We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliness with a view”
Review of Rockside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rockside Hotel
Ranked #14 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a great find! Great location by the North Bay and only a short walk to a number of restaurants and pubs. Walk outside and you're overlooking the North Bay, and a short walk down the cliff to the water and walkway. Drove for maybe 5 minutes and parked near the South Bay and we got lucky with some beautiful weather.

The owners were very friendly and helpful, catering to your every need. Room was fantastic, probably more than we needed, but we booked very last minute and they were still able to accomodate us with a family room. My son loved the bunk beds and the beds were all very comfortable. Not much of a view as we were on the back side, but not a problem.

Nice breakfast the next morning in the cozy dining room. A parking pass was provided and we found spots right around the corner. Would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view. Upstairs rooms are probably quieter, but more stairs.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for Rockside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 448 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

The B&B owner was extremely friendly and helpful- carrying our heavy cases up three long flights of stairs! However, the room was very basic, few ammenities, compared to other B&B's that we have stayed in. We were there during a chilly May period and the large bay window which afforded us a splendid view of North Bay, lacked insulation, therefore, the room was rather cold. They provided parking passes, which was very helpful, as parking in Scarborough can be difficult.
The breakfast appeared to have been precooked and did not stay hot for too long, although there was plenty of it.... overall, basic accomodation in a dated building.
Even though the owner was one of the nicest people we have met, we felt this B&B did not live up to the description that we read about it on the net, prior to booking.|

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paulette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Beautiful and so welcoming. We booked this as a base for a mother and daughter bonding over a surfing lesson break and it was perfect. Really friendly and full of useful tips and pointers for our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed at the Rockside Hotel for 5 days with my wife and 5 children. We had a family suite which was 2 rooms joined by a door. Rooms weren't big but were much welcomed and perfect for a large family. The whole hotel was spotless and looked really inviting. There was a bar in which you helped yourself and marked down what you had taken and you paid in full at the end of your stay. The location was perfect for us. The best part of the beach is directly in front of the Hotel with nearby rockpools for the kids to explore. Breakfast was excellent and we all had our daily fill each day. The owners were very friendly and catered to our every whim. Overall this is easily the best Hotel we have been in and we have been in many. We feel the place was well worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Due to a broken satnav, and no map, i had to phone up several times for directions. They were really helpful and friendly right from the start! And throughout our stay. We stayed in room 14, which had a lovely view. Spotless, and a really comfy bed. The breakfast was perfect. And overall, we can not fault the rockside hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My partner and I booked at the last minute just for a one night stay, we had a sea view room on the top floor. Whilst the room was fairly small it was clean and had everything we wanted. The bathroom was really nice, with a big shower. The hosts were very welcoming and the breakfast was just delicious, we would definitely recommend this hotel and will be returning.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Collegegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and had a brilliant relaxing break. We were made to feel welcome from the start, everyone was friendly and the service was excellent. Everywhere was spotless, the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The icing on the cake was our room which had a large bay window with views of the North Bay and Scarborough Castle

Room Tip: Though it was just the 2 of us we requested room 6, (a family room with double bed and bunks) due to...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamLinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,909 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
915 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
595 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockside Hotel

Address: 15 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $93 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rockside is a Highly Recommended B&B situated in a fantastic location on the Castle Headland with magnificent panoramic sea views of the beautiful North Bay of Scarborough and Yorkshire Coast. Only 5 minutes walk from the town centre and beaches. A choice of Single, Double, Family rooms and Suites are available on a Bed and Breakfast basis. All rooms are decorated and furnished to the same high standard and have brand new, modern en suite facilities; LCD digital TV; hairdryer and hospitality trays. FREE WIFI in all rooms and public areas. Free on street parking. The Licensed Sea View Lounge with drinks service is the perfect place to sit and relax and admire the outstanding view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Rockside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing