We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coachman Inn Snainton near Scarborough”
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #115 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coachman Inn Snainton near Scarborough”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at the Coachman,we were well looked after from the moment we got there till we left this morning. The staff were very attentive and the food was excellent.Would go back again it's so peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    27
    3
    6
    6
See reviews for
16
49
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just been for a fantastic meal for my mum's birthday. (4 adults and a baby) The service and food were spectacular. Lovely soup and steak (myself) and my family enjoyed duck terraine, fishcakes, steak, lamb and haddock. Desserts are out of this world and if possible we would have had them all!! Wine lovely and treated ourselves to the ice wine (dessert wine) which was out of this world. Service was very attentitive and the staff made us feel very welcome in their restaurant. To say we had out baby with us, we felt very at ease and comfortable eating here. We have been before and we will be keep coming back!

Room Tip: had two dishes for £15 today- bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthYorkshire11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Myself, partner and little one went here for dinner after reading reviews on trip advisor.

Food was lovely. Big portions and two meals for £15 which was a bargain. Also do children's meals which we had for little one. Good choice on all menus. I couldn't fault anything about the meals.

Staff very friendly and helpful, and a nice place sit and enjoy food/drinks.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexisonfire83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Well we are recovering from a delicious indulgence..... The food here is really wonderful, especially for the price. We are listening to other people ordering their food, always intriguing to hear how we rationalise our choices and the things people have to say about the last visit....
Well our last visit was great and we promised ourselves to come back soon, so here we are nearly 2 years later. Chicken livers in wine and cream, braised beef cheeks, celeriac mash (chef, portion was too big but wonderful taste) and the most intense chocolate tart. I can't move. Saisai eat smoked haddock fish cake, belly of pork and eaton mess.
A nice malt for nightcap and off to soft fluffy duvet.
Recommended

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ScalliwagToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent just the one night in this charming inn/hotel but would have liked to stay longer. The room we had was a good size tastefully furnished and decorated. The bathroom toiletries were a very nice popular French brand. We ate in the restaurant that evening and the food was excellent as was the breakfast in the morning. The hotel was relaxed and cosy, I only wished we would have had more time to spend exploring the lovely countryside but it has given us the desire to return!

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto the back of the hotel might be quieter away from the road but saying that I really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulsteron2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have recently visited this establishment on two occasions, the bar usually has a nice local ambience, a warm coal fire and real ales. The food is excellent value, of a very high standard, beautifully presented, very fresh and absolutely delicious! We all wanted to try a sweet course but were to full. A well priced, nice selection of wines to choose from, Very nice staff with good service .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPLKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have just returned from a lovely meal with my family. The Mother's Day menu was really very tasty. I had the goats cheese starter which was very good. I was lucky enough to try my boyfriend's broccoli and Stilton soup which was also very good and my mother enjoyed a huge slice of pâté and toast. I had pork for main course with all the trimmings, the vegetables were very fresh and full of flavour. I finished with an assortment of cheese and biscuits. All my family members spoke highly of their dishes too and the empty plates spoke volumes. The set price of £18 for three very nice courses really was worth every penny. The service was great and the staff were very friendly. I will definitely return and no doubt my family will follow. Thank you for a lovely Mother's Day meal, my Mother had a wonderful day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemsfa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
5.7 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
East Ayton Lodge
East Ayton Lodge
#1 of 1 in East Ayton
276 reviews
9.5 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Downe Arms Hotel
Downe Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wykeham
286 reviews
10.7 mi away
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Sinnington
327 reviews
5.0 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#2 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Property: Coachman Inn
Address: Coachman Inn Pickering Road West | Snainton, Scarborough YO13 9PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coachman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coachman Inn Snainton, is a destination restaurant and bar with rooms beautifully located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors between Pickering & Scarborough. You will feel relaxed and at home in this historic Grade II listed Georgian Inn, steeped in coaching heritage. Built in 1776 and now sympathetically incorporating modern comforts, The Coachman Inn is the perfect retreat; the ideal base for exploring the North York Moors National Park the historic City of York and the stunning Yorkshire Coast and towns of Whitby and Scarborough. We take great pride in sourcing the best of the marvelous local produce from the surrounding areas and creating food that we are sure you will enjoy, our Executive chef David Spencer has a lifetime of experience and has previously held two rosettes from the AA for 25 years works very closely with Head Chef Peter Gibson and the owner of the Coachman Inn Ian Rae who is also a Chef with many years of cooking under his belt to constantly create and innovate for your pleasure, whilst Carol Rae takes charge of the front of house team to ensure you are given the best possible service the moment you step through our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing