We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend in a great seaside town”
Review of Red Lea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lea Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend in a great seaside town”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed in Yorkshire for a wedding and the accommodation was arranged by the happy couple so we arrived at the hotel not really knowing what to expect. It resembles many old Victorian seaside hotels on the outside and indeed the reception and public rooms downstairs take you back to the days of draylon furniture, flock wallpaper and brightly patterned carpets. Don't be deceived however, the rooms are excellent, clearly recently refurbished, my bathroom (Rm 101...) was clearly newly refitted, a comfy bed and aside from the noise of the seagulls a perfect nights sleep. Don't stop there however, the hotel has a small swimming pool in the basement which was clean, warm enough and empty in the morning for a bit of exercise. The staff were always friendly and helpful and the night bar man an all around good guy. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend this to friends as a good value, comfortable and friendly place to stay. One minor improvement could be made to the breakfast arrangements where they insist on serving you everything from orange juice to muesli but hey, they do it with a smile and good grace so who cares!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    130
    47
    15
    11
See reviews for
64
169
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willerby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just had a expensive 2 night break . We got premier room wih dirty, wore , collapsed sofa.windows dirty with seagull droppings on them also black hairs in bath.. Outside paint on balcony was rusty and peeling.not a good view.. First night food was terrible.so we didnt eat there the second night.we have stayed in lots of hotels in scarborough regularly and never experienced such poor quality for what we payed. Would not recommend this hotel. Good views are breakfast good.and it was clean. Its very disappointing when you go for a short holiday and its not up to standard. I was offered a very. Very small discount for not having meal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Having just returned from a weekend break in Scarborough I felt it was necessary to comment on what a fantastic hotel this is. We felt we were looked after to the highest degree and we felt the hotel was lovely. We had a great room with a nice view and the staff couldn't have been nicer. We will be back, Thankyou!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emspiderx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I decided to have a short break near the seaside and Scarborough was top of the list. The Red Lea provided a lovely room and the breakfast was delicious with locally sourced produce (informed by the waiter), friendly staff and great service. I'll be sure to visit again soon :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel fights for business in a very competitive market. The building is what it is, and I am sure the owners do what they can to maintain a good standard of decor. Most importantly the rooms were clean. There appeared to be staff in abundance and they were always pleasant and helpful.
Breakfast was to a good standard and again there was no shortage of serving staff - some of the them quite amusing as they "learned the ropes". What left us disappointed was the quality and choice of the evening meal which another reviewer referred to as "institutionalised food". I can understand this comment. On our final evening I selected vegetable soup as a starter but I think it was a stock cube in disguise; watery and awful to say the least. When you think the bread roll may be the best thing you are going to get to eat, you know that something is wrong.
Thankfully the roast pork and Jam Roll that followed calmed my fears. Value for money? A bit on the expensive side. But yes I would be happy to stay at the Red Lea again; I just wouldn't have dinner.

Room Tip: Being an old building the hotel has a very small lift which is an essential piece of equipment for g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidandGeraldine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

nothing to complain about - price and cleanliness ok
could be modernised as the decor is very dated
staff friendly and helpful
we stored our bicycles in a function room (Rowntree Room) !! but there's no where else if this had been booked - bike storage is important if you are a cyclist.
shared breakfast with an old peoples bus tour and the full english was very nice
lift very old and only takes 4 - doesn't inspire confidence

Room Tip: get a sea view - it's worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DW_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gomersal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We booked a one night need a get a way break, on arrival at hotel we were met with such helpful ,kind courteous staff, and it wasn't just them all staff within the hotel had the same jolly helpful manner. Food in the hotel, evening dinner and breakfast was a high standard and enjoyed by both of us, in fact after check out we returned and had morning coffees. Room 315 had excellent sea views and was newly decorated to a good standard. Would I rec this hotel 10 out of 10 yes we will return. x

Room Tip: 315 was excellent, 3rd floor sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gomersal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,789 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
612 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,835 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lea Hotel

Property: Red Lea Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lea Hotel is situated on Scarborough's favoured South Cliff, close to the Cliff Lift, the Spa Centre and the beach. The attractions of the town centre, historic castle and bustling harbour are only a short stroll away. With our superb location, beautiful sea views, indoor swimming pool, comfortable bedrooms, great food and friendly service we think we've got everything you need for a great break by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Red Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing