We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Lea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lea Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable we had a very nice breakfast and the staff were friendly and helpful I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Scarborough.Very close to the sea front and they give you a free permit for parking

Room Tip: It's in a quiet location and very near the sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie5918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    126
    45
    15
    11
See reviews for
61
163
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Was booked in here through work so wasn't sure what to expect. Very friendly staff, great food and what I can only describe as a comfortable atmosphere.

I was a bit dissapointed that the restraunt closed at 7:30pm but after explaining that I would be coming in from work after that time they then took my order for the following evening and it wasn't an issue.

My room was great, if a tad on the small side, however a colleague I was working with had a huge room. Luck of the draw I guess. I would stay here again, but not if I was paying myself. The £90 per night was a bit excessive for a 3* hotel, especially when I had to park about 300 yards up the street.

Overall, yes it's a good hotel with great service and food but a little bit on the pricey side.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently. No problems at all. Excellent food, good service, very clean and a good location. The other guests staying in the hotel were also very friendly.
Unfortunately I did not have time to use the pool.

Room Tip: Possibly ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyrocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I went on a non bowling, bowls tour and this hotel certainly lived up to the good points on Trip Advisor. For an old build it was well maintained and the service all round was friendly and very good. We toured with Airedale Tours and we found that the coach, the driver and the daily venues were superb. Whitby was the diamond in the crown though, what a fantastic venue! The swimming pool looked good good and our friends enjoyed talking in there.

Room Tip: The sea views are worth the extra but go for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam5UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on Monday3rd March for a four day stay from start to finish we were so well looked after. Nothing was to much trouble all of the staff were fantastic. I have to have a gluten and egg free diet and the Chef made sure I was extremely well fed. We will be going again that's for sure. The rooms are spacious and clean and the pool is great can't wait for the gym to go in. Thank you all.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Terencejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Just returned from a 5 day break at this Hotel. We received a very warm welcome on arrival and all staff were very happy and willing to please. The room we had was beautiful and clean, the meals and entertainment excellent. The pool was an added bonus which we enjoyed. As a special diet for me (Lynda) was required, all the staff went out of their way to accommodate me
especially Joanna (Restaurant Supervisor) who always had my special milk, bread etc waiting
for me. Also my thanks to the chef who always made sure I had things I could eat.
A great hotel all round, would love to go back again sometime.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just returned from this hotel having spent a Saturday/Sunday. We wanted a hotel that would provide, bed, dinner and breakfast and a swimming pool. We took our Granddaughter for her 10th birthday as a treat. The staff were very friendly and even took the time to decorate our table with birthday confetti and even a birthday card, which was a lovely touch. The pool was really good, shame about the hot tub ! The food was excellent both at Dinner and Breakfast. We will certainly be back and would recommend to anyone. Good value for money,

Room Tip: We had room 117 which had a double and single bed and overlooked the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CMD1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Red Lea Hotel.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay, especially your grand daughter, as we pride ourselves in being family friendly, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,617 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,807 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lea Hotel

Property: Red Lea Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lea Hotel is situated on Scarborough's favoured South Cliff, close to the Cliff Lift, the Spa Centre and the beach. The attractions of the town centre, historic castle and bustling harbour are only a short stroll away. With our superb location, beautiful sea views, indoor swimming pool, comfortable bedrooms, great food and friendly service we think we've got everything you need for a great break by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing