We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit”
Review of Red Lea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lea Hotel
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

On arriving we were greeted by the friendliest receptionist, she showed us where everything was & really was polite, professional and friendly.
Our room was 308 - a family room with a sea view, the room was spotless, the bathroom looked like it new as it was gleaming. The room was big, and a travel cot had been provided for our 20 month old son. The room was just the right temp, not too hot or too cold.
The pool was open til 7.30pm or 8pm (cant remember now) and we were advised no restrictions on time for our little boy which was great, we did have the pool to ourselves and the pool area was very clean, lockers just at the pool side which was handy. The pool itself was lovely and warm.
The breakfast was lovely, waited service so you even have your cereal brought to you, the cooked breakfast was just the right size, my other half can eat a nice hearty breakfast and we usually choose buffet style but even said this was just right, left you full & ready for the day.
The cliff lift was a nice novelty, although the walk down the cliff would be nice if the weather was a little warmer. We walked into the town centre from the hotel - took all of 10 mins - just a few streets away.
Parking was just on the street outside the hotel, we were given a parking permit
We will deinitely revisit this hotel, due to a family illness we did have to checkout in a rush which meant a few items of clothing were left behind, the hotel posted these to us the very next day.

Room Tip: The sea view family room was lovely & big
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Red Lea Hotel. We are so pleased that you felt that your young son was made to fell welcome, as we pride ourselves in being a family friendly Hotel. Can I also thank you for your comments on Breakfast, we feel that Breakfast is a very important meal, and full service(not buffet) goes down very well with our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 406 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

From the greeting to the temperature , it was lovely and warm. The room was large , very clean and cosy with a lovely modern bathroom with a super strong shower. Breakfast was nice , just the right size all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The best place we have stayed in in Scarborough.Very near to the spa , which is we're our function was, and o ly a short walk to Scarborough, great location and great views.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rallygoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Lea Hotel, we prided ourselves in providing a warm welcome to all our guests, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay. We believe that Breakfast is a very important meal and offering full service(not Buffet) goes down extremely well with our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

As part of a dancing group from Yorkshire,this is the third consecutive year we have stayed at the Red Lea and the standards -which are excellent- remain the same.
Don't bother reading more reviews,just go! You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerlinSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your super recommendation, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

What a lovely Hotel the staff were so friendly and accomodating,the food was varied and very good, rooms very clean and comfortable, entertainment very good especially Adam North who was very funny and also had a great voice, would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Lea Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit, especially the food and the entertainment!.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

David Hull
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent five days holiday at The Red Lea last week with my keep fit group. The Hotel is spotlessly clean, lovely large rooms, friendly staff and management and great food.The choice of menu is such that it
would be impossible not to find a meal to enjoy whatever your taste. We will be returning.

Barbara B

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Guest.

We are so Happy that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Red Lea Hotel. We pride ourselves in providing a good standard of guest satisfaction. The management and staff always appreciate our guests taking time to pass on their comments to other potential travelers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My mum and dad stayed here and had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Front room with lovely view. Food very good and staff very caring and welcoming. This was their second visit and they will certainly go again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fisher_andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Lea Hotel.

The management and staff are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our home cooked food, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had a lovely stay. Location was perfect, wonderful views, modern bright rooms, friendly staff. Whilst the swimming pool wasn't large, it was bigger than I'd expected from the pictures and the kids loved it. Food was rather seventies traditional but good enough and the service was excellent. Lovely to have waiter service for breakfast rather than a buffet. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view with bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mumof3Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Lea Hotel. The Management and Staff are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,984 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
658 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,286 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#11 of 26 in Scarborough
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lea Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $120 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lea Hotel is situated on Scarborough's favoured South Cliff, close to the Cliff Lift, the Spa Centre and the beach. The attractions of the town centre, historic castle and bustling harbour are only a short stroll away. With our superb location, beautiful sea views, indoor swimming pool, comfortable bedrooms, great food and friendly service we think we've got everything you need for a great break by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing