We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
$100
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
$159
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Headlands Hotel(Scarborough)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grainary(Scarborough)
$98
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
$115
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
72
30
3
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
30
3
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack puddingparking facilitiesdining roomroom was spacioussteak pielog firefeel so welcomewarm welcomedog
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 119 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We dined at The Coachman on quite a regular basis during the years that the Osbourne family ran it. When they all decamped to Portugal (see Birds Nest Restaurant, Algarve) standards fell, and we then used The Coachman irregularly. We recently heard some good reports and decided to give it another try.
They have retained the basic layout of the restaurant, which is well set out - tables not too close together. The welcome we received was friendly. At the table we noticed a nice touch - a bottle of water already available (no charge). We were presented with a varied and fairly extensive menu. Prices were competitive.
The food was well presented and good quality. The service was very friendly, although possibly due to a little inexperience, they appeared to try a little bit too hard to please.
All in all a very enjoyable experience and provided they keep up this standard we will be returning from time to time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Nashdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Booked for 2 nights B&B - stayed in the Whiskey Room which was very nice and comfortable lots of nice traditional furniture, bathroom very modern with lovely complimentary toiletries. Staff throughout the Inn were very friendly and helpful. Good choice for breakfast and lots of it. Had evening meal in the restaurant one of the nights and would highly recommend the food.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeedsFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This was one of the best meals that I have ever eaten in a restaurant.
Service was good and friendly and the desserts looked too good to eat but glad I did as it was delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Booked in advance with a charming gril called Charlotte who was later one of our waitresses. She was helpful on the phone and when we arrived the service was friendly and fast. Ate in the garden on a wonderful day in sunshine which helps - sandwhiches served on slate platter - hoped their hygiene/handling standards are high, since they cannot go in the dishwasher. Staff were delightful, food selection good and quality as expected for lunchtime in the sun! Price including drinks under £10 a head and we will certainly return to try the restaurant at a later date. Thanks to all!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawson-Clough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We have eaten here twice over previous years when under different ownership and can confirm the food is 100% better. Ate here mid week for husbands birthday after reading trip advisor comments. The main dining room appears decorated the same - fine and elegant. Lovely crisp White table linen although the napkins a little over starched as would not bend easily on your lap.
Good heavy cutlery. Background music easy listening.
Liked the fact nothing was too much trouble. My husband ordered a steak and didn't realise until it arrived there was no sauce to accompany. Chef was so obliging and made a lovely red peppercorn sauce at no extra cost!
I liked the fact a bottle of complimentay water was on the table - nice touch and the divine small selection of entrees, olives, sweet dried tomatoes in olive oil, dipping olive oil/balsamic vinegar with just a hint of frrshly ground sea salt ....mmm and small brioche type roll to share. A little bit of black olive tapenade would have accompanied or exchanged the green olives very well.
My husband had the king scallops with black pudding (bit tight on the black pudding if you are a fan) to start - what a treat £7.50ish although worth it! I opted for the crab, smoked salmon and avocado and caviar - nice but feel portion too large for me, add a bit of salad you have an instant main course!
Mains I opted for sea bream - looked divine and very tasty- too many crushed ceasar potatos on plate. Accompanied veg a little unadventourous and bizarrely served long green beans from a ramekins dish!!
Excellent choice of wines at bar, shame restaurant so far out of town to enjoy more than a glass. Be great if could do a deal with local taxi firm.
The bar area is small although if a few other people were there could be very cosy. The lounge is pleasant altho a little "stiff" as no atmosphere, perhaps pipe some music through?
The ladies wc is on first floor and does not reflect downstairs - needs updating.
Very reasonably priced, felt welcome too. Would come back for Sunday lunch.
Eat here if you like good quality fresh food, I understand the menu is changed each month.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merc9SLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews