We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced”
Review of Riviera Town House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riviera Town House
Ranked #95 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 30, 2012

i visited the hotel over the bank holiday weekend. the reception area was clean and tidy,but did not have a relaxed feel to this as you would expect. the lift was very old fashioned however a laugh remembering to close the gates once you have left it. the room was in my opinion was cramped, the furniture was old stained and beyond repair. there was a ironing board attached to the wall however i had to stand on a chair to iron our clothes as this was very high. we had to put our shoes in the drawer as there were no where to put them without falling over them as the room was so small. the en suite was clean however the shower was really small this would not accommodate the larger person. the one thing that i struggled with was the smell. i complained about his however i found the manager to be rude and arrogant, who could do with attending a course to develop his people skills. As we had booked with another couple who room was slightly better (didn't have a smell)we were unable to move hotels and that was capacity at bank holiday. the waitresses at breakfast were polite and helpful. there was a varied breakfast menu but was this worth £80 per night I do not think so. although i was not rude to any staff member i have made them aware of my intention to write this review as i was so disappointed with the response to my complaint . In my opinion the pictures on the hotels website are not a true reflection of this hotel

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brigette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 244 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed there for one night as the hotel was in a convenient location for the cricket ground, town and beach. A late checkin did not present a problem and we received a friendly welcome. The hotel has a very old fashioned lift which my husband loved. The room and the hotel as a whole was very clean with great lounge areas. I had a good nights sleep. The best was yet to come. Breakfast was excellent. Good quality food, excellent service and very friendly, smart and polite staff. I will stay here again and would recommend it to friends. The only reason I did not offer it full marks was I had a struggle with the shower to get consistent hot water HOWEVER it worked fine for my husband so might have been bad timing for me. This would not stop me saying that overall it was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 18 is a double and compact but offers everything you need and was clean, comfortable and was wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Having read the many positive reviews about The Riviera we were looking forward to our two night stay in a sea view 'classic double' room. Overall, we enjoyed the stay but this was due mainly to the excellent location of the Riviera, which is perfectly placed for the town centre and beach. The excellent breakfast was the highlight of our stay - the selection and quality of food available was first class. Despite these highlights, we would not rush back. In my opinion, the hotel is overpriced for the facilities on offer. The room was a good size and clean but dated and showing signs of wear and didn't match the expectations we had from photographs. However, bed linen was of a good quality and clean. The floor boards creak in all the public areas. A well appointed lounge would be much improved by a bar, although the friendliness of the host would be open to question.The owner did not make us feel particularly welcome and our reception was informative as far as essential information was concerned but did not extend to friendliness and we did not feel the owner was approachable for other queries we had during our stay. This was confirmed at checkout when he failed to even enquire as to how we had found our stay. The other staff we met at the hotel, especially the waitress at breakfast, were all helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nottstraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We spent the weekend in Scarborough for my birthday with my husband and 2 friends. The Riviera was very welcoming and friendly. Our room No. 15 was at the front of the hotel and was large and spacious with a big ensuite bathroom. Immacutely clean with lovely thick towels. The breakfast which was cooked to order was superb. Yes every single floor board creaked and the lift was a bit Arthur Negas/ Heath Robinson but it all added to the charm of the place.

Room Tip: I think the rooms at the front of the hotel are the better ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janied61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Riviera Hotel was extremely welcoming right from the start, the lovely lady on reception was very helpful - we booked in quite late and she recommended a beautiful restaurant for our evening meal, she also advised us about car parking. Our room had views of the sea and was very clean, as was our bathroom. The dining room for our breakfast was lovely and the staff were all extremely attentive, the food was excellent and there was a huge range to choose from. Our next visit to Scarborough will be easy because we will definately go back to the Riviera. Thank you.

Dianne and Patrick Murphy

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

First time stay in Scarborough and hotel was in a great location. Parking was appalling and resulted in a 45 min wait and the dash to get a space as soon as someone moved. Room was ok but very small for a double. Hotel was HOT no fans or air conditioning. Lovely old townhouse but did creak ALOT and lift was old fashioned with manual doors which was out of use if someone had forgotten to close them after use. Would not say it was a 4 star and would also go to stay it was overpriced for a weekend stay. Breakfast was nice and varied. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dior_dolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here on a last minute whim while visiting Scarborough. We had been staying down the coast and were supposed to be on our way home but the weather was so nice that we decided to find a B&B and stay over for the night. And what a lovely place we found....lovely from the outside and very nice inside. We only had a small basic room but it was clean comfortable and had everything we could have possibly need....very very nice. Breakfast was excellent....will definately stay there again on our next visit to Scarborough. Its location is good....not too far to walk down to the sea front and almost next door to the cliff lift if you dont fancy walking back. Would recommend this small B&B.

Room Tip: I think for a small amount extra we could have had a superior room....but the one we had was small b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wonderwoman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
5,007 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
5.4 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
51 reviews
4.2 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Town House

Address: | St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $108 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riviera Town House has a stunning central location in the heart of Scarborough. Located within yards of the town centre, restaurants, bars, theatres, South Bay beach and Spa Conference Centre. The Riviera Town House is graded by Visit Britain as bed and breakfast guest accommodation attaining the level of 4 stars with a silver award for quality and also an award for the quality of the Full English Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riviera Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing