We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Halifax
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

12 of us booked here as we played golf at Southcliff and from the booking (thanks Harriett) to departure we all had a great stay. The rooms were spacious clean with nice views, the service in the bar was relaxed and a good atmosphere and we had bar snacks before we went out which were tasty, well presented and good value. We came back very late and again had good hospitality and breakfast although very busy was tasty and plentiful. Some of us used the pool and sauna which were a nice addition and all the group commented what a great hotel it is. I plan to book again to take my family as the location is great and the service first class!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonbantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    363
    230
    165
    131
See reviews for
197
611
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

We booked a standard sea view double room, the only one available at short notice and were very pleased with it. Looks like it had been recently refurbished. The bed was comfy, the view superb and we had a decent strength shower.

The breakfast choice was excellent. You name it, they have it on the buffet, although for us it could have been hotter. The waiter took our order for tea/coffee and toast as soon as we were seated, and by the time we returned from the buffet it was on the table. (Great cup of tea by the way).

We didn't use the restaurant in the evening but had a meal in the bar area, which has a reasonable choice, was very tasty and good size portions.

The hotel is a long walk from the town centre. We like to walk to get a paper in the morning and it was about a half hour round trip.

All in all we really enjoyed our weekend and would definitely return.

The only thing we didn't like was the fact that there was a wedding reception on the Saturday and the evening party went on until 1.00am, and we couldn't sleep because of the thumping beat of the music. It may be as well to check before you book unless you like to stay up late.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippie3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed one night in Room 210, a Premier Deluxe room which was really lovely, with massive bay windows giving amazing views over the sea towards South Bay. The room and bathroom were very well equipped. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. A really nice stay all round.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bb67Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

Hotel website and advertising shows wonderful rooms, however on arrival we were told we had been 'upgraded' to a larger room, which turned out to be an unrefurbished family room (no 113). The room was clean, but in need of total refurbishment, see pics, with the bed being collapsed in the middle, wallpaper peeling beside the bed and from the ceiling of the dingy bathroom. The flooring was cheap and uneven throughout the room and windows looking out onto a decked area could not be opened as they had been locked, leaving them room stuffy and musty.

After dumping our luggage and going out for a meal and a look around town, we complained to the Shaun, the porter on night reception. Although he was initially unable to do anything for us, the sight of my distressed partner made him look more closely for a refurbished room for us to spend the night. The refurbished room, 111, across the corridor from our original room was lovely and had a great sea view. The furnishings, bedding and toiletries, welcome pack etc. were all different and of higher quality than in the original room.

Unfortunately, or so we thought, the Ambassador had no refurbished rooms available for the remaining two nights of our stay and we were given a part refund for our first night and booked into the 4* Crown Spa Hotel along the Esplanade at a discounted rate negotiated by the helpful duty manager at the Ambassador. The Crown Spa was fantastic and I will also be reviewing there in detail.

All in all, the structure of this hotel means that refurbished or otherwise, it can't match up to the Crown Spa, but the refurbished rooms are extremely pleasant. We felt our complaint was handled very well, however as we booked over the phone with the hotel we would have expected some mention of an unrefurbished room (charged at the same rate as an unrefurbished room), which had it been mentioned would have allowed us to book elsewhere in the first instance.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanmcmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Wakefield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

Our room at the Ambassador is one of the worst I have ever stayed in. It was certainly nothing like the ‘representative’ photograph of a standard double room shown on the hotel’s website.

The decor was awful...woodchip wallpaper that was in various places stained, dirty, peeling and cracked. The furniture was old fashioned and chipped – the “king size” bed I had booked turned out to be two singles pushed together and held to the wall with bits of wood.

The bathroom was similarly aged and tired, with unhygienic chipped tiles and more peeling woodchip. The bath panel had a nasty gap at the side that didn’t look hygienic either, and the bottom of the shower curtain was rimmed with mould.

There wasn’t a proper shower, just an attachment to a mixer tap. I couldn’t get this flimsy attachment to actually mix the cold water with the scalding water and so couldn’t use the ‘shower’.

At first sight the room appeared clean, but then I noticed someone else’s pubic hair left at the back of the sink. And when we folded back the bedcover we found the underside had what looked like old blood stains on it.

All this for £99. Disgraceful.

The hotel did put on a good breakfast, though I had to discard several bowls to find a clean one and eat with my bread knife as the regular knife was dirty too.

The bar area is pleasant, and the location of the hotel is great – straight opposite is a wonderful view of the South Bay. (Sadly we had a view of a back alley and bins from the room.)

There is a big advertising banner as you walk into this hotel, with item number one announcing the hotel’s ‘exquisite rooms’. What an absolute joke. I will upload some pictures so people can see our ‘exquisite room’ for themselves.

If you stay here - insist on one of the refurbished rooms as shown on the website. The one we had was absolutely dreadful - not worth half the price we paid.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali_J_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUFFOLK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

The sea view room was refurbished and modern with views across the bay to the castle. Two armchairs in the bay window were ideal for relaxing and enjoying the sea view and gardens across the road. Breakfast was good (although a little crowded due to a coach party), evening meals were excellent with a good choice available. Waiters were both friendly and professional with their service. Having stayed 4 nights I was able to make use of the swimming pool on most days, this was ideal along with the spa bath and sauna. The pool became a little crowded if more than 3 or 4 guests were swimming at the same time. It would be nice if the leisure facilities were open at 7.00am each day rather than 7.30am and 8.00am on some days. We stayed at the hotel with our small dog and were dissapointed to learn that the hotel policy from now on is not to accept dogs.
I would stay at this hotel again, if only they did accept pets!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOESuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Germans , Cornwall
Level Contributor
237 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

We have stayed at the Hotel twice. Once in December 2009 and again in June 2010. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis but also had dinner at the hotel. Do check , if you book dinner when you book the room it can be on offer at a reduced rate.
The food was very good and portions generous . On both occasions the staff were helpful and attentive. The restaurent and bar had good views out to sea.
The rooms were very clean but could benefit from updating particularly the bathrooms.
There is also a small swimming pool
I would recommend this hotel to others ,it seemed good value compared with other places we have visited.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robertscargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,622 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing