We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!!!”
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #104 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a find!!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

First class service, food to die for!!! Lovely lovely place, warm friendly staff...the brakefast was second to none... I stay a lot in chaned hotels, but this beats them hands down, then atmosphere in the small bar was buzzing, the Friday night I stopped, and was made most wellcome by the locals in the bar.
Will call again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    28
    3
    6
    6
See reviews for
18
50
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This was our second visit to the Coachmann Inn and again it was of the highest quality. The service was very good, efficient, helpful but very relaxed - they really do make you feel at home. The food, although a different menu to what we had previously was again very very good. The setting is great and you are close to Scarborough and Dalby Forrest. Plus if you like golf you have to visit the shop down the road - huge stock and very reasonably priced!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireRedSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Called in with my partner for lunch on Bank Holiday Monday, What a fab place, Great choice of food, great staff and service nothing was too much trouble. We also noticed they have Steak night on Mondays £25.00 for 2 with drinks so we will return to try this.
Well worth a visit !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The inn is beautiful, set in lovely surroundings. Unfortunately, the food and service was poor. The venison burgers did not taste like venison and left a bad taste in the mouth. The chips were very undercooked and we had to send them back and the salad was wilted. When we told the one of the head members of staff, she was very rude and abrupt and rolled her eyes. She said she would speak to the chef but never came back to the table.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbiLax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stopped whilst in the area on holiday for a mid afternoon meal. I have to say the place was really nice and had a great homely atmosphere inside. We had our meal in the bar area as the main restaurant was having some work done to it but we had a lovely seat by the window and the service couldn't have been better. The food was excellent, absolutely first class and presented beautifully. The lounge bar area was lovely to sit in and have a drink. A first class experience and one I would happily revisit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I took my wife for an evening meal to celebrate her birthday a couple of weeks ago. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. We both ordered the venison burger with home made chips from the specials board and I have to say the presentation was superb and it tasted delicious. Probably the best burger and chips we have ever had. Would definately go back again and would thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed here Sunday and Monday night. Greeted by very friendly staff and showed to our room (Whippletree) I think this is probably the best room, large and light, comfy bed, sofa, large bathroom with quality toiletries and all very clean. Evening meal was excellent on both evenings served in an elegant softly lit dining room, breakfast served here which was also very tasty and nicely presented. The negative is that the village of snainton has a very busy road passing through it, it does go quiet during the night but starts building up again very early. The bar is very rustic and the beautifully made wooden chairs and tables for me were very uncomfortable. The lounge bar is pleasant but small, only seats about a dozen people. Would stay again just for the food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maturecouple50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
5.1 mi away
East Ayton Lodge
East Ayton Lodge
#1 of 1 in East Ayton
282 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
8.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
78 reviews
9.5 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
163 reviews
3.1 mi away
Downe Arms Hotel
Downe Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wykeham
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Property: Coachman Inn
Address: Coachman Inn Pickering Road West | Snainton, Scarborough YO13 9PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coachman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coachman Inn Snainton, is a destination restaurant and bar with rooms beautifully located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors between Pickering & Scarborough. You will feel relaxed and at home in this historic Grade II listed Georgian Inn, steeped in coaching heritage. Built in 1776 and now sympathetically incorporating modern comforts, The Coachman Inn is the perfect retreat; the ideal base for exploring the North York Moors National Park the historic City of York and the stunning Yorkshire Coast and towns of Whitby and Scarborough. We take great pride in sourcing the best of the marvelous local produce from the surrounding areas and creating food that we are sure you will enjoy, our Executive chef David Spencer has a lifetime of experience and has previously held two rosettes from the AA for 25 years works very closely with Head Chef Peter Gibson and the owner of the Coachman Inn Ian Rae who is also a Chef with many years of cooking under his belt to constantly create and innovate for your pleasure, whilst Carol Rae takes charge of the front of house team to ensure you are given the best possible service the moment you step through our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing