We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
72
30
3
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
30
3
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack puddingparking facilitiesdining roomroom was spacioussteak pielog firefeel so welcomewarm welcomedog
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 119 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The inn is beautiful, set in lovely surroundings. Unfortunately, the food and service was poor. The venison burgers did not taste like venison and left a bad taste in the mouth. The chips were very undercooked and we had to send them back and the salad was wilted. When we told the one of the head members of staff, she was very rude and abrupt and rolled her eyes. She said she would speak to the chef but never came back to the table.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbiLax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stopped whilst in the area on holiday for a mid afternoon meal. I have to say the place was really nice and had a great homely atmosphere inside. We had our meal in the bar area as the main restaurant was having some work done to it but we had a lovely seat by the window and the service couldn't have been better. The food was excellent, absolutely first class and presented beautifully. The lounge bar area was lovely to sit in and have a drink. A first class experience and one I would happily revisit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I took my wife for an evening meal to celebrate her birthday a couple of weeks ago. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. We both ordered the venison burger with home made chips from the specials board and I have to say the presentation was superb and it tasted delicious. Probably the best burger and chips we have ever had. Would definately go back again and would thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed here Sunday and Monday night. Greeted by very friendly staff and showed to our room (Whippletree) I think this is probably the best room, large and light, comfy bed, sofa, large bathroom with quality toiletries and all very clean. Evening meal was excellent on both evenings served in an elegant softly lit dining room, breakfast served here which was also very tasty and nicely presented. The negative is that the village of snainton has a very busy road passing through it, it does go quiet during the night but starts building up again very early. The bar is very rustic and the beautifully made wooden chairs and tables for me were very uncomfortable. The lounge bar is pleasant but small, only seats about a dozen people. Would stay again just for the food.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maturecouple50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

After having such a wonderfull evening meal mid week we returned for Sunday lunch after recommendation from the bar man.

It is quite clear it is not the same chef on a weekend nor the same standard of food or menu. The beef was of good quality and cooked well, my wifes pork was very dry, both our gravys were the same and disappointing and not the flavoursome sauce we had with our evening meals. My wife opted for a dessert which was spiced pumpking bread and butter pudding, stodgy and not nice. We are left wondering why serve pub grub on a Sunday and high class food during the week??

How ever the service didn't match the food and the staff were friendly polite and professional.

Will we return? Not for Sunday lunch!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbyhound34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews