We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, friendly staff, ideal base for Scarborough”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Paragon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Paragon
Ranked #66 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff, ideal base for Scarborough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Paragon for one night on the 21st Sept 2011, when we arrived at the hotel we were given a very warm welcome and shown to our room (room 1, first floor). The room was small but perfectly formed with all the home comforts you would expect, it was clean tidy with a good selection of tea, coffee, even horlicks. The lounge/ bar area downstairs was very comfortable and the drinks reasonably priced, a very nice room to spend a couple of hours relaxing, taking in the great views of Scarboroughs north bay, After a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed, we went down to the breakfast room for a very nice full english. All in all a very pleasant stay at a great little hotel, made all the more enjoyable by the hospitality of the staff

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adi_c309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    55
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
21
126
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed at the Paragon for 3 nights choosing the 4th floor sea view room
As the hotel was rated 4 stars and because of all the wonderfull reviews we booked a long weekend. We havent managed to have a holiday for quite some time and were excited to be going away at last. We considered £210 bed & breakfast to be at the top end of our budget but felt we deserved to spoil ourselves.
What a disappointment! The rooms were tired to say the least. Decor shabby and I dont mean chic. Our bedroom was very small. Bargain basement furniture. A homemade (and not pretty) headboard. Bathroom was like something from the 70`s. Bath miniscule with a mixer showerhead attached to wall. My husband is 6 foot 6" tall so washing here was a new experience for him!
We had expected a fair climb to our bedroom. Oh dear, please dont even attempt it if you are not fit. Heart attack waiting to happen.
The reason we took the 4th floor in the first place was for the panoramic sea view. Because this room is an attic conversion, I would imagine building regulations require the window to be at a certain height. I had to stand on my tiptoes to see out. This could be a very nice room with a little effort.
We both felt Mike, the manager to be helpful. The breakfast was fine and the bed was comfortble. If this is all you require from the Paragon then book. Is you want a little luxury try somewhere else

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank shirley_r58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

myself and my partner stayed at the paragon 27th til 30th aug 2011. the hotel is situated on the north bay of scarborough and has gorgeous views as have all the hotels on this street. we stayed in room 11 and paid £70 per nyt for the double room. room 11 is quite high up and does involve alot of flights of steps. It was lovely deco and modern with a small flatscreen tv and plenty tea, coffee, suger, biscuits and horlicks provided. Its a family run hotel and every one we spoke to was really friendly as were the other guests. The breakfast is served between 8.30 & 9am and was really nice, the girls that served it always checked you had enough toast and drinks, although i would of found it more convinient if there had of been a wider time range as im never hungry as soon as i get up so we did miss it on one occasion. The drinks in the hotel are really expensive it cost us £8.90 for a double vodka & coke and a can of carling because they have no lager on draught to be honest we was both in shock at the price and that was the only drink at the hotel bar. on our last day we asked if we could keep our room for another night and at a slighly cheaper price (as on the website it states if you book more than 2 nights you can get a reduced rate) we was told no so we left the hotel and went to the boston hotel across the way and got a sea view room for 1 night for £44 between us, wasnt as nice as the paragon and we had just room only but was ok and £30 cheaper. overall if you want a modern hotel the paragon was lovely and i would defo stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

The Paragon was good value, warm and friendly-yet professional. The breakfast was great and the accommodation was equally comfortable. The panoramic window in the lounge is very pleasant, tea and coffee is served as requested.

Room Tip: I think the sea facing rooms are probably best and more quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Well what can I say about the Paragon....... it is a very welcoming and friendly hotel. It is a great family family run business and Mike and Lynne are very helpful - booking taxis and restaurants. They recommended restaurants and we had some gorgeous meals thanks to their recommendations. The room was lovley - clean and well presented. I would recommend you book a sea view room. We watched a gorgeous sun rise over the sea - stunning. The hotel venue is perfect on the North bay. One word to describe the breakfast..... yummy!! Would highly recommend The Paragon. Thank you. Mr and Mrs Cassin.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
393 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great sea views across the North Bay. I happily paid £4 pppn more for the privilege.
The room was the usual b&b standard with small shower/toilet. Clean, tidy and reasonably decorated.
The walk upstairs to the third floor is not for the unfit.
The breakfast was very good. I've had more choice for similar price but if you are happy with full english its of good quality. One grumble; the orange juice was tasteless.
The lounge bar (no draught beers) has a great views across the North Bay.
The proprieters are friendly and welcoming and are clearly proud of their establishment.
Its reasonable value.
I'd recommend this hotel. Its particularly convenient for cricket fans attending matches at North Marine Road.
The North Bay is great and much nicer than the busier South Bay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowvalleyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

nice hotel on the north bay side of Scarborough, we booked a room last minute. only 1 room left so we didn't get a sea view, never mind, we were only there for 2 nights, we stayed in room 1, good for not going up 4 floors, thank goodness as they dont have a lift and the breakfast room in the basement, everything was ok though, one thing I would suggestis that we were looking out on to the main street looking out of our window, the garden could do with a bit of a tidy, old dirty garden furniture. plus we came in at this entrance from the town, just needs a tidy up, still the hotel itself was clean. limited parking but the owner has this sorted

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#21 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howdale
Howdale
#42 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Derwent House Hotel
Derwent House Hotel
#41 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramleh Hotel
Ramleh Hotel
#83 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rockside Hotel
Rockside Hotel
#18 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paragon

Property: The Paragon
Address: 123 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Paragon 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paragon is ideally situated over looking Scarboroughs' North Bay with spectacular views of the Castle and Sea-life centre. Close to the town centre shops, restaurants and theatres, and only a short walk from Peasholm Park, the indoor swimming pool, miniture railway and the newly refurbished open-air theatre. Other local attractions include the NYM Stream Railway, the North Yorkshire Moors National Park, Eden Camp Museum, several castles, abbeys and stately homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Paragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing