We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Weston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weston Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Enjoyed a 4-night break at this hotel - good location with fabulous views from the front bedrooms. Rooms comfortable, warm and clean, and the food was excellent (and hot!) and served by friendly and attentive staff. Very warm welcome from two of the joint owners, Pat and Hugh. The restaurant and lounges are very comfortable and enjoy lovely views over the bay. We stayed mid-week and the clientele was mainly of the older age-group and the staff were very understanding and helpful to the needs of older folk. The evening entertainment was very enjoyable and added to the great value-for-money offered by this establishment.

We have to point out, though, that being disabled ourselves, we found the hotel a bit inaccessible, there being a steep flight of 10 steps up to the reception area from the road (there is an alternative entrance to the lower ground floor, but this involves a short flight of even steeper steps downwards. The management were very understanding of our needs and we were able to access the hotel by a level rear-entrance but this involved going round the back of the block and through a rear alleyway - not ideal, especially at night. We should also point out that there are no toilet facilities on the ground floor where the lounges and restaurant are located - you have to climb steps to a half-landing or go to your bedroom if you can't do steps. There is a lift to all floors, but it does not go to this half-landing. It almost seems churlish to mention negatives about this very nice hotel, but because of our difficulties, we feel it appropriate to warn others.

All in all, a very nice break and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The front-facing rooms have fabulous views of the bay and are well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunscreen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear reviewer I am really pleased to note you had an enjoyable time with us. I must thank you for your feedback; your comments about our food offering and staff approach are most gratifying.

I do empathise with your comments reference the matter of access; we do intend to take these issues into consideration during our ongoing development programs for the future.

Once again thanks for the review and I hope to welcome you back to the Weston Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    103
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
105
263
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 day break at the Weston. This is our 2nd visit to a very comfortable, clean and welcoming hotel. Hugh and the staff in the restaurant were efficient and attentive, and the food was of a high standard. We would like to thank all the staff at the Weston for making our stay very enjoyable.
Many thanks
Bett and Alan Chamberlain

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laceby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Bet and Alan many thanks for posting a review and for giving us the full 5 marks! : ) It was great to see you and we look forward to you visiting again in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorks
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Had three nights over jubilee weekend . Warm welcome from Hugh. Room a little dated b ut could tell refurbishments made, bed comfortable and clean - however could have done with heating in the bathroom. View fantastic. Food plentiful and good quality - but, Hugh, the food could be a lot hotter, all was luke warm, and the chef definitely needs lessons on how to make Yorkshire puds! However hope to return later in the year - as the staff friendliness and location made up for the lukewarm food

Room Tip: Have a sea view, well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherryYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear guest many thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and are very pleased to note your intention to return. As you are aware the process of refurbishment is ongoing and continuous and we really do appreciate your feedback.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Enjoyed a great two night stay at the Weston. Would recommend as it was really good value for money. The food was delicious and the sea view room lovely and worth being woken early by the sun - we were lucky we could have been woken by rain !!!!!! We feel we have found our special bolt hole when we need a break and we will be back............thanks to the staff who were so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Many thanks for your recommendation and kind appraisal following your recent visit to our hotel :)
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Weston in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

a couple a great nights at this hotel. Service and food where very good. Room was comfy for a nights sleep and see view is fabulous. Only downside is maybe curtains could do with being a bit thicker unless your happy being woken at 6am with the summer sun. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VixAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments following your recent stay with us. Your feedback is vital in allowing us to monitor our standards and service. Your point regarding blackout curtains is very welcome and I am pleased to advise that we are addressing this in our ongoing refurbishment program.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at the Weston earlier this month, we thought it was lovely, yes they are updating it but it was a lovely hotel still , great location, staff all great,
We had a top floor room with a sea view, the room required updating but we loved it and would ask for that one again!
Short walk to front, town centre
Enjoyed the bar!
Thanks to Hugh for the warm welcome!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GILLIAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Mark and Gill many thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and are very pleased to note your intention to return. As you are aware the process of refurbishment is ongoing and continuous and we really do appreciate your feedback.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

We went to scarbrough on a two day trip because of the spring offer that was available from The Weston Hotel, and it was fantastic. Our room was a little dated, but was clean, comfortable, warm and had a fantastic view over the south bay.

For the £33 per night that we paid, we were given a twin room with breakfast and evening meal. The food here was AMAZING! a full three courses including pate, soups, various mains and desserts that cateredto everyone. We had a guest over for an evening, who was catered for easily even though she is vegetarian.

All in all, we would stay here definately stay here again. Thanks to Hugh for taking care of us so well.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank john_halsall01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear reviewer further to your recent stay at the Weston Hotel may I thank you for taking the time to post your appraisal. We are delighted to note your satisfaction and in particular your very kind comments regarding our food offering. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Scarborborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,840 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,855 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,214 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hotel

Property: Weston Hotel
Address: 33-34 Esplanade, Scarborough YO11 2AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#7 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weston is located on the prestigious Esplanade, overlooking Scarborough's South Bay. This handsome Victorian building provides 32 en-suite bedrooms, of which 18 enjoy panoramic views of the bay from Scarborough Castle to Cayton. Situated close to the cliff lift we are ideally placed for those who are looking to use the Scarborough Spa complex. We are also a short walk away from the Oliver's Mount Road race circuit. Further afield the Yorkshire coast is ideal for walkers and cyclist alike, with the Cleveland Way and the old coastal railway. Golfers can also enjoy a number of challenging courses, from the links of Filey or South Cliff to the parkland of Ganton. Our small family based team are committed to providing excellent customer service and aim to provide a relaxing base for you to enjoy all that Scarborough and the rest of North Yorkshire have to offer. We take pride in providing high quality, freshly prepared meals using local produce. Furthermore, our new lounge areas give you space to relax and unwind in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Weston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing