We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short breakdown”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Just had 2 night break at a very good price which included breakfasts and meal on first night, food very good but if paying seperate, a bit overpriced. Restaurant & bar area is nicely decorated and service good, staff pleasent and polite. Young girl on reception very efficient, others a bit slow. Had room 109, nicely decorated but no view which spoiled it, would have sea view if went again. Spa facilities good, new relaxation lounge excellent, Zen garden would be better if had a glass roof, will definitely go again

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chesterfield14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

936 - 942 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently visited the Ambassador Sap Hotel for lunch with the view of perhaps staying there. I was most impressed with the spaciousness of the dining area and it was lovely for our little granddaughter to wander around freely . We were waiting for our son to arrive as he was popping out from the University during his classes to join us for lunch before we set off back home to Scotland. The wait for lunch was unbelievable and considering we only ordered up simple paninis it was too ridiculous for words the length of time we had to wait resulting in our son having to rush his lunch and get back to his students. Not pleasant when you have a little hungry toddler. I have to say the lunch was lovely and beautifully presented I asked to see the rooms and lady was more than obliging very pleasant and helpful. The rooms my daughter in law and myself were shown were really lovely spacious ones with a fantastic sea view. Having come home and looked up the cost, far too expensive for us considering we go down to Scaborough every 6 weeks or so. .

Room Tip: Never stayed in a room had a look at several of them very spacious lovely sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just back from two nights stay at the Ambassador. We treated ourselves to a premier deluxe room which had the greatest sea view which couldn't be spoiled by the appalling weather. The room itself couldn't be faulted, the food in the restaurant was just great and very generous portions. The only think stopping me giving five stars was the size of the pool - very narrow and no separate jaccussi, but this slight disappointment was offset by the friendliness and efficiency of all the staff I came into contact with. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Me and my mum had a joint mothers day and b.day celebration for a mud rasual. When we arrived, we was asked to go in a room and wait for spa assistance, an hour later some-one arrives witha glass of water (we had not been asked if we would like any refreshments or assistance). We get told to go down a corridor to get changed we arrive in the tiniest changin room woth 2 changers and not get told it was uni-sex until a man walked in on us!! We did not get told where to go for the mud rasual, and when we finally got shown it was a tiny dark, grubby little room with mould and no-where to put our towels and slippers. We didn't feel relaxed at all, when it started steaming the room was that small it burnt my leg and when the water came out to rinse the mud it was freezing. We got told this was a 45min treatment and only lasted 20mins, we were both very upset that we left. As we tried telling the receptionist we found the lack of communication waa very poor!!! Would not recomend this treatment it was very stresfull than relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank matthew duncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights. Staff were all very friendly and welcoming. We were provided with dressing gowns, slippers and towels to use during our stay which was a nice touch. Room was a good size with plenty of storage. The view from the room was not brilliant so will book a sea view when we stay again. Room and hotel overall was clean and tidy and well presented. Food was lovely, no need to upgrade to the full breakfast as there was a lot of choice with the continental. Pool area small but sufficient with a sauna and nice shower and changing areas. Mud rasul treatment fantastic - book early for treatments to avoid disapointment. Relaxation room was lovely especially if you want some quiet time. We had a wonderful weekend and will definitly be returning.

Room Tip: Request sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a lovely break here,although the pictures on its website do it justice,it is a very nice hotel,some areas are are a little dated but the staff make it a lovely place to stay.The bar has a lovely atmosphere and the food was lovely too,we will book this hotel again,it was a lovely 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggie72061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Me and my husband have just been to the ambassador for a wkend break which was most enjoyable,the room was clean but small,food and facillities were very good,would definatly return,but nxt time would book a seaview as not very good view fom our room,bar prices were fair and service was quick,all the staff were very polite,will be recommending this hotel to friends and family

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 26 in Scarborough
397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $72 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing