We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“forget the big hotels”
Review of La Baia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Baia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed Saturday night after watching a game of rugby, and along with two other couples were made very welcome by Elaine, and by Tony later in the bar. Nothing was too much trouble, infact Elaine moved her car from the front of the hotel to allow one of our friends to park there car there as they had their dog with them. The rooms are exactly what you want, clean and a good range of facilities and an excellent choice of food for breakfast. Would definitely recomend to our friends and would definitly stay there again when next in Scarborugh. Thanks Allan & Sally

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talblic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for a lovely review!! It was pleasure to meet you and your friends and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Baia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 564 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed here one night in April and found La Baia cosy tasteful little hotel.
Its rooms are small but nicely decorated and provided everything we required.
We particularly liked the friendly but unobtrusive owners,the lovely sea view location and definitely the excellent,quality breakfast.
We also would recommend the nearby pub The Scarborough Arms, in which we had a really good meal, in nice surroundings,very convenient distance away.
.We plan to go back in the summer when hopefully the weather affords a better chance to explore more of the gorgeous coast..

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trace64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for a lovely review!! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Baia and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We booked our stay based on the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Our stay was perfect in every way, from the spotlessly clean room with sea view to the gorgeous breakfasts and evening meal. Tony and Elaine are lovely hosts, and guest comfort is their priority.The hotel's excellent location enabled us to easily visit Whitby and Robin Hood's Bay, (both just half an hour away), as well as local shopping and sightseeing in Scarborough. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cp62015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for a Wonderful Review!! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Baia and we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel is a privately run B&B run and managed by twolovely hosts who make you feel very welcome. I had a double room to myself on the second floor which also had lovely views overlooking Scarborough Bay. My room was basic and a little small but adequate for my needs. The room was very comfortable and clean with lovely showers in every room. Little extras ususally only found in the big hotels like shower gel and shampoo were also provided which I though was a nice touch.
The food was very good. In terms of catering, nothing was too much trouble. If we wanted kippers then they would be provided. Lovely breakfasts with evening meal being provided upomn request. All in all, a lovely stay. I would recommend this hotel to anybody wanting a short break in Scarborough although not particularly suited to wheel chair users or people with walking difficulties as the hotel has no lift and there are steps leading up to the main entrance.

All in all I enjoyed my stay. Maybe it would be more attractive to holiday makers if the outside looked a bit more appealing. However, once inside, it was really lovely. Fully recommended if you are on a budget!!!

Room Tip: Look for hotel rooms which include breakfast in the price as many of the bigger hotels don't inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marysteers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for a lovely review!! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Baia and we hope to see you again. Now that the weather is improving, Tony will be putting some bedding plants in the flower tubs at the front of La Baia to brighten it up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful 5 night stay at the La Baia hotel on scarboroughs beautiful north bay,As in many times past we again had an absolutely smashing time.
There were 5 in our party,and we were welcomed by Elaine and Tony,who own and run this gem of a hotel.We all had lovely sea view rooms,which were spotlessly clean,warm and cosy,The shower in the modern bathroom is the best i have ever encountered,always hot and a realy good flow of water,not like some.The room are very tastefuly decorated.with every thing you need for your stay.
I had ordered some Flowers,a cake and champaigne prior to our arrival and Elaine and Tony organised this for us with the flowers in our room when we arrived along with anniversary banners over the beds.
We dined out some evenings but ate twice at the hotel.The food is prepared and served to the highest standard,and is very reasonably priced,although i didn't try it myself everyone said how yummy Tonys home made apple pie was,i had cheese and biscuits and it was also very nice indeed.
Afterwards we had the juke box on and sang and danced whilst enjoying our lovey cake and champaigne.
It was sad to leave this morning,but we will be returning to this wonderful hotel,where a genuine warm welcome and a smile await every guest,many who like us return again and again.
Many thanks Elaine and Tony you did us proud see you soon love from us all

Room Tip: Book early for the best rooms we like rooms 4 or 8 but they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymond b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for a Wonderful Review!! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your Silver Wedding Anniversary Celebrations at La Baia. It is always a pleasure to see you and we look forward to seeing you both again in August.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay here, Tony and Elaine really gave us a very warm welcome and our disabled little boy really took to Elaine, which meant a lot to us. The room had excellent view's and was something else, it was warm, spacious and extremely clean. The food was excellent with an excellent choice and plenty of it, a very hearty breakfast. The hospitality excellent, and it felt like we'd stayed there before. The hotel was extremely clean and tidy. A plus point was the double disabled bay straight across from the main door.
We really recommend this hotel in every way and we will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for a fantastic review!! It was lovely to meet you and your family and we are very pleased that you all enjoyed your first stay at La Baia. We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We were in a party of 22 + kids we arrived on the 14th for a special birthday from the first to the last minute we were made welcome by Elaine & Tony nothing is too much trouble for them and they made us feel at home our room was at the back of the hotel but still had a view of the South Bay Large comfortable room with one of the best showers we've had anywhere . The meals we had were second to none and always hot breakfast had the largest choice of any hotel we've stayed in . Saturday night we had a buffet meal and again such a huge choice even fresh salmon which was delicious to say the least then into the bar to sing along to the juke box this hotel is a real gem and we will be going back later in the year as a couple we can't thank Elaine & Tony enough for making our weekend absolutely brilliant thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Alan & Lynn .

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBaiaHotel, Owner at La Baia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for a Wonderful Review!! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Baia and we look forward to seeing you again later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 26 in Scarborough
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#14 of 184 in Scarborough
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baia Hotel

Address: 24 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $92 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Baia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Baia is situated on the North Bay has been awarded 4* Guest House status by Visit England. Tony and Elaine own and have run the business for 13 years. La Baia has 12 ensuite rooms - single rooms, double/twin rooms and family rooms, most with sea views. We offer bed & breakfast, evening meals, bar snacks and room service. We have a cosy sea view bar serving draught beer/lager and a large selection of wines, spirits and soft drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Baia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing