We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #127 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate here lastnight and had a beautiful meal that I felt must be commended! We regularly eat here and we are always impressed with the food quality, service, ambience and the whole establishment in general. Lastnight we chose two dishes from their ever changing special's menu and my dish the honey and ginger glazed mahi mahi with crispy noodles was one of the nicest meals I have had in a long time. I love the way a country inn can produce such varied and interesting dishes which you be hard pushed to find anywhere else in the town! Well done to the Coachman keep up the good work!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TnQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    26
    3
    6
    6
See reviews for
14
48
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We havn't stayed here, but called in for a drink and meal on a Friday night. Our welcome was warm and friendly, the roaring log fire made the bar a very comfortable place to be. We ate from the 2 for £15 special menu for, Jan and Feb only. Starters are around the £6 mark as are the sweets. Main courses are £10 upwards. I had the 1/2pound Aberdeen Angus burger and my wife had the beef cheeks. The burger was excellent, very moist firm beef burger topped with blue cheese served with chunky chips in a little basket. My wife's beef cheeks also got top marks, served with celeriac mash and peas. The portion sizes were adequate and very good quality. They also serve two real ales which i recommend a pint of. When eating you have the option of eating in the restaurant which looks very smart with its crisp white table cloths, defeinately a room for that special meal, or in the bar. We ate in the bar. Service was good. I can't fault our first experience of this place. We will definately be back again.

Room Tip: We didn't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestandbalanced87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

popped in last week for a late (2pm) Sunday lunch in the bar. At £10 for a good plate of lamb or beef or chicken with potatoes, a big Yorkshire pudding and side plate of perfect veg this has to be the best value Sunday lunch in the whole area. The food was complimented by excellent and friendly service. Well done.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

we sateyd there with my husband. The room was spacious and comfortable and clean. We ate in the restaurant , where the food was very delicious. I can higly recommend this lovely place to stay just outside Scarborough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BudapestRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We popped in for lunch one Monday, the fire was lit & the welcome was just as warm, we had drinks first then ordered lunch, I had the gourmet burger & my partner had the gammon with an egg & pineapple ! We were the first in but as we chatted in front of the crackling fire more couples arrived and the atmosphere became light and chatty between everyone in the bar, we had been offered the chance to sit in the restaurant but opted for the bar as after looking in there we were slightly under dressed. The food arrived promptly & we thoroughly enjoyed the perfectly prepared food, the service and attentiveness of the staff was 1st class & this topped off a very enjoyable luncheon experience. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

my wife and i stopped here for sunday lunch some weeks back and enjoyed it so much that we returned for an evening meal last saturday(8th dec) and were delighted with great sevice, exellent food and atmosphere, not to mension value for money. we will be making this a regular haunt. well done to all the staff and management

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I travel all over the country and stayed here for one night whilst in the area on business, this was my second stay. On my previous stay I was surprised the inn wasn’t busier as I found it very comfortable with the food to a very high standard and reasonably priced. I was not disappointed this time as I was met by friendly staff, an open fire and good food. This time however I was the only guest and the only person eating in bar or restaurant . Whilst the staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient on the Thursday I stayed there was a lack of seniority and experience that may help to explain the lack of locals from this charming and high quality hostelry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
5.1 mi away
East Ayton Lodge
East Ayton Lodge
#1 of 1 in East Ayton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
13.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
22.0 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
6.3 mi away
No photo provided
North End Farm Country Guest Hou...
#128 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.1 mi away
Downe Arms Hotel
Downe Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wykeham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Property: Coachman Inn
Address: Coachman Inn Pickering Road West | Snainton, Scarborough YO13 9PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coachman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coachman Inn Snainton, is a destination restaurant and bar with rooms beautifully located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors between Pickering & Scarborough. You will feel relaxed and at home in this historic Grade II listed Georgian Inn, steeped in coaching heritage. Built in 1776 and now sympathetically incorporating modern comforts, The Coachman Inn is the perfect retreat; the ideal base for exploring the North York Moors National Park the historic City of York and the stunning Yorkshire Coast and towns of Whitby and Scarborough. We take great pride in sourcing the best of the marvelous local produce from the surrounding areas and creating food that we are sure you will enjoy, our Executive chef David Spencer has a lifetime of experience and has previously held two rosettes from the AA for 25 years works very closely with Head Chef Peter Gibson and the owner of the Coachman Inn Ian Rae who is also a Chef with many years of cooking under his belt to constantly create and innovate for your pleasure, whilst Carol Rae takes charge of the front of house team to ensure you are given the best possible service the moment you step through our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing