We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Red Lea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lea Hotel
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lovely Hotel,clean and neat ,quite location, great views,Nice pool area clean and refreshing . Staff very helpful friendly and willing to assist with any request.Room a good size Nice breakfast. Had a brilliant weekend.Would recommend the hotel will stay again when next visiting Scarborough.

Room Tip: We had a Sea View room the view was excellent and room was brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cat_Phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 409 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

Spent lovely w/end 21st-24th june 13. The hotel not the best we've been in but ok for w/end. Food very good & staff very freindly. Our first time at Scarborough and thought what a great place to go. People very freindly and the town lively at w/end with good pubs & resteraunts with live music in bars. Plenty of things to do & see. Definitely return, well done Scarborough. We went to Gianni's Italian restorante 13 Victoria road Tel 01723 507388 had good meal, I had steak which was very good the others had italian also very good, would like to mention Barbara & Clive for looking after us so well, thanks to them both.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Despite mine being a very late booking, the room size was more than adequate. Staff were ALL very helpful and friendly. Location is really great and breakfast was good.

This is not a lively hotel and is away from the noisy town centre so is perfect for older guests and families with children.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthCerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to put your review of the Red Lea Hotel on trip advisor.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Perfect service, helpful staff, great surroundings. For our first trip to the place, we found the staff most willing to assist us in every way. The rooms were clean and well maintained and the view was exactly as promised. Breakfast was perfect and my the year old was beautifully looked after.The pool was clean and refreshing. All in all, we were perfectly satisfied and would recommendthis hotel to everyone. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smica_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Lea Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay as we pride ourselves in offering friendly, but professional service to all our guest, whatever their age.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Hi there,just come back from the Red Lea Hotel we three ladies went to see the Celebrities on ice show at the Spa Complex it was Fabulous great show.On arriving at the hotel it was around 6pm as we had come straight from work,the lovely friendly greeting from Maria on reception was so nice,we had booked two rooms as we could not get a room with three beds when we booked it,but on checking in we just asked if the two rooms were near ,then the lovely Maria managed to give us a studio it was fabulous,then she sorted a sandwich for us for when we came back from the the Theatre at 10.30pm,over and above service i thought.Breakfast was good too,.Hotel was clean just a little tired looking,but overall very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mojomamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us and I will pass your comments onto maria. I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was rather apprehensive when I read some of the reviews of this hotel and did not know what to expect when I arrived with a group of friends for a walking weekend. But soon after we checked in, I was convinced that it was a really warm and friendly place. It is an unpretentious hotel that offers a friendly service. Members of staff were happy to serve and attend to us. Although my single room was quite small, it was adequate for its purpose, a place to return to after a day of walking. I enjoyed early morning swims in the pool in the basement before breakfast. It certainly was not designed for Olympic swimmers but is adequate for anyone who wants to splash around. It was clean every time I used it. The meals were decent and served hot. I would recommend Red Lea to anyone who wants a clean, friendly and pleasant hotel in Scarborough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest

On reading the start of you review I was a little confused as too your comments with regards to your booking, but as you then go on to say you did enjoy your visit to the Red Lea. We pride ourselves in offering friendly but professional service to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel and thank you for recommending us to your friends.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed over for one night. The Hotel is close to the lift that takes you down to the Spa. I was at a venue at the Spa and this hotel was very convenient to the Spa cliff lift. The breakfast was served by waiting staff in a smart dining room and the food was excellent. I did not have time to take a look at the pool but hope to next time I stay there.

Room Tip: I booked over the internet and got a very good deal for the room I stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,962 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
653 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
946 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#10 of 26 in Scarborough
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lea Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $99 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lea Hotel is situated on Scarborough's favoured South Cliff, close to the Cliff Lift, the Spa Centre and the beach. The attractions of the town centre, historic castle and bustling harbour are only a short stroll away. With our superb location, beautiful sea views, indoor swimming pool, comfortable bedrooms, great food and friendly service we think we've got everything you need for a great break by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing