We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riviera Town House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riviera Town House
Ranked #93 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Derby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent, Perfect”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Good location, excellent service, lovley staff, clean well decorated rooms. Cant fault it. Amazing

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    66
    34
    15
    16
See reviews for
29
138
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just had a lovely stay at the Riviera Hotel. Clean, comfortable and really friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was very good with served food. Centrally situated, near the theatre, shops and beach. Seagulls were noisy at night but that was the only downside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jap1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great location, everything we hoped it would be. Clean, comfortable, and a great breakfast. Will definitely be returning here soon. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Stephen_W-D_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a lovely stay at this bed and breakfast over the weekend. When we arrived we were greeted by the owner who was very pleasant and explained about the key, breakfast and parking permits which were very useful. Our room was very clean with white linen and cosy towels. In the evening we went to a little Italian restaurant around the corner called Tuscany which was recommended by reception and we weren't disappointed. After a wonderful nights sleep we headed down for breakfast which was excellent. I would definately recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Harrogate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

On arrival the owner greeted us quite frostily. We offered to pay in advance and we would settle any incidentals on check out. His response was "we're a B&B. There will be no incidentals". At £100 a night that's one expensive B&B! But he was so right:- no room service, no bar in the beautiful and under-used lounge.

Our room - priced as a superior twin - was tired and in need of an upgrade. Old shower was very hard to control. Beds were very comfortable alhough we would have preferred a double. Great duvets, linen and towels. TV was most modern item in the room. Tea and coffee making facilities were wecome and well stocked. Iron and trouser press are an echo of this place as a hotel.

Breakfast was made to order and served by wonderful staff. But it was served in a basement room with weirdly tented ceiling. A 70s throwback perhaps?

On checkout the owner tried to charge us £200 again. I hope a genuine error but with only 20 rooms surely their record keeping is not so complex? I will be checking with the booking company that they haven't also charged us.

I agree with other reviewers that the owner is not a natural hotelier. They need to open the bar and provide some customer service to justify the hotel pricing. Or advertise clearly that this is no more than a B&B and charge accordingly.

We won't be back I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Try for one of the upgraded rooms I've heard about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsgrimupnorth2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Lovely Bed and Breakfast with beautifull lounge area. The staff was very friendly, helpfull and aproachable all the time. Bedroom was nice and cosy with comfortable bed - all sparkling clean. Breakfast was superb every morning and also the service was high standard. As always we enjoyed every day of our stay and will be deffinitely returning again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank woodcock l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a stay at this B&B as someone who previously studied, lived and worked in the town and went back as a visitor.

The Riviera was clearly a fully-fledged hotel at one time but is now just a B&B. I think this is a shame as it has a lovely lounge and bar area which now stands redundant. I know this as I was desperate for a drink with my takeaway on my last night and was given short shrift for enquiring about the bar...

We had a nice family room which had been refurbed to a good standard including the bathroom, furniture and flatscreen TV with Freeview (although randomly the ancient brown phone remains on the wall!). The bedding was brand new and comfortable.

Breakfast was good - a nice selection of fruit, cereals, juice etc as well as a full English. I wasn't keen on the sausages, but this was just personal preference. The colouring books and crayons for my three year old were a nice touch too.

My only two criticisms: 1. it was boiling inside. Turn the heating down - it's May out there!! and 2. I am mystified as to why the owner is in the hotel trade - he clearly doesn't like the general public - I was scared to ask him for anything!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodfanatic79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tall Storeys Guest House
Tall Storeys Guest House
#26 of 182 in Scarborough
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Town House

Property: Riviera Town House
Address: | St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riviera Town House has a stunning central location in the heart of Scarborough. Located within yards of the town centre, restaurants, bars, theatres, South Bay beach and Spa Conference Centre. The Riviera Town House is graded by Visit Britain as bed and breakfast guest accommodation attaining the level of 4 stars with a silver award for quality and also an award for the quality of the Full English Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing