We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced”
Review of Red Lea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lea Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“overpriced”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

we arrived on a sat for one night and had to park a few streets away and pay for the permit!! when we got to our room in the one and only lift( which only holds 2 people) we found the room clean but very small.The shower wasnt what youd call a power shower somewhat more of a trickle.We had a sea view but only if you hung out of the window.Breakfast was nice but only small.Nice clean hotel but not worth the 130 pound we paid...ive stayed in better premier inns.It was for a special occasion and thought it would be better than it was.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    130
    47
    15
    11
See reviews for
64
169
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Room allocated,clean but small with poor view.We then upgraded to premium,very good!

Comfort 8

Clealiness 9

Staff 9.5

Food 9

Overall hotel very good value for money,with a beautiful overview of scarborough.
F

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Lea Hotel.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birstall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

this was a lovely hotel we stayed in a family room and it was comfy and clean, we had a seaview . we didn't have breakfast so cannot comment on that side of things. the only negative thing was it was quite expensive and the bathroom was quite small. we would stay here again however.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalietai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to review the Red Lea Hotel.

We pride ourselves in looking after guests of all ages, including Children and look forward to welcoming your family back to the hotel in the future.

David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our first visit to Red Lea lasting 5 days to 19th July and it will not be the last.
The room was valeted to a very high standard; reception staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
The quality of the food was never short of excellent . Unlike so many hotels with higher star ratings, we were served by friendly and very well organized staff who did not expect us to serve ourselves, let alone make our own toast - such a foolish modern money-saving trait. The evening meals were reasonably priced yet really epicurean and the chef and catering staff were clearly expert. Lovely to have properly cooked non-ping food.
The management were pleasant and the hotel had an air of friendly efficiency and good organization. Unlike some hotels, there were not umpteen notices giving rules, either - only the essential.
The hotel is handily placed for the cliff lift and commands good views of the sea. Parking was never a problem and the hotel gave us parking permits.
Really outstanding.

Room Tip: No need to
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on the Red Lea Hotel.

I am so pleased that you have enjoyed your recent stay, including our service at Breakfast which we fell adds to your holiday experience by being served at the table, and Not having to queue for your food. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our first impression was poor as the only available on street parking was two street away, not a good start. Our room on the third floor was small, no wifi at all, shower terrible only a trickle of luke warm water. No biscuits on the hospitality tray, might have been an oversight. We thought that breakfast would make up for the lack of room comfort in the room but no it got worse. We were seated and left with a menu, waited for five minutes, then helped ourselves to fruit juice and tinned grapefruit, no fresh fruit. Was told that we would be served. Cooked breakfast tiny,i gave my husband half of mine and the worst thing, instant coffee was the final straw. Overall very over priced, we felt very disappointed, if it had been half the price we paid we would shrugged and put it down to experience. Overall not impressed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank breakshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

With regards to your review I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit.

Scarborough has experienced one of its busiest summers for years and with this in mind parking has, on some Saturdays been quite difficult. The permits we provide at £1.00 offer parking for up to two days on most of the streets around the hotel.
Our front bedrooms offer views over the gardens towards the sea, some with better views of the Sea than others, as people can see from pictures on our website. We also offer premier rooms which are our largest bedrooms with Bay Windows and fantastic views.
Your comment on our breakfast do surprise me as many of our guests comment on the quality and content, and the fact that it is NOT buffet service, if your husband would have liked any more he only had to ask.

Again, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and all the staff are very friendly. The hotel has great views over the south bay. Access to the tramway down to the Spa opposite the hotel was very useful due to my wife's lack of mobility. Our room was large with high ceilings and a great sea view. The food was home cooked in the main with a choice at both dinner and breakfast. The hotel is very peaceful and quiet as most of the guests are older. There was evening entertainment on three occasions which catered for all ages and tastes and there is even a library! Our one criticism would be that there was no air-conditioning and as we were there on the hottest week of the year both the staff and guests were suffering. We will certainly use this hotel again, thanks.

Room Tip: Bay-window, sea facing rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

. Several major modifications had been completed since my last visit, new carpeting throughout the hallways, passages, including some bedrooms. Very tasteful decorating using attractive pastel shades.
Almost fully booked, the hotel catered for several incoming tour trips, at meal times the dining hall reached its capacity of 100 seating during this time the staff admirably catered for menu orders, serving and still maintaining a friendly chatter with customers in a cool and calm manner.
The dining room is spacious well laid out with immaculate table linen, table displays were eye-catching everything sparkled with cleanliness. Fresh flowers adorned each table. The menus were attractive giving several choices of meals and were changed daily.
The bedrooms had been subject to updating, new carpeting, bed linen being spotless, towels changed during the week, beds being really comfortable. General office staff I remembered from my last visit so I knew that I could always rely on any advice or assistance required, always given with a smile and cheerful approach.
I am in my late 80s drive up from Shropshire, and would not do so if the holiday was to be worthwhile, I am guaranteed this at the Red Lea.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 42blackwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
612 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,836 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lea Hotel

Property: Red Lea Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lea Hotel is situated on Scarborough's favoured South Cliff, close to the Cliff Lift, the Spa Centre and the beach. The attractions of the town centre, historic castle and bustling harbour are only a short stroll away. With our superb location, beautiful sea views, indoor swimming pool, comfortable bedrooms, great food and friendly service we think we've got everything you need for a great break by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Red Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing