We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Rockside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rockside Hotel
Ranked #13 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent a weekend at Rockside and had a good stay. The room wasn't huge as some previous users have said but big enough for us and a travel cot. The owners were very welcoming and friendly and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mullen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for Rockside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 448 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We liked our room. It was nice and clean. The owner and his staff were very helpful and breakfast was really nice. Although there were a lot of families with kids we did not hear any noise in our room and slept well.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed at the Rockside for 3 nights, 4th, 5th and 6th August. Very friendly staff. Make you very welcome. Would recommend. Excellent Bed and Breakfast. No problem with parking, and the staff made good recommends for places for evening meals.

Mr. and Mrs. Briggs

Room Tip: Rooms with Sea View on First floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the rockside B and B in July and found it as our rating average. For £68 a night we did expect a slightly larger room than we were given and found that the level of care could have been better (torn net curtains inthe bedroom). The staff were all very friendly and could not be faulted. The hotel provides a parking permit which was really handy.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lucymk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We went as a family and had a very pleasant welcome. Shown to our rooms which were very nice and the quoted sea view was superb. No complaints regarding the rooms which were basic but spotless and for the price excellent. A very full 'English' breakfast with as much toast and drinks top up as required. had never been to Scarborough before and very very pleased we chose North Bay by chance!

Room Tip: Front of hotel to get the sea view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 718SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here with family taking three rooms for one night. The owner was incredibly friendly and put us all at ease. Rooms were clean and functional with great views out over the bay as we had per-booked to ensure a front facing vista. Excellent recommendation for a restaurant made the whole stay extremely memorable. Breakfast in the morning was superb and again the staff were incredibly friendly. We all loved it with ages from 6 to 60 and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try and get front facing if possible.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CONCUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a great find! Great location by the North Bay and only a short walk to a number of restaurants and pubs. Walk outside and you're overlooking the North Bay, and a short walk down the cliff to the water and walkway. Drove for maybe 5 minutes and parked near the South Bay and we got lucky with some beautiful weather.

The owners were very friendly and helpful, catering to your every need. Room was fantastic, probably more than we needed, but we booked very last minute and they were still able to accomodate us with a family room. My son loved the bunk beds and the beds were all very comfortable. Not much of a view as we were on the back side, but not a problem.

Nice breakfast the next morning in the cozy dining room. A parking pass was provided and we found spots right around the corner. Would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view. Upstairs rooms are probably quieter, but more stairs.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,911 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
917 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.1 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockside Hotel

Address: 15 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $95 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rockside is a Highly Recommended B&B situated in a fantastic location on the Castle Headland with magnificent panoramic sea views of the beautiful North Bay of Scarborough and Yorkshire Coast. Only 5 minutes walk from the town centre and beaches. A choice of Single, Double, Family rooms and Suites are available on a Bed and Breakfast basis. All rooms are decorated and furnished to the same high standard and have brand new, modern en suite facilities; LCD digital TV; hairdryer and hospitality trays. FREE WIFI in all rooms and public areas. Free on street parking. The Licensed Sea View Lounge with drinks service is the perfect place to sit and relax and admire the outstanding view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Rockside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing