We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kenton
Nearby Hotels
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
$198
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
$180
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
$125
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mount Hotel(Scarborough)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
$109
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
67
20
13
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
20
13
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea view roomcastlekeysinkkettlebreakcorridorbay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 112 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

wasn't the best place to stay!!! myself and a friend came to stay for the weekend we booked a room with a shared bathroom when we checked in we asked how many people would be sharing the bathroom and we was told only 2 other people this wasnt the case there was 4 rooms sharing 1 bathroom!!!! the bathroom had rust on the shower and the shower head had limescale on it not very appealing. The first night we went out its a nice walk to the beach and the night life is ok when we came back to the hotel it was late and we made sure we was every quiet as we knew there was children staying here so we did our best to keep our noise down however the next morning at 7am!!! we was woke by children shouting in the corridor followed by their parents not very conciderate to other people after we made the effort to be quiet others did not. the bed was very comfy but the tv could have been angled alittle better so you could watch it laid bed. on day of check out we had to check out by 10 am which wasnt a problem but others who were stayin longer were using the bathroom until 10am and we could not use it til then, when we checked out we asked the owner if it would be possible to leave our luggage while we head into scarborough for the day which wasnt a problem until we had a phone call at 1 o'clock the owner basically told us he needed us to come get our stuff as he was going out and didnt know when he would be back so we then had to rush back to get our stuff which kind of spoilt the day
dont think ill be staying there again unless it was guaranteed to be an improvement!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Kenton is a fabulous little place that is perfect for getting around Scarborough.

We arrived to be welcomed by Duane who was great throughout our stay.

We stayed in room 6 which looked out onto North beach which is where we spent a lot of our time due to the good weather. The room was perfect for the 3 of us with a comfortable double bed for my partner and I, and a bunk bed for our 5 year old who loved it so much she gave it a cuddle to say goodbye. The room is en-suite and has a good shower and was nice and clean and had everything that was detailed in the description. Duane also loaned us a hair dryer which we'd left at home.

The TV in the room has a USB port so if you want to watch movies on the tv instead of a laptop at any point then this is another great little thing to have available to you, just don't forget to take the usb out of the back before you leave..unlike this numpty :)

The thing about the Kenton that was nice for us was that it felt comfortable, simple and was in a great location for visiting all the places we wanted to go in Scarborough.

It will be my first port of call if I'm in Scarborough again.


Other little things:
The Chinese restaurant down the road from the Kenton when you go out the back door and turn left is lovely (think it's called kim sang).

North Beach at the front of the hotel is lovely, and if you are lucky to get good weather when you are in town then get a bucket n spade and down to the beach to enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoscoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

First impressions....very friendly/helpful owner. On reaching our room (felt a bit like climbing Everest!) on one of the top floors I was struck with how clean it was. We were offered the option of breakfast but opted to eat out so not able to comment on the quality. I stayed with two girlfriends celebrating a birthday so we didn't spend any time in the room really except to sleep and shower but the location was perfect, only a 5 minute walk from the centre and close to a few good pubs, what more could we want. We had a bit of a problem with the shower, it basically fell off the wall and left my friend with a nasty bump/bruise on her leg but that didn't spoil our stay too much. I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a good clean B&B in a good location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dervs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great accomodation overlooking the North Shore. A great welcome and nothing too much trouble. We took our 3 year old grandaughter away for the weekend, so hence a family room for us with sea views. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

very good quiet location, duane was brilliant couldnt do enough for you, we were greated at door on arrival bedrooms were clean and tidy breakfast was superb definatly reccomend to friends and will be going back,

Room Tip: room 6 excellent room and seaview
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynzswfcpickin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews