We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend trip”
Review of The Kenton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kenton
Ranked #121 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Wetherby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend trip”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Five of us used the hotel after a Saturday walk to Filey. Clean, warm and we were made very welcome. Very comfortable beds and the family rooms were ideal for people sharing. Keep an eye out for the dolphins at sea. Fantastic breakfast. Would book again. D Wilson Wetherby.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Declan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    19
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
44
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at The Kenton in September Saturday to Wednesday, I booked a "Spacious Double" oh boy it was a big room , nice bed ,new TV and plenty of tea and coffee. There was a sofa in the bay window with a sea view .The bathroom was clean although the shower was small it was plenty for what we needed, we were supplied with fresh clean white towels and toiletries. The room is not posh by any means but clean and warm. The guy who owns this hotel called Duane needs a medal, he is soooo lovely and accommodating to the extent that he stored our mountain bikes for our full holiday stay at no cost and was very obliging when we wanted the bikes out. He was very helpful in giving advice on where to go and see. We didn't have food in the hotel but the bar was nice and cosy and stocked with basic drinks .
I would recommend this hotel to anyone ( just don't expect Hilton) this place is warm, clean, friendly and in a great location and nothing is too much trouble.

The only negative I have is the day I left as we didn't want to leave ,, We will definitely go back

BOOK IT NOW !! Don't bother searching around this hotel is well worth a stay ......

Room Tip: Book it now ....................
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joolessheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in early October 2013. The manager/owner met us and was very nice told us where our room was and left us to it. We had family room with sea view booked via lateromms.com £70 for 2 nights room only.

For the price the room was worth the money, was it perfect? nope, but then you get what you pay for and since we had gone expecting to be out and about all day it suited us fine.

minus

very few considering the price, dreadful carpet, red with holes in and a 1 inch gap around the edge!

wish both windows opened as the room got very warm and stuffy and I imagine would be unbearable in high summer.

no lift poor disabled access.

pluses

good position, quiet at night, almost opposite the cricket ground, close to town, the bed was probably the best bed I have slept in any hotel in the world was so comfy.

clean towels and bedding

constant hot water

nice walk in shower/modern en-suit

plenty of coat hangers and drawer space.

all in all I would recommend for a family on a tight budget who wont have to worry too much about the kids making a mess.

replace the carpets and this wouldn't be far off perfect

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MILBURNS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

booked the kenton as the location and price seemed brilliant...
it did not disappoint,
the moment of check in duane the owner introduced himself took us through everything quickly and simply and then we got to the room, nice modern and large room flat screen TV and a lovely shower/ WC room oh and the amazing view of the sea in scarboroughs north bay
the room was great the service amazing and the breakfast was so good we booked it for the whole 5 day stay also one of the comfiest beds i have ever slept on :)

we were also informed of places to go I.E. attractions and were not at all disappointed either
everyday we were greeted with friendly smiles and conversation

the only downside was having to leave

thanks again to duane, amanda and all staff at the kenton for making out holiday perfect

Room Tip: try to get one at the front of the hotel looking onto the beach/sea the views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great hotel. WONDERFUL view from the sea view room. Comfy bed, spacious clean room, good hot shower, welcoming host. Away from the attractions so it's quiet and it's really nice walk into the sea front. Plenty of pubs a short walk away. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Booked to stay in this hotel 13 - 15 September 2013. Booked through Last Min.com after checking that it was suitable as we would be arriving late. Noticed on hotel website that it had a bar, and hotel advice on Lastminute.com stated that the hotel was not manned 24/7 so to ring ahead to make sure that someone would be there to check you in. Did as suggested 3 days before travel, spoke to Duane who informed me that he went to bed at 9 - 9.30 and asked could We not come earlier. I explained that we were working until lunch time then had to catch the boat followed by a 5 hour drive plus the boat was already booked. Duane's response, to cut a long story short, was that if we weren't there by 9.30pm we wouldn't get in. No exceptions. Was able to get money refunded from Lastminuet.com who also waived admin fee as they said that the circumstances were unreasonable.
So just to warn anyone who may be arriving late or unfortunate enough to be delayed Duane is totally inflexible, either your there or you don't get in. Not sure what time the bar closes?

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bayman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My Girlfriend and I have just came back from a 2 night stay here. It is a lovely B&B, room was nice and big with a good treeline view with the Moors in the background. Ensuite was also nice and big with a great shower! The breakfast was also great.

Duane the owner, was also very friendly and knowledgeable of the local area. Good location in the North Bay and not far to walk anywhere!

Brilliant place, stay here!

Room Tip: Room 7 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Catania Hotel
Catania Hotel
#102 of 183 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#40 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aartswood Guest House
Aartswood Guest House
#153 of 183 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#22 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.2 mi away
Harmony Country Lodge
Harmony Country Lodge
#21 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenton

Property: The Kenton
Address: 139 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kenton 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kenton, our family run hotel in Scarborough. Our friendly residents lounge has a 60" television and a selection of games and local information. It is open for your use until 10pm and there are chilled soft drinks available for purchase. Our sea view breakfast room is bright and cheerful with individual tables. We pride ourselves on our personal service and attention to detail, all of our rooms are kept to a high standard. The Kenton is in the beautiful, quiet North Bay, with stunning sea views, yet we are close to the town centre and harbour. We have a car park which is rare in Scarborough, usually all cars fit in, but if not we can give you a permit to park on the street. Please note if you have a larger vehicle, such as a van, this will have to be parked on the street. If you have any questions please give me a call or send me an e-mail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Kenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing