We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of The Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crescent Hotel
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm generally sceptical about hotels in seaside towns but loved this one. It is small enough to feel like a family hotel - but one owned by professional hoteliers who know what they are doing.

Very nice room (22). Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinkfieldBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    130
    31
    3
    6
See reviews for
78
310
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sant Antoni de Calonge, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived in time for lunch in the restaurant having checked in. This second restaurant in the hotel was the local hotspot for a super carvery lunch with fish or pasta alternatives. Lovely food and inexpensive with a nice glass of wine. Our room had a sea view and we parked up very close by with token parking from the hotel. The room and bathroom were clean cosy and well equipped - the bathroom had been recently re- modelled. Breakfast was far better than you'll find anywhere else and all the public rooms are newly furnished with comfy furniture and a nice bar. Our private dinner was beautifully prepared and delightfully served by friendly staff. We have stayed everywhere else in Scarborough over 20+ years and this is the best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Once again we have returned from our annual treat to the cresent hotel for our wedding anniversary. We stay in the lonsborough room which is such a treat in itself you have enough room to have a party, it is spotlessly clean and looks onto the green in the middle of the crescent. All staff are polite and extremely helpful.The food is devine and plenty of it you really need to see and taste for yourself. As we leave we book again for the following year. It is really nice that the staff also remeber us and give us a warm welcome back. See you again next year.

Room Tip: Ask to check them out and then decide the best rooms look out onto the Cresent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in 2 rooms, Room 22 and the Londesborough room, both overlooking the Crescent. The rooms were superb, we have stayed in 5 star hotels where the rooms were not as large or palatial. The Londesborough was a suite in every sense of the word.
Location is great - 3 mins walk from station, there was no traffic noise, and all the staff we came across - chambermaids, reception, waiting, bar were absolutely charming. We ate in the restaurant both nights, food was excellent, no point at all wandering round Scarborough looking for somewhere to eat.

Trust the reviews. This place is a gem.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the Crescent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reidand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Faultless; excellent; quality; satisfaction; friendly; superb food.......I would agree with all the good words that previous guests have used. Stayed for twelve days, and would happily have stayed much longer. Exactly what I was looking for in a trip back to the 'old country' from Canada. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heanor, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

this is in a perfect location for getting into Scarborough and fairly reasonable prices too. the breakfast was delicious (full english) and the service great. the rooms are spacious, clean, with all modern facilities. it was a little noisy on a saturday night as it is close to the centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Just come back from staying at the crescent. We have stayed here a number of times and always join my partners parents this time of year who stay at this hotel at least 5 times a year. The rooms are lovely, this time we stayed in a suite which was huge, very clean too. The owners and staff are lovely and friendly, and the food is excellent (as always), my seafood pancake was delicious, and my partners steak was cooked to perfection and very tender. Thank you to you all, see you next year.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanouveous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,844 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
335 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Hotel

Property: The Crescent Hotel
Address: Belvoir Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#1 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#3 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Crescent Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crescent Hotel is a small, family run hotel located on a beautiful Regency Crescent in the centre of Scarborough. We pride ourselves on our warm and friendly atmosphere, wonderful location and fantastic food! Always contact us directly for the best room rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing