We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and Friendly Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crescent Hotel
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm and Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2009

The welcome that everyone is given is second-to-none and that atmosphere continues throughout your stay. Generally this is a very well run hotel that offers good value and an enjoyable stay.

There are a number of issues with the state of the rooms and general housekeeping but I would recommend the Crescent to most people. I was not as impressed with the Reflections restaurant as others obviuosly are but I may have been unlucky.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toller_Rant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    125
    31
    3
    5
See reviews for
74
299
32
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

The Crescent Hotel was recommended to me by a friend, and he was totally on the mark when he said there is no better hotel in scarborough.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the food couldn't of been better.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosElyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haworth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

We have just returned from a 2 night break at the Crescent Hotel in Scarborough. This hotel is perfect in every way - room, cleanliness, service, location, food and value for money. From check-in to departure, we were made to feel special and not just a "room number".
As I spend my working life driving, it was great to be able to get a a parking permit from the hotel and just leave the car outside for the whole weekend. All of Scarborough`s attractions are within walking distance and the "cliff-lift" is handy if you fancy a lift back up from the seafront to the hotel and town centre.
Paul and Lindsey, together with their staff have created a lovely relaxing ambience in the hotel together with great attention to detail.
As for the food - WOW! We enjoyed dinner in the hotel`s "Reflections" restaurant which is also very popular with non-residents. This has to be one of the best restaurants in Yorkshire with interesting dishes, fresh ingredients, beautiful presentation, very generous portions and attentive service. There is also a "Carvery" which offers roasts and home-made dishes in a more informal atmosphere.
The breakfast choices were superb, I enjoyed smoked haddock and kippers with poached eggs whilst my husband enjoyed his "best ever cooked breakfast!"
We would like to say thank you to Paul and Lindsey for making our holiday so special and we will definitely be back ( for longer next time)!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weatherheadsHaworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

Conferene was at Scarborough this year and we were a bit late booking a hotel. The Crescent was the only hotel that could accommodate us all. You say to yourself WHY! But boy oh boy when I got there what a pleasant surprise. The staff were friendly couldnt do enough for you. The room was clean, everything was ready for our meetings and the food was some of the best I have eaten in a carvery and restaurant, excellent value for money. Yes the windows could do with a clean and the bath room did look a little tired, but when you entered it had a wonderful fresh smell. In fact we as a group were so impressed we are going to take to our next committee meeting that we hold our Christmas meeting and lunch there next year. MrsP

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsP95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

Stayed at The Crescent hotel weekend of 2nd October with 3 friends, all had good rooms, well furnished and very clean. All had trouser press, ironing board and iron as well as usual tea & coffer facility, hairdryer and internet connection and TV etc.
Paul and Lindsey the owners were extremely helpful and friendly and as ladies on our own we were made to feel very welcome. The food in the restaurant was excellent and great value. Would love to go again if I ever get back to Scarborough.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaxterHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

A great place to stay,The staff were friendly the moment we walked through the door
and made us feel at home. The food was fantastic, and the atmosphere was great.
The rooms were spacious and well prepared with all the amenities.
The Hotel is within walking distance of the town centre and the sea front with parking available outside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stupot69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

Lovely hotel right in the heart of the town. Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms spacious, clean with lovely views of the sea or the gardens.Breakfast was a feast in itself and we were certainly not hungry for the rest of the day! Will definately return

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Hotel

Property: The Crescent Hotel
Address: Belvoir Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#1 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#3 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Crescent Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crescent Hotel is a small, family run hotel located on a beautiful Regency Crescent in the centre of Scarborough. We pride ourselves on our warm and friendly atmosphere, wonderful location and fantastic food! Always contact us directly for the best room rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing