We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on”
Review of Red Lea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lea Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spot on”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with my daughter.we noth loved it. I agree the rooms were dated but i think that adds to the charm.everything was spotless and the staff were excellent. Never felt uncomfy travelling alone and the service at breakfast was lovely. Look forward to returning. Thankyou

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjshaw1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to review your recent visit to the Red Lea Hotel.

We are very pleased that you and your Daughter felt at ease within the hotel as families are always very welcome. Areas within the hotel are also part of our ongoing refurbishment which is continuing this year.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    130
    47
    15
    11
See reviews for
64
169
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Good hotel we had a great room overlooking the gardens and the bay, staff are very friendly and helpul our roomwas nice but a bit faded, the 3rd floor corridor looks as though its waiting a makeover just a bit tired but OK. It's 3 star but that is a stretch some of the touches you would expect from a 3* are not there, biscuits with the Tea and coffee for example, a box of tissues, maybe a bottle of water or two.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor facing south have great views and are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tradefare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in posting a review on the Red Lea Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. With regards to the third floor corridor, this is on the next phase of our ongoing refurbishments, and should be completed later this year.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had a great trip, the view from the bay windows is truly fantastic (deffo worth upgrading too). Very cute swimming pool in the basement perfect for a day outside in the cold. The staff were very friendly. Thanks had a great time.

Ps they give parking passes for outside so free parking not mentioned on the website

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zippyprorider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to review the Red Lea Hotel.

As you so kindly say, our Premier Bedrooms offer fantastic sea views, at a small additional charge. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

David Hull
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

On arriving we were greeted by the friendliest receptionist, she showed us where everything was & really was polite, professional and friendly.
Our room was 308 - a family room with a sea view, the room was spotless, the bathroom looked like it new as it was gleaming. The room was big, and a travel cot had been provided for our 20 month old son. The room was just the right temp, not too hot or too cold.
The pool was open til 7.30pm or 8pm (cant remember now) and we were advised no restrictions on time for our little boy which was great, we did have the pool to ourselves and the pool area was very clean, lockers just at the pool side which was handy. The pool itself was lovely and warm.
The breakfast was lovely, waited service so you even have your cereal brought to you, the cooked breakfast was just the right size, my other half can eat a nice hearty breakfast and we usually choose buffet style but even said this was just right, left you full & ready for the day.
The cliff lift was a nice novelty, although the walk down the cliff would be nice if the weather was a little warmer. We walked into the town centre from the hotel - took all of 10 mins - just a few streets away.
Parking was just on the street outside the hotel, we were given a parking permit
We will deinitely revisit this hotel, due to a family illness we did have to checkout in a rush which meant a few items of clothing were left behind, the hotel posted these to us the very next day.

Room Tip: The sea view family room was lovely & big
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette_Louise_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Red Lea Hotel. We are so pleased that you felt that your young son was made to fell welcome, as we pride ourselves in being a family friendly Hotel. Can I also thank you for your comments on Breakfast, we feel that Breakfast is a very important meal, and full service(not buffet) goes down very well with our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

From the greeting to the temperature , it was lovely and warm. The room was large , very clean and cosy with a lovely modern bathroom with a super strong shower. Breakfast was nice , just the right size all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The best place we have stayed in in Scarborough.Very near to the spa , which is we're our function was, and o ly a short walk to Scarborough, great location and great views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rallygoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Lea Hotel, we prided ourselves in providing a warm welcome to all our guests, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay. We believe that Breakfast is a very important meal and offering full service(not Buffet) goes down extremely well with our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

As part of a dancing group from Yorkshire,this is the third consecutive year we have stayed at the Red Lea and the standards -which are excellent- remain the same.
Don't bother reading more reviews,just go! You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerlinSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your super recommendation, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

What a lovely Hotel the staff were so friendly and accomodating,the food was varied and very good, rooms very clean and comfortable, entertainment very good especially Adam North who was very funny and also had a great voice, would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Lea Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit, especially the food and the entertainment!.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

David Hull
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,787 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
611 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lea Hotel

Property: Red Lea Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lea Hotel is situated on Scarborough's favoured South Cliff, close to the Cliff Lift, the Spa Centre and the beach. The attractions of the town centre, historic castle and bustling harbour are only a short stroll away. With our superb location, beautiful sea views, indoor swimming pool, comfortable bedrooms, great food and friendly service we think we've got everything you need for a great break by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Red Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing