We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely skip back in time.”
Review of The Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crescent Hotel
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely skip back in time.”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We went for a weekend getaway, 3 adults, 2 children. On entering the area we parked in we were a little dismayed at how difficult it was to park, having a disabled person with us, parking on the street is difficult. When we did park, the lovely park area across the road was full of drunks and homeless people. On entering the hotel, we were greeted by a lovely lady who gave us our keys and directed us to our room, while chatting to the kiddies. Our room was lovely, clean, tidy and great for us. Single room was great also, although a little small, it was clean and en-suit too. The hotel all in all is a little dated and you can see they are improving some parts of it (decorated the bar area). Downstairs isn't a big area. They manage to have a small dining area and L shaped room/bar area. I expected more from the restaurant, but though it was ok for breakfast, not really a evening dining area. Breakfast was great. Cooked and layed out everything we could have wanted and helped ourselves to juice, cereal ect. Again a different lady serving us was lovely to us and our kids. While I think yes it was a lovely hotel, not sure it's number one. We stayed at the Palm last year and while our accommodation wasn't great there (as we were on the back of the hotel) the downstairs restaurant, bar facilities, breakfasts, meals, are 5* quality, for not far off the same price range and it's just across the road. Don't think I would stay there again, but had some lovely memories of my stay there to cherish.

Room Tip: Definately a view of the park on the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey-Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    132
    31
    3
    6
See reviews for
79
315
33
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

A really great hotel, close to the city centre, with a small park right in front of the building. The staff go the extra mile to please. The rooms were very well furnished. We even had a sea view. The sun shone when we were there which makes all the difference.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just to let you know had another wonderful weekend away at the end of August with my husband. The room was beautiful and the bathroom had been re-done with beautiful decor.
It is always clean and very relaxing . Used the free wifi to get to know bus timetables and access maps before leaving to enjoy Scarboroughs beauty spots. Breakfast always a great start to the day with really cheery staff. Great meal in Reflections restaurant, worth considering. Keep up the good work. See you next year

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhinosLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Booked this purely as a result of the reviews on Tripadvisor , we were not let down ,it's not rocket science so many other hotels could learn from staying here , one criteria , clean , clean ,clean and The Crescent was spotless .
Enjoyed our stay very much , keep doing what you are doing .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thog01274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dewsbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a long weekend and loved every second. The rooms were spacious, clean and had everything could need for a weekend away. The breakfast was amazing!Never had a nicer breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful as upon arrival had to ring for directions and they helped straight away. Would recommend to anyone without hesitation. Made our weekend perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Having stayed many times at Scarborough, but never at the “Crescent” (probably due to its not having a sea-front location) and noticing its high rating on Tripadvisor, we decided to give it a try for a weekend break.

The hotel fully deserves its rating. Its location, as its name suggests, on a crescent surrounding parkland is very pleasant. Check-in was swift and efficient. Our room could not be faulted. It was clean, well appointed and had a view of the crescent and the park from the 3rd floor.

We had a meal in “Reflections” restaurant on the Saturday evening and this deserves special mention. The food was of a very high quality and beautifully prepared. Service too was excellent.

Parking is on-street and can be paid for at the hotel for a reasonable £4 until 1:30 pm the following day. A nearby multi-storey car park charges £10 per 24 hours.

Hotel staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return to the “Crescent”.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon Nemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just had a lovly weekend at the Crescent hotel Scarborough aug 11th ,this must be one of the best places to stay in Scarborough very good staff very clean nice large rooms a very nice atmospere allround.We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions over the past few years and as a lot of other people have said we dont like to stay anywhere else in Scarborough.
Reflections resturant what a place to eat, the food is fantastic and at a resonable price, the chef is a credit to the hotel,a nice bar, somewhere you can relax in comfort, and the Yorkshire breakfast ,simply the best.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteandAva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,869 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
892 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
624 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,874 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Hotel

Property: The Crescent Hotel
Address: Belvoir Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#1 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#3 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Crescent Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crescent Hotel is a small, family run hotel located on a beautiful Regency Crescent in the centre of Scarborough. We pride ourselves on our warm and friendly atmosphere, wonderful location and fantastic food! Always contact us directly for the best room rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing