We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff”
Review of Park Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely staff”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Last weekend my family and I (20 of us) stayed at the hotel for my Grandparents Diamond wedding anniversary. My partner and I stayed the night before and received an extremely warm greeting from the lady on the reception who even called my Grandparents at home to let them know we'd arrived.

The breakfast was fresh and tasty and the conservatory was lovely for sitting in and having a drink.

The rooms and bathrooms are basic and dated but comfortable enough.

My only grumble would be that some of our rooms were exceptionally cold. When we informed reception they put the heating on but this did not make any difference in some of the rooms. The last night we were given a heater, but as this didn't have an in date electrical testing sticker we were reluctant to leave it on over night.

The staff really made the weekend for us as they were friendly throughout and helped with calling taxis and helping us to find our way around.

The hotel is located at the top of Peasholm park and 20 minute walk into the centre. It is a pleasant walk down but a bit of a climb back up!

We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elliott86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkmanor, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
We may have fallen short on a couple of matters, but we would most definitely not have put you in danger with the heater all our appliances are tested and recorded, but we prefer to file the reports instead of placing labels on that eventually look tatty and torn.
I am sorry you felt our rooms were dated and worn, looking at our website gives definitive prove that our rooms appear, bright modern and stylish.( We do offer a range of differently sized rooms please enquire when booking)
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    239
    85
    41
    10
See reviews for
180
415
69
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were there last year and i am in a power chair at frist they did not think my chair would fit in the room or the lift but we try and did fit in the lift also the bedroom and the room was very nice it was roomy clean in the main place was very clean and very nice to chill out in the was ok. we would go there again has the staff were great. sadly we cant say for the weather.

Room Tip: room were nice and a wheelchair could fit in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkmanor, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The sun is shining today long may it last !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week's holiday. We had been several years before and found that the standard was as good as previously.
The staff are very friendly, polite and caring. The hotel is quite large with 42 bedrooms. We had a corner room with windows facing in two directions which made it very light and airy.
The decor was modern, the room and en suite very clean with plenty of storage space. Our room was quite large, one window looking over Peasholm Park for which we paid extra. The en suite was small with a bath and shower over. It was a little tired and would benefit from some new fittings and taps. The food was excellent, always a good variety, nicely served and always very hot. Large pleasant lounge where coffee is served. Excellent leisure facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Peasholm Park are larger but more expensive. All roome vary in size and shape, some h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkmanor, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for posting your review, and your compliments of Park Manor.
We very much appreciate our guests feedback so thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have thought long and hard about posting this review. I travel a lot and tend to be very tolerant of little things that are wrong at hotels but if you offer me food, I expect value for money, I live to eat.

While hotel was more than adequate, I found dinner was awful. I stress” I” because to be honest nearly all of the guests I chatted with loved the food and the hotel was full for Sunday Lunch. There are not many restaurants on the North side and £23 for four courses with coffee sounds good.

So how could you make a judgement about whether you will love or hate the dinner before you waste £23 per person?

You will like the hotel dinner if

• You count “fresh” as fresh when it went into the tin
• You liked school dinners
• You like to get dinner” out of the way” so you can watch East Enders
• You only own the “Bero” cookery book

The more Yes’s the more you are likely to be happy with dinner otherwise then stick to bed and breakfast and get a taxi into the town centre, eat at one of the numerous restaurants, get a taxi back and still be in pocket.

The hotel facilities were good and clean and the hotel staff were excellent. The bedroom was more than adequate and yes, there was a noise from the heating system at the back but it really didn’t disturb me, in fact it was quite comforting and I have had far worse traffic noise in hotel rooms.

My bottom line is would I go back and the answer is yes but only on bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank GreyPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
I must admit i am rather at a loss how to reply to your review of Park Manor.
It is indeed regrettable that you did not enjoy your meals, however as you point out the other guests you chatted with "loved the food", and we were indeed full for our ever popular Sunday Lunch.
The number of guests that repeatedly return to the hotel substantiates their acknowledgment of quality and excellent value for money.
You cant please everyone ....
.....BUT we certainly try to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We are the East Suffolk National Trust association. In 2011 we took two parties of 48 people to the Park Manor Hotel for five day holidays in May and September. We visited places of interest within a radius of about 30 miles.

The hotel and was outstanding for food and accommodation and the staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant. The holidays were so successful our members intend to return in 2013 and visit the several other places of interest in that area.

Room Tip: Not really necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkmanor, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Park Manor and of course the beautiful Scarborough and surrounding areas.
We look forward to welcoming you once again in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Booked this as a last minute, for one night, travelling down from Newcastle.

We arrived and parked in the car park which was located off the main road. The hotel is located in the middle of a residential area, at the intersection of two main roads. On arrival, we waited in reception for 5 minutes before someone attended to us, who then asked (rather gruffly) Yes?. I interpreted this to be "Hello and Welcome to the Park Manor, how cna i assist?". We got our room key and made up the two flights of stairs to our room.

The corridor to our room was extremely poor lit, not helped by the dark doors to the rooms. It was very quiet though.

The room
Small, with a view over a flat roof. The "flat screen tv in every room" ws approx 10 inches in size, thus rendering it useless if you were sitting on the bed (we ended up using an ipad). The room had modern fixtures and furnishings. However...we found multiple hairs on the cushions and throws- so these immediately were discarded to the floor. On the pillows we found more hairs, leading us to suspect the bed linen had not been changed since the last guests or that there was no attention to the room cleaning when performed.

The bathroom was adequate, with the shower and toilet in seperate rooms. The bathroom areas were all carpeted (a personal pet hate).

Location wise the hotel is good, with the beach less than a ten minute walk.

Breakfast was average- the waiting staff had to go over my order 3 times (no beans) and when my plate arrived it was a pleasent suprise to find beans on my plate (cue return).

We left very early, not wishing to try out the pool area, as to be honest the stay had been somehwat spoiled already with the cleanliness of the room. For the £££ we paid, i expected a far better location, and a much much much higher level of customer service, room size, facilities and cleanliness.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Des V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkmanor, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
We love to hear compliments and are lucky to get plenty.

We hate to hear complaints, but it would be unusual if we never got any, so when we do we take immediate action.
Every guest should be made to feel welcome, we got this wrong and i sincerely apologize.
As to your other points i will look into them forthwith and rectify any issues.

Once again i am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, we will put things right for future visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We arrived in the early evening during the serving of the evening meal but were warmly welcomed by a member of staff at the reception desk. Checking in was flawless and only took a matter of minutes. The room was well laid out and clean. We are not the kind of people to stay around a hotel so didn't get the opportunity to use the pool or games facilities. Breakfast was much to our liking and the full English went down a treat. On our last night we decided to have a night cap in the bar after spending the evening in town and found the bar tender/night security man very pleasent and friendly. Would definately recommend this hotel to others but would note that it is a good walk into the town centre, but the local taxi service is very efficient and not costly. Would definately make a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goodya10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkmanor, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
We hope to see you again when you next visit Scarborough.
Thank you for your praise of Park Manor and for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,837 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,854 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
581 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
371 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Manor Hotel

Property: Park Manor Hotel
Address: Northstead Manor Drive, Scarborough YO12 6BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#7 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Park Manor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What we do: from the minute you walk into Park Manor Hotel you can expect warm smiles and cheerful, efficient service. Whether you are looking for a happy holiday hotel, the best business base or a superb setting for that special celebration, we have the answer. We want you to enjoy your time with us, and to take away memories of genuine hospitality and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Manor Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing