We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine unless you need an early start”
Review of Manor Heath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manor Heath Hotel
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine unless you need an early start”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very clean hotel but not a drop of hot water before 7am it would seem. Spent 2 nights there, first was fine as we didn't need an early start the next day but having arranged an early breakfast due to a swimming gala (which the majority of guests seemed to be going to) we found there was not a drop of hot water to the room either in the shower or wash basin. We arose at 6am and went for breakfast at 7am but were unable to have a hot shower or even a hot wash! On telling the owner he simply shrugged and said everyone else had it! which actually wasn't true as the family who had booked with us said the same. The young man who served us breakfast was very helpful and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble but the owner's attitude at our complaint was sadly lacking and we would not stay there again because of this. Very expensive and uncomfortable stay overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harties, Owner at Manor Heath Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are glad that you found our hotel very clean and our breakfast service good even at
such an early hour. We are sorry that you had a problem with the hot water but must take issue with your statement regarding the response to your complaint. The response was “I am sorry, no-one else has mentioned it – I will look into it” – not quite as you state! You are correct in saying that other guests were also attending the gala and having early breakfasts – on checking out, none reported any problem. Comments in our guest book from 3 of them – “Fab hotel, be back next year” – “Super time, lovely people, back next year”, and finally, from your friends whom you refer to –“Great stay, most enjoyable, see you soon”. These do not sound like comments referring to an expensive and uncomfortable hotel with an owner with attitude! Unlike you, all of them had the courtesy to check out prior to going to the swimming pool – you just left your key on the reception desk and sauntered back at some time after 10am with your complaint. The boiler was set for 5.45am (early for the early risers), and we were in the kitchen at 6.30am running hot water, having already used our bathroom and not experienced any problem with water temperature whatsoever.
We are disappointed that we did not meet your exceedingly high expectations. We felt we bent over backwards to meet your needs, and whilst not being surprised, were somewhat dismayed that you did not mention that “the owner with attitude” allowed you to leave your cars in our car park all day on your day of departure to save you parking charges.
At the risk of not labouring the point, whilst you scored most categories 3 or 4 out of 5, you give an overall score for your stay of 2 – this does not make sense. We are sure that potential guests having read all of our reviews will reach their own conclusions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    24
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MANSFIELD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed two nights and was very pleased with this small hotel.The welcome was warm and the hotel was spotlessly clean.Comfy bed with good linens.The parking is a bonus with a 24 hour park across the road if the hotel car park is full.Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARGARET T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harties, Owner at Manor Heath Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are so pleased you were happy with everything at our hotel - it was great to meet you too! Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just had a couple of days in Scarborough and stayed here. It is a great hotel made even better by Ros and Steve who run it and Keith who manages the dining room and maintains the rooms.
What great people, so friendly, nothing is too much trouble for any of them and i am a fussy vegan !. Lovely, clean, good sized rooms with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits ( nice when you have been out all day in the rain ) At breakfast you have a huge choice from fabulous cooked breakfast to cereal and boiled eggs. It's a great place and only a couple of yards from the North Bay and Peaseholme Park, the South Bay is walkable in 20 minutes. I would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harties, Owner at Manor Heath Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Well, what can we say? Thank you so much for your glowing review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - hope all was well when you got back to work!! We look forward to seeing you both again if you decide to return to Scarborough and will try to organise better weather for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed for a weekend as we were going to a wedding. The owners and staff were extremely and genuinely friendly. Our room was the small double but was more than adequate with excellent views and high quality bedding. Breakfast was excellent. We will certainly stay again. Thank you for your welcome. Amanda and Gav - Scotter, North Luncs

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincolnshirebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harties, Owner at Manor Heath Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on our hotel. As you mention, our small double rooms are, hopefully, just as comfortable as our larger ones - just everything is that much closer for you!! We hope you will return for a longer stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Recently stayed in this hotel with my wife for two nights and found it to be good value for money, not the biggest or brightest hotel but very clean, tidy in a nice location with owners and staff who are polite, attentive and hard working. the breakfast was ample with cereals, orange juice, full English, veggie option, toast and tea or coffee, all very well presented, what more could you want? Would recommend to others and may visit again in the future, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harties, Owner at Manor Heath Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Many thanks for taking the trouble to share your experience of our hotel - it was lovely to meet you both and I hope we will see you again when you next manage to fit a couple of days away into your busy schedules!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford,Essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Very pleased with our stay at Manor Heath.Steve and Ros are very welcoming and have the personal touch nothing is too much trouble.Kieth who serves in the restaurant at breakfast and also is the chamber person cleaner.Also is very helpful and attentive.we stayed two nights here,everywhere is very clean,plus very quiet.we used the bar one evening which is very quaint,its on an honour system,take what you want then record on a slip and leave on the bar.free wifi a bonus but not in most bedrooms, a big plus free parking on site although limited spaces, on a first come basis.The location is just right not too far from town,well within walking distance.the property is right next to a public swimming pool which is handy for you keen swimmers.The breakfast is excellent not to be missed.The only dissapointment was the weather.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harties, Owner at Manor Heath Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your short break with us and that everything was to your liking! Unfortunately, because you had a front facing room wi-fi was not available, except in the bar and public areas - all our rear-facing rooms can access it as they are closer to the router.I am sorry we could not fix the weather for you but hope we will see you again - once you have recovered from your holiday to Germany! Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just had a two night stay at the Manor Heath Hotel and the hotel was excellent.

It must be one of the cleanest hotels I've stayed in (and that includes all the big hotel chains) with not a spot of dust in sight. The hosts Ros and Steve were very friendly, warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel rooms were lovely, very spacious with lovely beds and an exceedingly clean bathroom. It was lovely to stay in a hotel where the host knew your name and you weren't just the "couple in room x".

The breakfast was lovely as well with plenty of choice and the food was cooked to perfection. The host at breakfast, Keith, was also very friendly and welcoming.

The hotel location was great - overlooking Peasholm Park and the North Bay.

Overall, an excellent hotel and one I will be staying in the next time I return to Scarborough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthYorkshireVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harties, Owner at Manor Heath Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
It was lovely to meet you and your mother during your stay over the bank holiday. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and that everything was to your liking! We have put up a new handrail on the staircase which will make the stairs much easier for your mother next time you visit!
Ros and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,752 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Heath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Heath Hotel

Property: Manor Heath Hotel
Address: 67 Northstead Manor Drive, Scarborough YO12 6AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Manor Heath Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor Heath is a detached, licensed property situated in a prime location minutes from North Bay's golden sands. Front-facing rooms have delightful views across Peasholm Park towards the sea. All accommodation boasts en-suite facilities, tea/coffee making equipment, flatscreen televisions and hairdryers. Family-run, we focus on offering a personal service where good food and cleanliness feature high on our list of priorities.Whether you just want to enjoy a short break away from the bustle of city life or a longer holiday exploring the delights of the Yorkshire Coast, The Manor Heath Hotel is the ideal haven to relax and unwind. Call us for a chat to discuss your needs and we will try to make your stay a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manor Heath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing