We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Weston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weston Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
ENGLAND
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great value hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Just returned from a lovely short break at the Weston Hotel. The weather was poor but the hotel more than made up for it.
We had a lovely refurbished room done to a very high standard (number 7) upstairs.
The food was excellent and all the staff were very friendly and courteous.
My wife and I will certainly recommend this hotel to all our friends.
This hotel is great value for money and we wish the owners and staff all the best for the future there.
Many thanks

Keith and Pat

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chappy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Keith and Pat many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your break despite the weather! Hope to see you back at the Weston soon. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    97
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
97
247
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Our Friends Denise and Frank arranged our Easter weekend at the Weston as they had been before ,
we were not dissapointed
We were very impressed,management and staff were all so nice
Food excellent - well done chef behind the scenes
Black Sheep ale carefully poured by the owner -superb (and she remembers if you like it room temperature or cold)
Room a bit small but very clean and proffesionally cleaned each day-thanks
Waitress so proffesional and smart ,will miss her tomorrow ,when she asked me for my breakfast order this morning i replied "the same as yesterday please" thinking i would catch her out! but she remembered everything i had ordered the day before ,I was SO IMPRESSED
Will see you again WESTON- SOON I HOPE

Best Wishes Jacqui and Barrie

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abarie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Jacqui and Barry many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased to note your enjoyment regarding all aspects of your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Weston Hotel in the very near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Thank you Hugh, Pat, Tom, Mandy and the rest of the staff for a wonderful stay.

We have just returned from a 5 day honeymoon (groom 61, bride 49) at the Weston Hotel. We had a large family room on the first floor (room 4) with a fantastic sea view and the whole hotel appeared spotlessly clean, well maintained and had a warm friendly atmosphere.The staff were friendly yet professional and always willing to help and if time permitted would often stop for a chat.

The food was excellent with a varied menu, plenty of choice and ample portions, and the waiting staff were attentive and always ready to serve drinks at the table, replenish the toast or see to any other meal-related request. As their acknowledgement of it being our honeymoon, they even served a complimentary 'Honeymoon' alcoholic drink to our table at the first evening meal. And boy it was gooooood!

The hotel has plenty of character with stately high ceilings (4 metres at our guess) and although told that some areas had yet to be updated, including our room, there was little evidence of anything wrong and it didn't appear to need anything major doing to it.

Despite experiencing the worst storm since they took over the hotel, 2 years ago, and rain and wind seeping in through one of our windows overnight, the staff were quick to sort out the problem with the window, mopped up the water and supplied a separate heater for the room to warm it back up. We believe the sign of good service is not preventing things going wrong (because invariably something will), but how management / staff deal with it. They promptly apologised for the trouble they felt it had caused us, rectified the problem during the morning and checked later that everything was OK. We don't think they could have done anything further. Hugh told us they are planning to upgrade all the rooms to double glazing which will make a significant difference in dealing with extreme weather that we experienced.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone and if we return to Scarborough we will certainly stay there. It certainly is good value for money!

As an extra note, parking was trouble-free and we were supplied with a parking permit by the hotel.

Ann & David

Room Tip: Sea view room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David and Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Ann and David many thanks for taking the time to post your review of the Weston Hotel. On behalf of the team I thank you for your feedback. A pity about the weather! However you went ahead and enjoyed yourselves regardless! We wish you all the best for the future and do hope to welcome you back to the Weston in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed at the Weston hotel mon to fri 2/6 april,weather was rough but this excellent hotel made up for it. Excellent food cooked by a chef we did not meet,but we met all the other staff who where fantastic well done to you all,and Hugh you steer a great ship.We will
return again in better weather I hope but our hotel will be no problem.

Thanks J&K Lancs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor reviewer many thanks for taking the time to post your appraisal of our Hotel. We are pleased to note your positive comments particularly with regard to our food offering. Once again thanks for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Weston in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heckmondwike, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

stayed at this hotel on sunday the 25th march for one night, would have liked to have stayed the saturday night but hotel was full,, and im not suprised.staff were lovely and could not do enough for you we even got upgraded for free to a lovely sea view room (room 4 ) food was fab ,complements to h chef.Everywhere was lovely and clean the owners really made you feel welcome .we have stayed in many hotels in scarborough (even palm court )but this one is the best, we will definately be back

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear reviewer further to your recent stay I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased to note you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We have just spent a three day break at the Weston and we could not have wished for a better stay. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the food was fantastic. The staff all made us feel very welcome and our first floor room with fabulous sea views was first class. We definitely hope to visit again. The short break offers cannot be beaten!
M & J. South Derbyshire.

Room Tip: Worth going for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moja51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor reviewer many thanks for taking the time to post your appraisal of our Hotel. We are pleased to note your positive comments particularly with regard to our food offering. Once again thanks for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Weston in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull East Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We took a 3 day, mid week break with bed, breakfast and evening meal and as the titles says we found the whole experience a very pleasureable one. Hugh and his team were all very efficient, friendly and attentive. The meals were first class, our room was spacious and we had a wonderful vierw of Scarborough and the sea front. The hotel was also lovely and warm at all times. Although some of the decor is a little tired and we visited the hotel at a quiet time, we would have no hesitation in recommending the Weston Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 20. Large room with an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear reviewer further to your recent stay I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased to note you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,640 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hotel

Property: Weston Hotel
Address: 33-34 Esplanade, Scarborough YO11 2AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#1 Best Value Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#7 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weston is located on the prestigious Esplanade, overlooking Scarborough's South Bay. This handsome Victorian building provides 32 en-suite bedrooms, of which 18 enjoy panoramic views of the bay from Scarborough Castle to Cayton. Situated close to the cliff lift we are ideally placed for those who are looking to use the Scarborough Spa complex. We are also a short walk away from the Oliver's Mount Road race circuit. Further afield the Yorkshire coast is ideal for walkers and cyclist alike, with the Cleveland Way and the old coastal railway. Golfers can also enjoy a number of challenging courses, from the links of Filey or South Cliff to the parkland of Ganton. Our small family based team are committed to providing excellent customer service and aim to provide a relaxing base for you to enjoy all that Scarborough and the rest of North Yorkshire have to offer. We take pride in providing high quality, freshly prepared meals using local produce. Furthermore, our new lounge areas give you space to relax and unwind in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Weston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing