We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste time looking around, book this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lynton Hotel

Lynton Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lynton Hotel
Ranked #135 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't waste time looking around, book this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

This hotel is kept by very friendly house proud owners.Everything in the whole house shows this. Nothing is tired or dated. Rooms have en-suite, complementary toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, flat screen TV, DVD player, plenty of hanging space and drawers. Also if it is not in your room it is available by just asking, e.g. ironing board. The house has all the amenities you need for a stay in Scarborough, including free books and free DVDs for the times you want to chill in your room, or in the comfortable, inviting lounge. Free wi fi. Also there is a selection of leaflets with things to do in the area should you need ideas. If you need a parking space there are a few on site, or if they are all taken, you are provided with a pass to park on the street for free.
The location of this hotel is ideal, it is a small walk in one direction to the town centre and in the other to the Peasholm area. Also a small walk to beach, theatre, train station, main shops.
So like I say, don't be wasting your time searching for hotels in Scarborough, just book this one, you will be pleased you did.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirecouple001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
14
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

I was really impressed with the Lynton, the cleanliness, comfort of the bed and superb breakfast was second to none.

Paul and Cheryl went out of their way to help make the stay as nice as possible.
Parking was good too as there is parking on their very own forecourt off a busy road.

It is only a few minutes walk to the North Bay beach and also a short walk into the Town Centre so the location is ideal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip4912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

Dining:-Breakfast Lovely when you wake up in the morning you can smell bacon cooking.And the evening meal is definetly worth staying for i do not personally like all the meals but they are still lovely.
Rooms:-Telivision with DVD player also a kettle,biscuts and all the things you need for coffee and tea are refreshed every day.Lovely towels changed every day and so are the duvet and bed sheets The en-suite is lovely with a very good shower and bath.
Staff:-Lovely Mrs.watson is very nice and helpfull whilst Mr.Wtason & Mrs.Watson both make lovely meals.

Please Go to this hotel and find out how good it is for yourself
Also close to the lovely park peasome park.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetriplordoftheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

We went to Scarborough for a long weekend on the May Bank Holiday and I must say that this hotel certainly impressed us.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and well presented. Another thing was noted that the size of the room we stayed in - a really good size!! Breakfast was lush and plenty of lovely freshly cooked food. Cherryl was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Would certainly go there again!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

The Lynton is beautifully clean,the food is of an exceptionally high standard, and all this within 10 minutes of town.We have just returned from a weekend break in Scarborough and couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancashirelass_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

The Lyton Hotel scarborough is a small but very comfortable place to stay. The food was lovely & the beds were extremely comfortable (I am 6 months pregnant & it was the best sleep I had for a long time!). It is a stones throw away from the beautiful Peasholm park & the seafront & close to town too. I would certainly reccommend it to anyone wanting to stay in scarborough. A very friendly atmosphere awaits anyone going to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snikta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2007

Lynton Hotel is a small, informal place - 8 bedrooms, I think. I stayed here for 5 nights whilst I attended a course in the Town. The proprieters, Cherryl and Paul, were always friendly and helpful. They seem to get a lot of repeat bookings.

They organised everything around our needs. Food was plentiful,homecooked, fresh and delicious including optional evening meal. Rooms were all ensuite,clean and comfy and everything was up to date and worked. There was a DVD player in every room as well as a selection of DVDs in the residents' lounge. Great value at £23 pppn b+b. Dinner from £7.

Location - fairly central - in a long street of other hotels. Only problem area - perhaps soundproofing could be better.

  • Liked — friendly and helpful owners, lovely food.
  • Disliked — some noise problems
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzieKayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
3.6 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,630 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton Hotel

Property: Lynton Hotel
Address: 104 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Lynton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing