We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in sunny Scarbs :)”
Review of Raincliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Raincliffe Hotel
Ranked #14 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great find in sunny Scarbs :)”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend break (minus the kids!) From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The unexpected upgrade to the four poster room made our stay even more enjoyable! The bed was soooo comfortable, and the room had everything we needed. The breakfast was good too. The location of the hotel is also good - within walking distance of the sea front, shops and Spa with on street parking right outside for a minimal fee. I would definitely return to this hotel. Thank you :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank missdynamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
188
35
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Returning for the third time in three years, I found all the proposed building work and renovations completed (to a really high standard), and the friendly welcome from Katherine and Mal made me feel well and truly at home. I stayed for four weeks and enjoyed every single moment of it. My room was tastefully furnished, the bed really comfortable, and the food was truly excellent.
I dined in every single evening because Mal's cooking is unsurpassable, and he always uses local produce cooked fresh each day. My idea of heaven! I will return at the earliest opportunity.

Room Tip: I was delighted with single occupancy of a standard double room, but there are also some really love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A most warm welcome. Room was spacious and spotless. Teas in the room included green and fruit teas. The evening meal was plentiful. Award winning Quiche... thanks Mal. Over 300 B&B's in Scarborough and I was lucky enough to book here I will certainly book in the Raincliffe when next in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We would stay nowhere else in Scarborough, yet again everything was perfect, with excellent company adding to a very happy, comfortable & relaxing break. Love Scarborough for the views, the interesting history, the nostalgia, the cliffs , ease of visiting lovely surrounding countryside & villages, but most of all we love returning to The Raincliffe and all the pleasures Mal & Katherine offer their guests / friends.

Room Tip: We love the superior double with king-sized bed, but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, WA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very comfortable, we were very happy here. The owners are very cute together. I had a sore throat and the owner went and got me some throat lozenges...which I truly appreciated!! The breakfast was very nice and had a great selection of food. It was all around a very enjoyable place to stay. We would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I've lost count of the number of times we've stayed with Katherine & Mal. The welcome is always special & have enjoyed our stays at the Raincliffe Hotel. We love the extra spacious rooms that have just been completed this year; they are so light & beautifully decorated (Well done Katherine). The Evening meals that we enjoy are exceptional & of really high quality. Mal makes a point of only using locally sourced ingredients, wherever he can. We never know "what’s for tea" until we arrive & this weeks Chicken & Leek pie with all the trimmings was scrummy.... mmmm! (Thank you Mal). After a good nights sleep in a lovely comfy Four Poster bed, we went down for breakfast- I had Kippers & brown bread with Lea & Perrins sauce - fantastic( although I may break with tradition the next time & try the Yorkshire Sauce you suggested Mal), Allan had his usual cooked Breakfast- which sets him up for the day. Already booked in for next month. We highly recommend this hotel as being a really welcoming home from home Thanks to the hospitality of Katherine & Mal. xxx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

we have just arrived home after staying at the raincliffe hotel we found the hotel excelent the room was spottless and the hosts mal and kath were brillaint i can honestly say this is the best hotel we have stayed at and the food is excellent mal cooks a mean breakfast the size of the breakfast is huge but you get so many choices both mal and kath cant do enough for you i would strongley recomend this hotel to any one we will deff be going back for another stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob123186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,840 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
581 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,214 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raincliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raincliffe Hotel

Property: Raincliffe Hotel
Address: 21 Valley Road, Scarborough YO11 2LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Raincliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you fed up with searching for the right combination of quality and value when staying in beautiful Scarborough? Look no further than the Raincliffe. We are a top graded licensed small hotel/guesthouse, ten minutes level walk to Spa, south beach, theatres with the town and museums also close by. We offer excellent refurbished accommodation (not just a lick of paint), consistently high standards with comfortable beds, spotless en-suites, high quality food and most importantly a warm, genuine welcome. Consistently positively reviewed on many accommodation websites for the last 5 years, contributor to the 'Scarborough' TA forum and winners of Channel 4's '3 in a bed'. We welcome well behaved children over 8 years and regret that we do not accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Raincliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing