We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed!”
Review of The Paragon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Paragon
Ranked #74 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute at the weekend for a quick overnight stop in Scarborough. The room was clean, tidy and had a stand up shower which I enjoyed as hotels often have baths which aren't necessary for over night stays. The host gave us a key to come in through later on if we were back late and was very helpful and informative. The bar overlooked the sea and was a very cosy, relaxed bar which was very pleasant to sit in. The room also had spectacular views across the sea. The price included a breakfast the next morning which was wonderful. The food was decent quality, there was yoghurts, fruit and other breakfast buffet style food out which you could help yourself too and also tea/coffee/juice which was all fresh. Really enjoyed this stay, would recommend for a couple looking for a nice night(s) away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBobby11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 212 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a very pleasant 3 day break in Scarborough in March 2013 staying at this hotel the staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a hotel with a sea view wanting to stay in Scarborough

Room Tip: As for a sea view if you want to look out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Upon arriving we were welcomed by mick on reception who was very helpful .
The rooms are nice and clean with good views over the sea and castle .
We found the staff polite and very helpful it's got a nice bar area to sit in and take in the scenery nothing seemed too much trouble happy to advise on places to eat on a night they even booked us a table for Saturday night at a local Italian and by the way a cracking breakfast
Will be visiting again

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Waynejoness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at the paragon for a 3 night break, originally booked room 10 (sea view room), when we checked in the man on the desk had rearranged us to stay in room 1 which was a nice spacious room but didn't have a sea view and wasn't happy about this as we requested and paid for it. Overall the staff are nice and friendly and it is a great location. The breakfast was served from 8.30am-9.00am which isn't great if your not an early bird but the breakfast is worth getting up for!! You can get a taxi (atlas taxi's) into down to the south bay for 4.50 or get a taxi into town for 4.00 where there is a high street full of shops and is a 2min walk down the hill to the beach, I would recommend The Lord Roseberry in town oppisite the cooperative travel for cheap food and drink ( owned by weatherspoons) overall it was a great short break. Also go to sealife sanctuary good day out for anyone

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnandmike123, Manager at The Paragon, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and your breakfast.
However we do need to point out that room 10 is not and never has been a sea view and if you check both your on-line booking form and our website you will see this.
You failed to mention that you thought you had booked a sea view when checking in, if you had we would have been able to offer you an upgrade to a sea view for a small supplement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stay at this hotel every year and we would not stay anywhere else. The rooms are lovely and the beds extremely comfortable, not to mention the stunning views from the sea view rooms. All the staff are very welcoming and willing to cater to your every need. The breakfast is tasty and fills you up for the rest of the day! Superb! Thankyou once again for a super holiday - I highly recommend this hotel to anyone taking a break in Scarborough.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are brill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banda17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel had lovely and extensive views of the sea. We had a super king size bed, which gave us a very comfortable night's sleep. However the shower room in room 9 was the size of a telephone box so was quite a challenge. It was also very cold. Luckily, our son stayed in room 10 so I was able to use his bathroom.
The breakfast was excellent but only served from 8.30 to 9am - an it was a Sunday, so no lie in.
However, overall it was a nice stay and we were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnandmike123, Manager at The Paragon, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Unfortunately these Victorian buildings were not built with en-suites in mind. To accommodate today's preferences, bathrooms are created in such a fashion as to include exactly what is needed.
A sink , a shower and a toilet, the very essence of the word 'convenience', and included in that bathroom a heated towel rail that you just needed to turn on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I booked the Paragon for just one night for a bit of a getaway. For the price I paid, I must say that I was a little disappointed. We arrived and were welcomed by a lovely lady who gave us information on the local area etc. Unfortunately we were told that there was only one restaurant in the whole town worth eating at which turned out to be closed... Besides that, the room was very dated though spacious and comfortable. However, the ensuite was tiny and EXTREMELY cold. I assume that had something to do with the ventilation fan. Whatever the cause, it was very unpleasant taking a shower in the morning. The worst thing of all, however, was that the double bed was actually two single beds next to each other. This made for an uncomfortable gap down the middle, something I certainly wouldn't expect for the price paid.

In conclusion, there are plus points, but I will be looking elsewhere for my next visit to Scarborough.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0 mi away
Howdale
Howdale
#39 of 183 in Scarborough
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#16 of 183 in Scarborough
188 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
6 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paragon

Address: 123 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $61 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Paragon 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paragon is ideally situated over looking Scarboroughs' North Bay with spectacular views of the Castle and Sea-life centre. Close to the town centre shops, restaurants and theatres, and only a short walk from Peasholm Park, the indoor swimming pool, miniture railway and the newly refurbished open-air theatre. Other local attractions include the NYM Stream Railway, the North Yorkshire Moors National Park, Eden Camp Museum, several castles, abbeys and stately homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Paragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing