We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 very happy days”
Review of Red Lea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lea Hotel
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The hotel to stop at if you are stopping in Scarborough their is nothing i could find to fault it from arriving to going home the staff wear most helpful the food was second to non very good menu i would recommend the roast beef melts it in your mouth the bedrooms wear very clean and the bed very comfortable you only have to go a few yards to get the lift down to the sea front

Room Tip: tell them if you want a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MAVTHERAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 397 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2011

If you love the seaside, this is the perfect old fashioned hotel which makes everything easy and special. From parking permits to morning papers. Within minutes we were winding our way to the room in an old fashioned wooden lift. The room had a bay window with great sea views to the east, woodland views to the west and a victorian green inbetween.

The decor is old fashinoed style with a modern update. Food was good and service great - with a 7pm show to go to (Ken Dodd doing his thing at the Futurist - LEGEND!), we were served a 3 course meal in seconds of finishing each course. Everything is geared towards what you want to do.

The Red Lea is 1950's style reinvented with service to match. It makes everything very easy.

As a young couple in our 30's, we felt very comfortable and would recommend it to all ages.

Great location, style and charm.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MFBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at the red lea this Saturday night that's just gone and everything was fabulous the room very big and clean the view of the sea very nice from room 112 the flowers champain chocolates and bowl fruit was all worth every penny all the staff where very good and very helpful and we are a young cuple aged 32 & 33 but when side having a quick sig I was saying how nice it is to someone older and they said the same has I have just told you. Or and its only 5/6 mins walk to the sea all the best the Harrison's we would love to come back

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harrison112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlea, Front Office Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Thank you for your comment to your stay at the Red Lea Hotel. We are all very happy that you had a fabulous time and look forward to welcoming you again. We are very grateful that you have taken time to write a review with Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I am very happy to leave a review for this lovely Hotel on behalf of my parents, I first made the initial contact and spoke to Sara and found her most helpful in her description of the Red Lea. From the moment my parents arrived they were well looked after starting with a lovely warm welcome from all the staff, they were then shown to their super room with a sea view, it was spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds.
My parents have travelled around the world and stayed in some excellent Hotels ( they are quite particular where they stay) but say this was a super place to stay and would be very happy to return again.
Thank You for taking care of my parents so well.

Room Tip: Book a Sea View Room View If You Can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shihtzubabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlea, Front Office Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Thank you for your comment to your stay at the Red Lea. We are very happy that your parents enjoyed their stay with us and look forward to welcoming them back in the near future. We are very grateful that you have taken time to write a review with Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We had a great time in Scarborough - great walks, scenery and lots of good food.
The Red Lea Hotel was perfect for us- very central, yards from the cable car to the Spa and beach. The atmosphere in the hotel was very relaxed and the staff from reception, restaurant and housekeeping all had time for you. Our room was well kitted out, great views and plenty of space. When it rained we sat at the table and comfy seats in the window and watched the world go by. Food is traditional, freshly made and tasty. try the kippers with poached egg for breakfast- the best we've had.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a sea view the extra £7 per person is more than worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelshocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlea, Front Office Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Thank you for your review and photographs of your stay at the Red Lea. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay and the rainy days did not spoil your holiday in Scarborough. We look forward to welcoming you again. We are very grateful that you have taken time to write a review with Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Try get a front sea view, bay windows best, nice and large, recently re-furbished, clean and comfortable. this hotel may be past its prime but the current owners are making continuing efforts to modernise whilst keeping the traditional ambience of the hotel, maybe best for older people. Good food in nice restaurant and cosy bar.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hash106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlea, Front Office Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Red Lea Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to hearing from you in the near future. We are very grateful that you have taken time to write a review with Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

booking the night at the Red Lea was a spur of the moment decision and thankfully not one that I regretted. The hotel is situated on the elegant Prince of Wales Terrace a short stroll to the front in Scarborough and provides an excellent base to discover some of the delights of the Yorkshire coast. Being a gay couple we were not quite sure how we would be re acted too but the staff where very friendly and matter of fact about 2 guys taking a break together. The room was very clean and well appointed and the breakfast was delicious. Theres a fine line with smallish hotels being run proffesionally or feeling that the staff managers are in your face and the Red lea have got in just right. One note to the Red Lea owners on a slightly negative note is that you have a beautiful property in a prime location so some investment in exterior paintwork and smartening up would pay you dividends both in both your investment and wowing your customers. That being said the nice warm welcome, clean rooms and communal areas along with good food would bring me back. Well Done on a well run hotel. A bit of paintwork and woodwork repair and your there!

Room Tip: Just tell them what you want ! Sea view rooms £7 +
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jamesparsons839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 26 in Scarborough
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lea Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $103 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lea Hotel is situated on Scarborough's favoured South Cliff, close to the Cliff Lift, the Spa Centre and the beach. The attractions of the town centre, historic castle and bustling harbour are only a short stroll away. With our superb location, beautiful sea views, indoor swimming pool, comfortable bedrooms, great food and friendly service we think we've got everything you need for a great break by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing