywhere is spotless and the food is beautifully cooked and presented. The hotel is close to Peasholm Park and a short walk away from the sea front. There is limited free parking at the front of the hotel and additional free on-road parking. We would thoroughly recommend White Rails to anyone seeking holiday accommodation that is welcoming, comfortable and good value for money.

Room Tip: Book your holiday early to ensure your choice of room and on site parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dot W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have been staying at the White Rails Hotel every summer for about 10 years. We love it. The owners, Chris and Diane are lovely. They are friendly, welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. For example we mentioned we were going to visit Whitby Abbey and Chris brought us a discount voucher. Another example we were going fishing and Chris went on the internet to find details for us without us even asking. It is a nicely decorated, spotlessly clean place situated in a very convenient location for Scarborough Attractions. It is a minute away from the park, 5 minutes from the bus and the beach. There is a brilliant restaurant across the road, together with a sandwich shop, a chippy and a convenience store. There is parking at the front of the hotel and free parking on the road also. The foos is freshly prepared and of a verey high quality. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teddybear17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Very clean guest house, exellent food, always willing to please, nothing too much trouble, will certainly visit again.
Mr.& Mrs. B. from Derbyshire

Room Tip: book early for off road parking and choice of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seaside32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

If anyone is planning a holiday in Scarborough and hasn't already booked accomodation, then try WHITERAILS. Excellent food, spotlessly clean everywhere, and the most friendly and helpful couple you could wish to meet.Diane and Chris make you feel as if you have known them for ever.We will certainly go to stay again. See you soon, Marge and Keith, South Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margekeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We booked a week in Scarborough at the last minute and are really pleased that we chose to stay at the White Rails Hotel. Even when booking, Chris and Diane were extremely helpful - I explained that my husband was having mobility problems at the moment and they managed to re-arrange things so that we could have a ground floor room. On arrival we had a very friendly welcome and felt at home straight away. Our room was very spacious with extremely comfortable beds and all "mod coms", including TV with freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities (replenished daily) and en-suite with good quality shampoo and shower gels. We picked the half-board option and therefore had both breakfast and evening meal each day, which were both tasty and very substantial! All in all, a very pleasant relaxing stay and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GayleA31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Hi everyone,Have you ever been to Scarborough?  What a lovely place it is.  We discovered Scarborough a few years ago.  We also, quite by accident, discovered The White Rails Guest House on the North Shore.  We were given such a warm and friendly welcome, all the other guests were nice and friendly, we descovered that many of them had been coming back to the White Rails for a long time, as we have been doing since we found this hidden gem.The Hosts, Diane and Chris are two of the nicest people you could wish to meet, as is theire son David,  nothing is too much for them.  The Breakfast is to die for and plenty of it.  There is also the opption of an evening meal which I must say is also excellent.The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and  spotless.  Tea, coffee and hot chocolate along with biscuits are provided each day.  There is also a small library and an abundance of litriture on the area.In  the evening, you can have a few drinks in the lounge bar, play on the WI and have a good laugh.What a great place to go to.  If you are like us you don't like second best, so book early and enjoy a well earned break. Doe and SteveCHESTER

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
4.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
6 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,987 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
2.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rails Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rails Hotel

Address: 128 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $32 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing