We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, great service!”
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #101 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed one night here and had already booked to eat in Pickering for the evening, but wouldn't hesitate to dine here in future or recommend it, solely on the strength of the great breakfast we had in the morning; food and service couldn't be faulted. If you are on your way to Scarborough then breakfast here for a mere £6 each is a treat.

Room Tip: Ask Adrian to see his dogs - beautiful....
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CocktailmakerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Coachman Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 104 of 104 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2011

Really enjoyed our brief one night stay. Glad we stayed here and not in Scarborough. Quiet village location. Sat in the bar to have dinner and enjoyed sitting amongst the locals. Great, friendly service and great food. Lovely outdoor garden area. The bedroom was very clean and had a nice modern bathroom. Really enjoyed the breakfast in the morning, which is served in the restaurant. Our only niggle would be that the bed was a bit soft for us and the room was quite warm, though we did have warmer weather at the time of travel. Would definately visit again - it reminded us of a rural hotel in France.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrobs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

The music in the bar was too loud, and sounded too 'tinney' and was some sort of rock/pop type of music, mostly Rod Stewart, but not ballards. The rock type of music was totally out of place in a country pub with tranquil surroundings. Get more Micheal Buble, Harry Connick Jnr style and keep it low, it should not dominate the atmopshere it should be only in the background.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliaScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecoachmaninn, Manager at Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2010

We have now addressed this issue and have, indeed, got some Michael Buble in the bar, amongst other things, the volume is something we now keep at a controlled, background level. We apologise for any discomfort you felt during your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We arrived on Wed 30th Dec & left on Sat 2nd Jan 2010. We were made to feel so welcome; our room was comfortable, the only little niggle was the bathroom only had a bath!.......not a big deal, they do have a room with a seperate shower but that was taken.
We had a very enjoyable meal on the Wednesday night & we were booked in for New Years Eve, which was fantastic, the prices weren't inflated, service was excellent & the locals very friendly, we rounded the evening off in the bar & were made to feel part of the family with the owners & staff.
We didn't want to leave & will definately be back very very soon!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barkisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2007

Found the Inn via the Michelin Guide "Eating out in Pubs".

What a great find!! This Inn provides a restaurant with rooms and the extremely high quality of food is matched by the friendly service. The room was great and the whole weekend was very enjoyable due to the accommodation and food. Also a great breakfast. Thoroughly recommended and a good place to use as a base to explore the east coast of Yorkshire.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank wickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank GuyC871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Owner at Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
6.8 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 26 in Scarborough
1,574 reviews
5.1 mi away
East Ayton Lodge
East Ayton Lodge
#1 of 1 in East Ayton
290 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
348 reviews
3.1 mi away
Downe Arms Hotel
Downe Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wykeham
304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chestnut Cottage B&B
Chestnut Cottage B&B
#79 of 184 in Scarborough
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: Coachman Inn Pickering Road West | Snainton, Scarborough YO13 9PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $117 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coachman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coachman Inn Snainton, is a destination restaurant and bar with rooms beautifully located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors between Pickering & Scarborough. You will feel relaxed and at home in this historic Grade II listed Georgian Inn, steeped in coaching heritage. Built in 1776 and now sympathetically incorporating modern comforts, The Coachman Inn is the perfect retreat; the ideal base for exploring the North York Moors National Park the historic City of York and the stunning Yorkshire Coast and towns of Whitby and Scarborough. We take great pride in sourcing the best of the marvelous local produce from the surrounding areas and creating food that we are sure you will enjoy, our Executive chef David Spencer has a lifetime of experience and has previously held two rosettes from the AA for 25 years works very closely with Head Chef Peter Gibson and the owner of the Coachman Inn Ian Rae who is also a Chef with many years of cooking under his belt to constantly create and innovate for your pleasure, whilst Carol Rae takes charge of the front of house team to ensure you are given the best possible service the moment you step through our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing