We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Lea Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
$168
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
$560
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
$167
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
$77
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
$103
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveler rating
203
149
50
19
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
203
149
50
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewswimming poolthe cliffwaitress servicehot tubdining roomstar hotelseaside hotelspa complexfriendly hotelthird floorcoach holidayquiet areabit datedreception staffeach eveninggreat weekend
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 432 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The hotel to stop at if you are stopping in Scarborough their is nothing i could find to fault it from arriving to going home the staff wear most helpful the food was second to non very good menu i would recommend the roast beef melts it in your mouth the bedrooms wear very clean and the bed very comfortable you only have to go a few yards to get the lift down to the sea front

Room Tip: tell them if you want a front room
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MAVTHERAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

If you love the seaside, this is the perfect old fashioned hotel which makes everything easy and special. From parking permits to morning papers. Within minutes we were winding our way to the room in an old fashioned wooden lift. The room had a bay window with great sea views to the east, woodland views to the west and a victorian green inbetween.

The decor is old fashinoed style with a modern update. Food was good and service great - with a 7pm show to go to (Ken Dodd doing his thing at the Futurist - LEGEND!), we were served a 3 course meal in seconds of finishing each course. Everything is geared towards what you want to do.

The Red Lea is 1950's style reinvented with service to match. It makes everything very easy.

As a young couple in our 30's, we felt very comfortable and would recommend it to all ages.

Great location, style and charm.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MFBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at the red lea this Saturday night that's just gone and everything was fabulous the room very big and clean the view of the sea very nice from room 112 the flowers champain chocolates and bowl fruit was all worth every penny all the staff where very good and very helpful and we are a young cuple aged 32 & 33 but when side having a quick sig I was saying how nice it is to someone older and they said the same has I have just told you. Or and its only 5/6 mins walk to the sea all the best the Harrison's we would love to come back

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harrison112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlea, Front Office Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Thank you for your comment to your stay at the Red Lea Hotel. We are all very happy that you had a fabulous time and look forward to welcoming you again. We are very grateful that you have taken time to write a review with Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I am very happy to leave a review for this lovely Hotel on behalf of my parents, I first made the initial contact and spoke to Sara and found her most helpful in her description of the Red Lea. From the moment my parents arrived they were well looked after starting with a lovely warm welcome from all the staff, they were then shown to their super room with a sea view, it was spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds.
My parents have travelled around the world and stayed in some excellent Hotels ( they are quite particular where they stay) but say this was a super place to stay and would be very happy to return again.
Thank You for taking care of my parents so well.

Room Tip: Book a Sea View Room View If You Can
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shihtzubabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlea, Front Office Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Thank you for your comment to your stay at the Red Lea. We are very happy that your parents enjoyed their stay with us and look forward to welcoming them back in the near future. We are very grateful that you have taken time to write a review with Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We had a great time in Scarborough - great walks, scenery and lots of good food.
The Red Lea Hotel was perfect for us- very central, yards from the cable car to the Spa and beach. The atmosphere in the hotel was very relaxed and the staff from reception, restaurant and housekeeping all had time for you. Our room was well kitted out, great views and plenty of space. When it rained we sat at the table and comfy seats in the window and watched the world go by. Food is traditional, freshly made and tasty. try the kippers with poached egg for breakfast- the best we've had.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a sea view the extra £7 per person is more than worth it
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelshocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlea, Front Office Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Thank you for your review and photographs of your stay at the Red Lea. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay and the rainy days did not spoil your holiday in Scarborough. We look forward to welcoming you again. We are very grateful that you have taken time to write a review with Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews