We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
2 reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Got taken here by my girlfriend for a suprise birthday treat via the groupon offer! We got there and the reception staff were helpful! Our room was very nice comfortable everything you need and a bit more, the bottle of wine on ice awaiting us in our room went down very well! We made use of the pool that was a nice temperature, attempted to use the sauna but the controls baffled us! The food was excellent very tasty and even better because the 2 course meal was thrown in as part of the deal! The view as you walk out of the front of the hotel was fantastic and a nice walk onto the front! All in all a very good seaside escape without the tackyness attached to most seaside resorts! I highly reccomend this hotel! The staff were aware we were using the groupon voucher and we were treated no diffrently(i was expecting maybe lesser priority) i loved it and would go back!!! Thanks to the hotel and my girlfriend for booking it!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danjam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    369
    232
    168
    131
See reviews for
197
622
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Great value, lovely location , room spotless if a little small,good music,super breakfast, bargain cocktails-Please keep me informed of any more great deals. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We booked a one-night stay via Groupon - and we were extremely pleased. The value was astonishing. Things we liked - a welcome bottle of Prosecco, a good clean room with a separate sitting area, lovely staff who knew what they were doing, a very good breakfast, a nice evening meal with homely, satisfying cooking, a great location right on the Esplanade - which is the posh end of Scarborough, great views, easy parking.
Not much not to like - it is an Edwardian Hotel, pretty well kept - but some may find some bits a bit old fashioned, guests predominantly but not entirely on the older side,
We certainly would give it another go!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cityh0pper7_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stopped earlier this week on business and was pleasantly suprised. The hotel is clean, tidy and ideally placed with wonderful views. The staff cannot be faulted at all. they were all pleasant and helpful which makes the stay more enjoyable. The breakfast was good with a large selection of both hot and cold food
Would not hesitate to use this hotel again when visiting Scarborough and once again, compliments to all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed one night in July 2011 on a dinner, bed & breakfast basis in this 3 star hotel on the Esplanade in Scarborough. We paid to upgrade to a double sea-view room (boutique per their website) and glad that we had.

The public areas have obviously been fairly recently updated and were fresh and modern.

Then it was a lift (not state of the art) up to our floor. The third floor corridors were narrow and unprepossessing and we wondered what our room would be like. However, it was spacious, modern and recently refurbished. There was a balcony with table & chairs and the views across the South Bay, harbour and castle were lovely. A minor point is that the TV was small for such a large room - a shame as the Open Golf was on live. The whole was let down by the bathroom which was in need of the same standard of renovation given to the bedroom. Although clean, it was frankly shabby, with paintwork missing from the loo seat and a shower curtain rather than glass panelling. The curtain looked new, but no-one had bothered to remove the old curtain hooks. It was also carpeted - not a good idea around a toilet.

Dinner was no more than 'okay'. First course of mussels, served in a tasty broth. The second course – sea bass – was beautifully cooked, but served on a bed of lettuce and some partially grilled tomato – a most bizarre way to serve fish! A shared side dish of chips was on the soggy side. Breakfast fresh fruit salad with accompaniments was excellent but nothing was cooked fresh to order, the hot food being from a heated buffet arrangement. Service for both dinner and breakfast was pleasant and helpful.

Leisure centre: It does boast a good sized swimming pool, which we thoroughly enjoyed. However, there are only two changing rooms and no hot shower area for after your swim and no bathrobes provided for hotel guests.

The hotel benefits from some refurbishment but there are other areas which need to follow suit. Overall, we enjoyed the Ambassador and the sea-view room really made the stay special. We would be happy to return if we could get a good deal.

Room Tip: It has to be a sea view room - the view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkspuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

just stayed for a 2 night break, really impressed with the staff, great spot on the esplanade first time i have been to this side of scarborough, good facilities and a very good sized bar area, food spot on both breakfast and evening dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaymen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Hi, me and my wife visited last week and were pleasently suprised. I booked the hotel after seein the deal on groupon and looking at the website. My wife then checked on here and there were quiet a few negative reviews so we were tempted to cancel.
We have both said we are really glad we went it was a really good relaxing break and we had a great time.
It is a very basic hotel and quiet dated in some areas but you get the feel they are really trying to make improvements and the staff seem to be very eager to help. We had upgraded to a sea view room and although small the room was nice and the view was fantastic.
The restaurant was very well laid out and on the deal we were on provided good option. The service was pretty good and the food was lovely. I checked the overall prices of things and everything seemed really good value.
The big let down for the whole experience and where I feel that other guests may feel let down is that the hotel has marketed its self as a spa hotel. There is in fact a 40ft pool as advertised and a sauna as promised but that is all that the advertising has correct. The width of the pool is around 8ft, more like a swimming lane, the water was very cold to the level that my wife stayed in for less than 2 mins. The spa bath was actually jets fitted at the bottom of the pool not a seperate bath. The sauna is the size of a disabled toilet cubicle and was infact not working properly. We went down at lunch time and found locals who had paid to use the facility, amoungst the swearing and shouting at the 2 young children they did inform us that it was always cold and never worked. With those in the pool even if it had been heated and they were a liitle less load and pleasent it would still have been overcrowded. I would imagine that you are looking at maximum of 4 in at a time.

As I say the hotel as a stand alone is pretty nice and good value with some really hard working and friendly staff, if they could heat the pool and restrict to guests only then that would be a great addition. I think by advertising it as a spa hotel they are setting themselves up for negative reviews.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlWHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,749 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing