We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but downhill all the way after that.”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We booked a sea view room with breakfast for £89 but shortly after arrival my wife and I were close to packing our bags and going home. We had just been told there were no more rooms available and we would have to stay in this dreadful gloomy room, painted in an industrial grey colour. It was only when a member of staff managed to jam open the window with a block of wood that we decided to stay. The room was small and grimy and a large dead moth by the bed which the cleaner had missed made us wonder what else had been overlooked. They reckon this hotel had a million pound update but it must have been spent on the spa and beauty side of it because the hotel is generally quite grubby throughout. Breakfast was a really poor experience. The service was shocking and the quality and choice of food was dismal. We regularly have hotel breaks and most of my reviews are very favourable but this hotel deserves a star for the view and that's it.

Room Tip: We noticed there were some bigger rooms also with a sea view and if we were forced to stay here agai...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anjunajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,260)
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

974 - 980 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

this hotel is superbly located with views over South bay which are worth paying extra for. The public areas are immaculate, the refurbished pool area is fantastic and the breakfast was lovely. Our executive room was newly decorated but a bit small, the bathroom was nothing special, but everything was lovely and clean. Did I mention the view?..... Overall a very happy stay :)

Room Tip: pick a sea view room and upgrade to the best rooms for more space if you can afford it
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11DLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here as part of a 4 night coach trip. First the good points.
The staff! With one exception they were great, young, willing to help, cheerful and didn't keep you waiting and were very accommodating.
The location! Also very good - away from the seaside glitz and "kiss me quick" kitsch - with great views over the bay.
Cleanliness too was generally good.
The food. Well cooked and reasonably presented but the prices according to the menu were high! A 3 course evening meal was £20.95. In some places this would seem reasonable but here, given the menu it was just over the top! [Sample menu. Starter - Pate. Main - Shepherds pie and vegetables. Dessert - Cheese cake. Coffee. If you wanted to replace the dessert with cheese and biscuits this cost an extra £3.00!]. Things degenerate from here!
The beds. Our mattress appeared to be new but was fashioned out of solid boards, no give and so poor sleep.
The rooms. Had we been paying full price (Internet quotes this as £130.00 per room per night) I would have been apoplectic. There was just 10 inches between the bed and the wall on each side. Two people could not pass comfortably at the foot. The en-suite was similarly very narrow and down a flight of 3 steps. The view out of the window on one side was the rubbish bins and the other lock up garages.
The term refurbished was used to describe the rooms, it should have been redecorated. The bathroom still had the old, in need of TLC, suite and the walls and tiles had be painted over with a cream coloured waterproof emulsion - beginning to peel in one place. The room, the corridors and most public places [walls, doors, woodwork] had been uniformly coated in the same indeterminate colour emulsion. It was depressing! Made me think of the old joke about battle ship grey paint!
Lastly the hotel indicates it has a lift. Yes it does but it only takes 2 people and their luggage at a time! This means that the stairs are used most of the time. This makes this hotel somewhat unsuitable for older people or those who have difficult climbing. We had 6 flights to negotiate to get to our room on the 3rd floor.
Would we stay here again? Preferably not!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdw1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Very helpful on front desk. 1st room small and dated so asked for a upgrade, this was a bit bigger with same dated deco. Asked for a refund which we got with no problems I must not be the 1st person thats done this. We went down the road into a 4* hotel for £20 a night more a penthouse suite excellent hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here, the location is fantastic but overall the hotel is very average. The bedroom was Nice with sea view however the bathroom left a lot to be desired, we've stayed in better travelodge's it was very small, basic, very tired, clean on the surface but the taps and shower needed cleaning, mouldy bath seal. Really not pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bondsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel for two years during the summer holidays and Christmas and we have felt that the standards have dropped. This year we arrived in August as a family of thirteen and it was clear to us that the coach parties who were staying there were treated more favourable. They seemed to get preferential treatment and pay a lot less for their stay than we did. An example of this would be the after dinner coffee in the lounge every evening when the coach people were there, however, as soon as they had left this was no longer available. This was also evident at breakfast when there was inadequate plates and no fried eggs etc. There was also no entertainment when the coach party had left, which clearly meant that the hotel was providing special attention for only the coach parties. When the coaches were leaving at 6am, the noise of people knocking on doors and chatting was very annoying. When the coaches arrived their cases were taken off them, put in the small lift and this meant that other hotel residents could not use it and had to walk upstairs to all the floors. The small pool and spa was constantly full of non-residents and resident children were restricted to using the pool between 5pm-6pm, when we ate dinner at 6pm. The food was very good but the service was slow. One night we should have been eating at 6pm, including small children, but it took us until 8pm to finish eating which is unacceptable. We asked for anyone in charge to explain our complaints, four times, and was told to write them down and hand in at the reception, but we never saw anyone in charge. On Saturday, there was two weddings booked in. There were children running all over the dining room leaving doors open, meaning we had to keep getting up about eight times just to shut it to prevent any drafts from coming in. The lounge was full after dinner, which meant nobody could sit down. The wedding downstairs did not know about the wedding upstairs meaning the hotel was chaotic. For the amount of money paid, the service was very poor, however, the cleanliness of the rooms and quality of the food was very good- we would give each of those 1 star. The rest, no stars.

Room Tip: If rooms were brighter coloured instead of grey-brown, the rooms would be more cheerful
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I took my mum away for a few days at the Ambassador over a most welcome and unexpected sunny break. My mum had actually stayed there before with her friend so for her to suggest it again is an accolade in itself. A lovely mid-sized hotel in a great position overlooking the bay. The Spa complex down on the front with music hall etc. is a short trip down the cliff tramway - a few hundred metres from the door. Cross-check when events are on though.

Okay, so I drew the short straw re: the view (I let my mum have the sea view) but heck, for the discounted mid-week price I couldn't complain *at all* with the standard of the room - very comfortable & sumptuous bed, good hot shower and everything in good condition. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Struggled a bit with trying to stream iPlayer to my laptop but maybe I was expecting a bit too much there! Normal web access was fine.

Special brownie points to the lad on the bar who took the time to draw leaf shapes in the coffee. A small touch but sometimes it's the small touches that make the difference.

For me the highlight was walking into the bar and seeing a real ale on tap - Wold Top Bitter. I really was expecting the usual smooth flow and lager suspects so this was a most welcome find. Almost recommended on this single point alone...

We only had breakfast in the hotel but that was top notch with a good choice.

Never asked if the hotel took part in the local parking scheme (some disc based system) as we were out in the car most of the day when the there was limited local parking.

Room Tip: A few of the rooms overlook the rear (guess every hotel has one) so if you really want a better view...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munrobasher123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,911 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
917 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#10 of 26 in Scarborough
389 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $80 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing