We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Weston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weston Hotel
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Weston for 4 nights the first week in September, I honestly could not say a bad thing about it really, right from the first phone call i made months before when i was making enquiries, the staff were lovely, the food was amazing and a great choice, the room was very clean and a nice size, a stones throw away from the cliff lift, we were made to feel very welcome and we felt that if we had had any problems (which we didn't) the staff would have done everything in their power to sort it out, very enjoyable stay all round. Would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Mandy G a huge thanks for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor and for giving us full marks. We appreciate your recommendation and we hope to see you both in the near future

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 544 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

My father had previously stayed at the Weston (in June this year) and wanted to have another short break. He booked for 3 days leading up to the August Bank Holiday and then persuaded me to see if I could get a room so that my husband and I could join him. Mandy dealt with my request and arranged for us to have adjoining double and single rooms - refurbished to a very acceptable standard. OK the ensuite is fairly compact but how much time do you spend in there? We were more than happy with the comfort and cleanliness, together with the refreshment tray provided. The food is very good with plenty of choice but Dad was a little disappointed that the seafood gratin didn't appear on the menu this time as he'd been raving about it and hoped to enjoy it again!

The hotel is well placed for Scarborough's attractions and it's an easy walk into town if you are reasonably fit. It's particularly good for theatre goers and the hotel's meal times are set to allow people to enjoy their evening meal without having to bolt the food down so as not to miss the performance.

I would recommend the Weston without hesitation as the staff are pleasant and helpful, the food is good, the rooms are comfortable and there is even some entertainment on occasionally. We enjoyed the singer who told stories of his time with the Tornadoes and played music from "our" era. Hope to visit again before long.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhawksworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear jhawksworth many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a five day holiday with 'InterChoice' coach holidays staying at the Weston Hotel. We have to say how impressed we were. We had a sea view room and what a view it was. The room had recently been refurbished. Everywhere was so clean and well maintained. Hugh and his staff were very helpful and attentive. Although we only saw Tom, the chef once, his food spoke volumes, a varied choice, cooked beautifully and always hot and well presented. We would be very happy to stay there again. Thank you all, David & Pauline

Room Tip: As for a refurbished sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinkle442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear twinkle442 many tanks for posting a review on TripAdvisor and for giving us the full 5 marks. Thanks for your recommendation and we hope to see you again in the near future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed twice at the Weston Hotel and both visits have been very enjoyable. This family know exactly how to make the stay a pleasure without being "in your face". The atmosphere is relaxed, the staff are all delightful and the food is excellent. It is beautifully presented and there is an excellent choice of dishes at breakfast and dinner. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff.
We have stayed in a refurbished room and apart from the sink in the en-suite being VERY small everything else is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank istanbul187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear istanbul187067, many thanks for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I recently spent one night here. We needed last minute accomodation on a Bank holiday weekend. When we phoned the staff were excellent and made a real effort to fit us in over a busy holiday period at the end of August. Other places we phoned we were just told fully booked and thats it. However Mandy looked to see how she could help even though it was just for one night. Great personal service.
The hotel is perfectly situated overlooking the bay. It is a fine big terrace property, well maintained and clean. From the moment you enter you are made to feel welcome. A lot of attention to remembering little things like your name.
There is no doubt the hotel is not modern by todays standard but the service makes up for any deficiency in that department.
We had a room on the top floor with a view over the bay. Small double bed and single. Tea and coffee making facility and small flat screen TV. Bathroom adequate although small with electric shower but very clean. No phone in room which only a problem if you need to contact reception. Beds comfortable and we both had a good sleep.
We had planned dinner in the hotel but it is served only between 5.30pm and 7.00pm. We felt this was a bit early but it may suit the hotel's regular clientele. The dinner menu provided a good choice. Breakfast again was beteween 8.00 and 9.00am. The breakfast was table service and
good.
I cannot understand why this hotel is rated two star as it definitely deserves at least one more. It certainly provides the service of a higher rated establishment.
On street car parking is assisted by use of Hotel's own disc system for guests.
Overall a very good place to stay. The staff are just superb. Not all mod cons but clean and very welcoming. I suspect this hotel has a very loyal guest list who return on a regular basis. To me that says it all.
I would definitely recommend. Thank you.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the bay is essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJT52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear RJT52 following your recent stay with us many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to note your satisfaction and subsequent recommendation.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is partially refurbished.
We stayed just one night as we were going to the theatre in Scarborough. We booked two rooms as there were three of us.
Pros:
• Good location
• Easy walking distance to the centre of Scarborough
• Good for theatre-goers
• Clean throughout
• Friendly and helpful staff who are always willing to help and take note of any individual needs.
• Redecorated rooms are pleasant
• Good breakfast with well-cooked food, waitress service, fairly good menu choice, attentive staff and there was even marmite to go with the toast
• A lift available to use
• Bar open for residents in the evening with helpful staff, so we could have an evening drink after returning from the theatre
• Comfortable beds
• Bathroom well refurbished with an attractive shower
• Disabled access provided at the rear of the building (but didn’t see this - the front has a number of steps)
• Free parking pass provided for your stay

Cons:
• There is no hotel parking; you have to find somewhere to park on the street. We were given a parking pass, but the nearest space was five minutes’ walk away. This was a bank holiday, so the town was busier than usual.
• There is a fire safety notice in the rooms although no escape route is shown.
• The fire escape door in the dining room was blocked by a table.
• After breakfast we returned to our room to find our beds had been stripped; we hadn’t been asked if this would be OK.
• No toiletries provided other than a small bar of soap
• Only one hour available for breakfast (8am to 9am on the Sunday)
• You have to be out of your room by 10am, so after your breakfast it is a bit of a rush.
• Small TV in your room (we didn’t use it)
• You can’t secure the room door from the inside; there is a cylinder lock with the deadlocking catch removed. I understand the management intend installing door chains.
• The rooms had a view which was just other hotel windows, so you had to keep the net curtains drawn.

Room Tip: Choose a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear John P many thanks for taking the time to post an appraisal of your stay with us on TripAdvisor

As an overarching premise, we need to be clear that we are trading as a 2 star hotel with no pretentions to be otherwise, and your experience was one nights’ stay during a Bank Holiday weekend, where most of our guests are with us significantly longer.
Parking: We suppose that as it was the principal Bank Holiday of the year, this might have had some bearing. We have lived here for three years, and it is most unusual not to find a suitable parking space within a few yards of the entrance. In fairness, you do mention that you were given a parking permit. These are a cost to us, and unlike almost all of our competitors we don’t pass this charge on.
Fire Notices in bedrooms: Our fire notices follow the guidelines of HM Government fire risk assessment guide to sleeping accommodation, it is only in larger more complex premises that a plan of escape routes is a recommendation. The escape routes, which comprise the stairwells at either side of the building, are clearly signed. The hotel and our fire risk assessment are subject to regular audit inspections by the Fire Service safety inspectors and they have confirmed that our fire notices and escape route signage are suitable for the building.
Fire Escape door in the restaurant blocked by a table: The escape route through the restaurant is also considered in our Fire Risk Assessment. You must have observed the table location during restaurant service, as every evening, without exception, after service the passage between the fire doors leading from the staircase is cleared of all furniture.
Your room was stripped after breakfast: This should not have happened and is contrary to the standards we have established with our housekeeping team. We will be robustly managing this, and thank you for bringing it to our attention.
No toiletries provided other than a small bar of soap: This is quite correct, and is our current standard. In any case, nowadays does not everyone prefer their own personal products as opposed to someone else’s choice? We do have a supply of products available FOC should anyone find themselves without the necessaries.
Only one hour available for Breakfast: Our current breakfast service time is published - 08.00 – 09.00, which is somewhat of an improvement on the standard in place when we took over the business three years ago which was all in at 8.30. We will be reviewing all our opening times as the business develops.
Departure time 10.00: Again, that is our stated time, but it’s never robustly applied. This checkout time is set to allow the housekeepers sufficient time to service the rooms ready for the next arrival before the check in time of 2 pm
Small TV: We don’t really know how to respond to this as ones view of television size may depend on what you are used to. Our televisions at 22 inches are not the smallest, nor the largest, they were installed brand new 18 months ago, have all the Freeview channels, and are the size of set one might have in ones bedroom at home. What more could one expect in a 2 star hotel?
You can’t secure the room from the inside as the deadlock facility has been removed: This is an accurate assessment. We removed the deadlock catches two weeks ago after we discovered that we had inadvertently installed the wrong type of lock. Without going into the details of that, we can assure you that the situation is actually safer (in the event of a fire or other emergency) with this modification. That said, we are aware we need to provide a security chain in these rooms, and this is a priority for us.
Bedrooms overlooked by other rooms: That is indeed the nature of the building; ergo we have voiles and blinds installed for privacy. It’s difficult to see what else could be done, we don’t hide it, we charge less for these 8 rooms than the others, and they are in the minority.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Weston Hotel in Scarborough is a clean and friendly hotel facing the South beach .
There is a full English breakfast and a good choice from the menu for dinner.
My room was clean and quiet although the shower could have been more powerful .
I recommend the hotel and would stay there again .

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Roy D many thanks for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor and for your recommendation.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,987 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
964 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
658 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hotel

Address: 33-34 Esplanade, Scarborough YO11 2AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#5 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $99 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weston is located on the prestigious Esplanade, overlooking Scarborough's South Bay. This handsome Victorian building provides 32 en-suite bedrooms, of which 18 enjoy panoramic views of the bay from Scarborough Castle to Cayton. Situated close to the cliff lift we are ideally placed for those who are looking to use the Scarborough Spa complex. We are also a short walk away from the Oliver's Mount Road race circuit. Further afield the Yorkshire coast is ideal for walkers and cyclist alike, with the Cleveland Way and the old coastal railway. Golfers can also enjoy a number of challenging courses, from the links of Filey or South Cliff to the parkland of Ganton. Our small family based team are committed to providing excellent customer service and aim to provide a relaxing base for you to enjoy all that Scarborough and the rest of North Yorkshire have to offer. We take pride in providing high quality, freshly prepared meals using local produce. Furthermore, our new lounge areas give you space to relax and unwind in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Weston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing