We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Park Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Very pleasant stay at the Park Manor Hotel. Room had recently been refurbished to a very good standard with tea making facilities and hairdryer available. Good choice for breakfast and service was pleasant and prompt. Staff very friendly, helpful and cheerful (especially the breakfast duo!). The little swimming pool with steam room and jacuzzi was an added bonus. Would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
It is always a delight to hear we are delivering what our guests want.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    230
    80
    39
    10
See reviews for
174
387
66
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Fabulous hotel. 2 minutes walk from Peasholme park in a lovely quiet location. The hotel had its own car park though there is ample parking on the road.

As soon as you walk into the hotel, you feel relaxed and are greeted by very warm friendly staff. Our room was lovely an airey, light, spacious and exceptionally clean with lovely views at the front. Only downside was there wasn't a plasma TV but this made us relax even more.

The pool is exactly as the pictures shows and you could have been anywhere in the world!.
We booked into the restaurant which was exception value, included in the ddb rate. THere was plenty of choice and ample portions and we had coffee in the lounge.

Amazing games room - pool table and table tennis.

I beats 4 or even 5 star hotels which I have stayed in before. Even the personal touch of receiving a postcard on our return .. how lovely

Definitely stay again.. a hidden gem... thank you

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank fizzletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Thank you for lovely comments ,they are very much appreciated .
We are as we speak replacing all "old " tv's with new digital flat screens, but what a positive attitude ,so much so that even when faced with a negative you turned it around .
Lovely people, please visit again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I had read the reviews and liked the look of the games room and pool and good food and friendly staff which in the main was not far off as reported.
We stayed in 6 hotels and B and B's in just over a week through N Yorkshire and N Wales for the half term and I think this was the 'heaviest on the pencil' so I had high hopes.
Simple check in and up to the room, moderate size, surprising lime green bedspreads and wall heating turned off, freezing room , easily dealt with but not welcoming.
11 year old daughter calls from bathroom that she can't work the shower/bath ( not for the first time) 5 mins later, father and mother also flumoxed. Ended up filling the bath from the shower head. No iron provided which and after paying a certain price, does irritate
Also tried pool, obviously not big but a nice extra compared to some hotels.
Evening meal booked and table allocated for stay. Youngish staff well turned out and poised for action ready for arrivals. Very polite, old school service, no brown windsor soup but that style. Food very acceptable had duck and salmon mains with amusee bouche cauliflower soup very good, potatoe served like upside down Mr Whippys browned slightly in the oven.
Beds were very comfy and no noise disturbance, excellent.
Breakfasts a bit of a follorn display, I can only remember a few packets of cereal at the help youreself table with 4 plates of tinned fruit. The establishment we had stayed the day before had a much larger choice plus nuts yoghurts etc and she had enquired what type of fresh fruit we would all like in a salad and produced it for us minutes later.
The full breakfast was minimal but well cooked. Saying that I went for the kipper I would hope it was localy produced but it appeared just standard frozen.
As I have said the staff are pleasant the place is mostly warm and definetely clean, but the Elephant in the room is it's dated decor, I will stand corrected but if you see a flower displayed in here it will be artificial and probably orange.It reminded me of Blackpool hotels from the seventies.
The other guests here had the appearance of really being at thier ease, the family on the table next to us had stayed recently another guest was discussing some change in the arrangement of the dining hall, another one acnowledged the male check in clerk by name at breakfast.
Their is obviously an affection for the place as evident from reviews, and the guests I met.
There is a satisfaction evident with the residents, akin to a rail enthusiast at Llangollen, or a meet of the VW camper van society on a field in Liecester or ornithologists together anywhere.
The newish Jaguar in the car park fitted in well but so would a wll kept Allegro or Mark 3 Escort, it's a well run place and you will probably have a comfy stay, but don't be surprised if you put the telly on after checking in and its showing Crackerjack.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou-IOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
If the room was cold on entering, we can only hold up our hand and apologise. Easily and promptly put right, we hope, but a boob. Shower valves seem to have a thousand different methods of operation, as any frequent traveller will tell you, but a quick call to reception would have remedied that (and brought an iron).

On colours, it's one man's meat etc. We are nearing the end of a complete renovation of all bedrooms and the owners of the hotel happen to have a particular interest in interior design and fashion. Members of the family also travel widely, and keep tabs on international trends in hotels, so afraid we can't accept accept that this is some sort of time warp ...anything but!

Read with great interest and we always believe there's something to learn, but don't let a natty turn of phrase distort the facts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huttoft
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2011

This was my second visit to this hotel, and I can honestly say I was not disapointed with any aspect of my stay, the staff were very friendly and the food was superb. I have a very fond affection for the town of scarborough and the surrounding area built up over many year's my only regret is I somehow didn't discover this hotel until last year.A wonderful long weekend break.I look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markbarrylovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Now you have discovered us and are obviously enjoying your visits , please tell all your friends so we can be not such a hidden treasure!
Thank you for your time in writing a review we very much appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We have stayed here on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed.
The friendly and efficient service are ever present.
Meals are of high quality and well presented.
A truly enjoyable and relaxing stay.
The Fawlty Towers Experience was quite an experience!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScholesHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments on Park Manor and taking the time to post them on trip advisor.

So glad you enjoyed Fawlty Towers ,we will be doing more theme events later in the year please check our website for details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

this was our fifth visit, and we are still impressed with everything about this hotel, rooms are clean, warm( in winter ), well furnished, the staff were first class, nothing was to much trouble for them ( even the cleaners), the food was of a very high standard,the spa facilities were good,

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jud_johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
We love hearing from our guests especially when we seem to be heading in the right direction.

Thank you so much for writing your review, we look forward to seeing you on your 6th visit !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. There was adequate hot water for both of us and I liked the separate toilet and bathroom, this worked well, not like some htels i have stayed in.
The food was really good with lots of choices and the vegatarian dishes were creative rather than being a bland choice like other hotels.
The service in the restaurant was excellent with the food qucikly being served we hardly had to wait between courses. It was a relalxed atmosphere andf the staff were most helpful. We could not have asked for anything more.
The front desk were again very helpful and accommodating and always willing to help.
I thoroughly reccommend this Hotel and will definately stay there again. Overall a wonderful experience.

Ken Findlay

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Park Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Top Class .......

what else do i need to say except thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,738 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.9 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Manor Hotel

Property: Park Manor Hotel
Address: Northstead Manor Drive, Scarborough YO12 6BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#7 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Park Manor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What we do: from the minute you walk into Park Manor Hotel you can expect warm smiles and cheerful, efficient service. Whether you are looking for a happy holiday hotel, the best business base or a superb setting for that special celebration, we have the answer. We want you to enjoy your time with us, and to take away memories of genuine hospitality and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Manor Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing