We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent as usual”
Review of Park Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
wakefield
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“excellent as usual”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

we have visited this hotel several times over the last 8 years. Up until this year it was just me and my husband on a relaxing time away in the glen room which we love. This year we decided to go as a family. We have a daughter who is a fussy eater the hotel was really good. they asked us on a daily basis what we would like for her tea and it was there at tea time. Now onto the food we had. In one word Amazing. loved every meal. can reccommend evening meal. plenty of choice, cooked really well and plenty of it. Breakfast had plenty of choice.

My daughter needs medication that needs to be kept in a fridge, we thought this may have been a problem. Not at all , i gave it at reception when we arrived and when i needed it someone went and got it for me promptly and then took it back.

Alison and Geoff were fantastic especially with the kids.This made our stay great. All the staff were efficient, smart and courteous. Its the little things that make your stay good. It was our anniversary whilst stayin here and there was a card on our evening meal table. How thoughtful.

The pool area is really quite nice. We spent hours in there. My daughter wouldn't get out. The bar area is comfortable and a drink is easily got either soft, alcoholic or hot. Can reccommend the shorbread that comes with the coffee.

our room was fine, nice view of the park and sea. Good size bathroom. Thought the light curtains would be a problem, however we slept great and they didn't wake us early at all.

Its not the cheapest hotel around, however we feel you do get what you pay for the service is second to none, added advantage of pool (we had to ourselves most times).

We were sad to leave and can not wait to return. Daughters first visit she loved it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stressed37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Valued customers such as yourselves are so important to us and we feel assured by your comments that we are still on track.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    232
    80
    39
    10
See reviews for
175
388
66
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2011

me and my wife stayed in this lovely hotel short walk to beach which was handy and lovely clean lounge to relax on a evening . Rooms spacious clean and fresh ,loved the wall stickers which gave this nice room a lovely look . Delicious food friendly staff just an over all
excellent hotel thank you for our great stay .....

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 186411Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
.....thank you for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Upon arrival we were checked in without fuss. We went to the room and everything was fine. We tried the pool area and this was suprisingly nice, jacuzzi and steam room lovely too. The service we got from Geoff particularly was brilliant and i would love to give the hotel 5 star but the cleanliness of the bathroom was poor. There bathroom generally was a little dirty and there was a short curly hair in the bath and one on the toilet bowl, and the radiator in the bathroom was very dirty. The breakfast was plentiful, varied and very nice, with plates hot for adults. Overall we will stay again and would return. Please clean the bathrooms though. Overall very good and worth while.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiger090304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
How very unusual for Park manor not to be tip top were cleaning is concerned, I can only apologize for this.

Our fantastic cleanliness is one of our most popular comments, so i am most upset that we did not deliver our customary standard on this one occasion.

I am very pleased to see that this did not spoil your overall enjoyment.

The mop, brush and bucket are already out !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My family and I stayed for four nights. We had two front rooms overlooking the park. They were well appointed but there are some matters which need addressing and the management will not be surprised by the remarks which I make later if they looked at the comments forms which we completed.
But first the good things. As a family we have stayed in many hotels and we all agreed that the food was excellent especially dinner. It was not just the choice but the standard of cooking. Always tasty. Hot food on hot plates. Just good food with no frills and lovely freshly starched napkins every evening. Judging by the number of locals who arrived for Sunday lunch clearly the restaurant has a deserved reputation. The place was packed!!
Secondly the staff. Always courteous and helpful especially Alison and George who were so friendly.
This is not a cheap hotel and for that reason I do have some criticisms. My wife and I stayed in room 6. Pretty curtains but useless at keeping out the early mornig sun( when it shone) which lead to a lack of sleep. Blinds or blackout material are not expensive and so needed
My daughter in room 7 had a double and a single bed. The single was fine but the double urgently needs replacement. It was so uncomfortable that she swapped with my granddaughter. Again early morning light was a problem.
I have tried to be constructive with these comments because in so many ways this is a good hotel and it would be nice to think that money could be spent on the problems I have highlighted

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ancienttrveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for your constructive criticism.

All newly refurbished rooms have black out lining and your rooms are next on the list for an upgrade.
We will most certainly look into the uncomfortable bed, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Overall I feel Park Manor once again accomplished some most encouraging comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here for our summer holiday as we wanted a hotel with a pool and we used it lots during our stay for a relaxing dip in the evening. We had a front facing family room and it was spacious enough for the three of us. The welcome was great and we were told how to get around the town. During our stay, all of the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was excellent with a huge choice to please everyone. Like so many of the small hotels we have stayed in, it would benefit from an update/modernisation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wfamily_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for your your excellent review of Park Manor.

I am sure you could recognize we have an ongoing refurbishment of the hotel and today I have uploaded several new photographs of bedrooms to show our guests.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

we love everything about this hotel, from the friendly staff to the wonderful food.
the swimming pool is an added bonus.
this was our 3rd stay and we will definately be back.
well worth paying that little bit extra for quality.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroljimmyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
We love reviews like yours !! Thank you.

All our guests are considered valued ,but dare i say especially our repeat customers.

We are extremely lucky to have a lovely position overlooking the North Bay and Peasholm Park.

Scarborough is a wonderful place to live and visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

My husband and I were staying for 4 days with our daughter, son in law and young grandaughter arriving for the middle two. Although we hadn't told them when booking that we were the same party, as soon as they found out they arranged for us to eat together. They were very helpful and everything we required was sorted.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleGrandma046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,750 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.9 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Manor Hotel

Property: Park Manor Hotel
Address: Northstead Manor Drive, Scarborough YO12 6BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#7 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Park Manor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What we do: from the minute you walk into Park Manor Hotel you can expect warm smiles and cheerful, efficient service. Whether you are looking for a happy holiday hotel, the best business base or a superb setting for that special celebration, we have the answer. We want you to enjoy your time with us, and to take away memories of genuine hospitality and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Manor Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing