We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lOVE IT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whiteley Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whiteley Hotel
Ranked #99 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“lOVE IT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

we go every year to scarborough and i have yet to find a place as nice from the minute you walk through the door a nice warm greeting from the owners and theres a lovely clean smell in the air and the rooms are spotless,the breakfast sets you up for the day its excellent.the time of year we go it gets chilly in the evenings and after a nice day out its warm and cosy to go back to,so now we go there once a year and i look forward to it.

Room Tip: we always go for a seaview the view is lovely and you get a lovely view at night not only of the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Whiteley was a very comfortable place from the moment I set foot through the door. I had gone on holiday for a short break with my family (Mother, brother and his wife.) and this hotel had been recommended by my brother who had stayed there before.

The owner greeted us when we walked in and was very polite and cheery, checked us in and handed us our keys.

Me and my mother stayed in the family suite on the top floor. (The one with the large windows you can see in the photos of the place.) It had a nice, cosy feel to it and the view was amazing. It was great to sit on the bed and look out at everything.

The only down side to my stay here was being kept awake at night. I won't go into too much detail, but I'll just mention that unseen footsteps around the bed, rustling of our belongings and the opening of drawers was not exactly what I'd expected when I checked in.

The breakfasts sure made up for it though. Beautifully cooked full English and cereal on standby just in case you needed more to eat, as well as fresh fruit and several choices of fruit juice.

I highly recommend a stay here to anyone. (Just so long as you are a sound sleeper, if you know what I mean. ;) )

Room Tip: Family suite - Comfortable, has a double bed and two single beds and en-suite bathroom. Lovely, spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeltyCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

stayed for 1 night after just turning up in Scarborough, found the proprietor VERY helpful and pleasant. Spotlessly clean hotel. The breakfast was beautiful and a good choice. Wouldnt hesitate in returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy19_72_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Returned to the Whiteley Hotel for one night and we were not disappointed. We had a good sized room with sea view. The hotel continues to be very clean and the breakfast set us up for the day. The location is very good and off road parking is available.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meandmybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed at The Whiteley for one night in August, Had the luxury of a family room, for two us so plenty of room. Found the proprietor very friendly and helpful.This hotel as off road parking which in the hight of summer so helpful. In an ideal location only a 10min walk into the town centre or the seafront. The room was with a sea view. the hotel was very clean and tidy. the only thing to let this hotel down in my opinion was having breakfast served 8.30 till 9.00am. But saying that, it was very good breakfast. This Hotel is at the cheaper end of the market, and very good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joali54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Turned up in Scarborough, with nowhere booked, looking for three rooms for three couples.Luckily we found the Whiteley Hotel. Very friendly atmosphere, lovely decor, very clean throughout and had a wonderful breakfast.
Will look forward to staying there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avitchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

Visited number of times in past few years, several times in a year. Utter excellent food and service. Cleanest hotel I've stayed in. If you look at another hotel in Scarborough you're mad!! Very impressed still

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank captaincookYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#21 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greno Guesthouse
Greno Guesthouse
#36 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sylvern House
Sylvern House
#54 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Paragon
The Paragon
#72 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#32 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whiteley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whiteley Hotel

Property: Whiteley Hotel
Address: 99-101 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Hotel Class:4 star — Whiteley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 4 Star AA rated Guest Accommodation offering comfortable bedrooms with en-suite shower rooms and generous home cooked breakfast, using locally sourced produce. We are a Victorian building offering sea view bedrooms, a few minutes walk from Scarborough town centre, Scarborough Castle, the Open Air Theatre, the Alpamare swimming pool, the Sea Life centre, Scarborough Cricket Ground and Peasholm Park. All bedrooms offer tea and coffee making facilities and hair dryers. We have our own car park and offer free Wi-Fi in public areas. We are within easy reach of many English Heritage and National Trust sites, Dalby Forest, the North Yorkshire Moors Railway and Flamingo Land Theme Park and Zoo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing