We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think of staying anywhere else in Scarborough”
Review of Raincliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Raincliffe Hotel
Ranked #15 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't think of staying anywhere else in Scarborough”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our third consecutive year staying at the Raincliffe. We came across it on a website and enjoyed our first visit so much that we have come back the last two years. The owners, Mal and Katherine are two excellent people who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They seem to work non-stop but are always happy to have chat, and are good for a laugh. Mal does the cooking and makes the biggest, tastiest fried breakfast that you could wish for. My wife is not keen on cooked breakfasts but finds that the buffet styled breakfast with cereal, fruit and as much toast as she can eat suits her fine. You can have an evening meal as long as you book it at breakfast. Again, the food is excellent and plentiful; try to be there for the pineapple upside down pudding. Katherine ensures that the rooms are kept spotless. The hotel is in a quiet location and. although some rooms face the main road we find that the rooms are quiet.We have stayed in three separate rooms which have been more than adequate. We were once put in the family room, which is huge. The beds are really comfortable and we always enjoy a good nights sleep. The road is wide and there is ample parking. The hotel is a short walk from the town and the beach and is ideally situated for our favourite Scarborough places, the Spa and the South Gardens. I could not recommend staying at the Rainton strongly enough; and we cannot wait to go back.
Jennifer and Bill

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer_and_Bill430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    27
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
183
34
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Me and my partner have just returned from a three night break at the raincliffe hotel and it was superb. We have always been a bit particular when it comes to picking somewhere in the right location and meets a good standard and this place ticked all the boxes. On arrival there was ample parking available on a good wide road and I spotted the hotel immediately as it stood out in valley road very pristine and well maintained oozing signs of good things to come. We were promptly greeted by Katherine who is absolutely lovely who after taking our details got us settled in our room and even nipped off straight away to get us an electric fan when i asked if hey had one incase needed with the hot weather. The room was nicely decorated of a good size spotlessly clean with ample complimentary tea and coffee, and toiletries in the bathroom. There was ample storage, a nice LCD tv with a good signal, good size bed, good quality towels and not forgetting to mention a good size shower oh and mega fast free wifi. At this point ill mention that i can't remember ever being away from home and having such a good nights undisturbed sleep as we did here, Mal Katherine's husband (great character) also has a little bar within the hotel convenient if you did want to stop in for a drink but very respectfull to other guests as it is closed at 10pm. Breakfast is superb ,buffet style cereals, fruit, yoghurt and juices followed by a very tasty locally sourced cook breakfast or anything else from the menu. in the case of my partner requesting an omelette it was no problem at all. Breakfast was very well organised hassle free just what you want first thing in the morning and ample space to be comfortable, mal also does an evening meal on request. After breakfast Katherine and mal were more than happy to chat and advise you on anything you wished to know regarding things to do and places to visit and were on hand throughout our stay without being at all intrusive. We were extremely satisfied with our stay and we will be staying there in the future, no mention of the name raincliffe just as going to stay with mal and Katherine. We were made extremely welcome by two really nice genuine people with a passion to do what they do and to do it to a high standard. This is one of those sad to leave happy to return places that you don't always come across so get it booked and enjoy !
Neil & Cilla, stoke-on-trent

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

What can I say ... 10/10 in all areas.
Our four post bed simply devine and so comfortable. Breakfast superb and hospitality just brilliant. Couldn't do enough for you to make your stay special. Treated like one of the family. We are definately going back there again. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My mother absolutely loves this hotel in Scarborough, so when thinking of treating her to a weekend away I immediately called The Raincliffe, they were so helpful and friendly on the phone - they even arranged an additional bed for my little sister and went out and bought a bottle of champagne to be in the room when my mother arrived with us. The perfect touch!

The rooms were clean, comfortable, television channels were plenty and wifi was free and fast (perfect for my work / holiday balance). The breakfast was enormous and tasty - one of the best I've had for a long time. Friendly staff, a warm welcome and it looks the bees-knees from outside too, with a great front garden to sit in, in the sun. They really made us feel on holiday with no stress and they've made my mum smile lots. Priceless. If you are thinking of booking this hotel please DO, worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomOConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Raincliffe for 1 night last bank holiday and we enjoyed it that much that we decided to go there for a full week. Our hosts Mal and Katherine were very warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was very comfortable and the bed was too. The breakfast was huge i asked for porriage which i had for 5 days whilst here and the position sizes got bigger and bigger. You could have fruit juice, cereal, fresh fruit salad, yogurts and bananas and apples, and any kind of fried breakfast and toast. We also had 4 evenings meals there which were huge also. Which me and my other half could very much recommed. We didn't just stay in scarborough, we also visited, Hull (The Deep) and Hull city it self, York, Filey, Pickering, Helmsley altough it was wet here we went to a bird sanctury we we very much enjoyed, a very busy Whitby and found plenty to do all around. On the saturday it was Arm Forces day in scarborough and it was packed, we saw the red arrows, lancashire bomber and spitfire, and lots more. Very enjoyable stay. We will be going back. We didn't want to leave, we felt part of family. Couldn't of wanted a better place to stay

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be good to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalix, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

From the first contact by mail to confirm I got the room I wanted, to the last day of my stay I felt like I had come home, to a place I did not even know existed. Mal and Katherine made me feel so welcome and comfortable that I didn't even want to leave.
The hotel room was lovely, like in a Victorian novel, with all that you need, even tea/coffee and biscuits. The breakfasts were excellent as well, with lots of fresh fruit and 'full english' along with the traditional tea and toast. Also, you could order for dinner which I can assure you is the best alternative, if you want proper, good food with vegetables, served beautifully. The portions are a bit too big though. If you want dessert you'll not be disappointed either.
The location is good as it takes only 10-15 minutes to the centre of the city and less to the south bay.
I will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: Have a look at the hotel's web page for the room you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Found The Raincliffe Hotel just by chance after arriving in Scarborough for the first time. We had a beautiful room on the 1st floor overlooking the garden at the rear. A very comfortable bed, excellent state of decoration we couldn't fault the room if we'd tried. Our hosts Mal And Katherine were great, very helpful and informative; did everything they could for us and I dare say more if we'd asked. The breakfast was excellent, probably one of the best breakfasts we have eaten anywhere. Have stayed in places at twice the price and received half as much. Would have stayed longer but they were booked up. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: From what we saw all of the rooms were of an excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,789 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
575 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#17 of 183 in Scarborough
605 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
726 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#25 of 183 in Scarborough
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raincliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raincliffe Hotel

Property: Raincliffe Hotel
Address: 21 Valley Road, Scarborough YO11 2LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Raincliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you fed up with searching for the right combination of quality and value when staying in beautiful Scarborough? Look no further than the Raincliffe. We are a top graded licensed small hotel/guesthouse, ten minutes level walk to Spa, south beach, theatres with the town and museums also close by. We offer excellent refurbished accommodation (not just a lick of paint), consistently high standards with comfortable beds, spotless en-suites, high quality food and most importantly a warm, genuine welcome. Consistently positively reviewed on many accommodation websites for the last 5 years, contributor to the 'Scarborough' TA forum and winners of Channel 4's '3 in a bed'. We welcome well behaved children over 8 years and regret that we do not accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Raincliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing