We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three card trick .”
Review of The Falcon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Falcon Inn
Ranked #20 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsteignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Three card trick .”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

A chance visit due to a nearby attraction being closed . Great location and garden . Good value well prepared food , friendly staff . We found this place to be very nice to sit in , plenty of room , clean , well furnished . Service good and Sunday roast very well cooked with excellent Yorkshire pudding .
Price right for the area at 9.50 pounds per head . Set back from the main road but easy to spot and no annoying traffic noise . Good clean facilities .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    67
    17
    13
    15
See reviews for
96
178
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had gone to the coast for the weekend, and had decided to stay, however, so had the rest of the Yorkshire region it seemed.....
We rang countless places in Whitby, Scarborough and Robin Hood Bay but to no avail.
Downhearted, we started our journey home, along the Scarborough road and came across the Falcon Inn.
We decided to call in for something to eat, and to enquire about rooms. We were told by the girl behind the bar that there were no rooms for the night as it was a two night minimum policy, so again extremely downhearted by this point, we decided to at least stay and have something to eat before carrying on our journey home.
We spoke to a lovely member of staff called Emily who asked if there was anything she could do to help, after we explained why we were so fed up, she promptly went to speak to her manager and came back smiling with a room key!! - Oh our delight!!!
Once finishing our meal (which by the way was faultless and delicious), we decided to go and have a look at our room.
We were thrilled, the room we stayed in was room 2, it was immaculate and stunning, we were told that it was a superior room, and it certainly lived up to its name!
Everything looked and felt luxurious, and the bath was to die for!!!
Although the pub was hosting an outside charity music event, we were doubtful of getting any sleep, but once we were inside our little haven, you couldn't hear anything at all.
We both slept fantastic, and got up this morning to a lovely full English breakfast.

I would like to say to Emily and the lady that runs the pub, thankyou so much, and we will definitely be highly recommending you and will be staying again very soon!!!

Great place......

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 or 2 - they are the superior rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Called here while on holiday after it was recommended to us by someone else staying in the same place as us. We had really hot food and it was tasty too. My husband had the lamb shank whilst I had the beef wellington both to a very high standard. The land lady was very friendly and welcoming as was her daughter who sold me a raffle ticket. If you are out this way this is a good place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N00kie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Wow! What a way to end a holiday! After staying at Whitby for the week, and the end of our self-catering holiday we decided to eat out instead. My father in-law insisted in going to the Falcon Inn, as he has always said it ws really good. The food was excellent. The choice on the specials board was good and not your normal "peas and chips" selection. As there was four of us, our food selection ranged from fish, chicken through to Beef Wellington. All excellent presented with sufficient quantity.

We went on a Thursday evening, so the pub was just ticking over, so I can imagine it could get busy at weekends.

A lovely way to finish our holiday.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungry-Thirsty69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stopped at the Falcon Inn for lunch while travelling from Whitby to Hull. The look of the place and its setting attracted us to stop. This being in nice gardens not far from the cliff top. After a surfeit of chain pubs where lunch is the usual selection of sandwiches, wraps, and baguettes it was great to find an old fashioned cook it yourself place, that promised home cooked meats and local produce.

We ordered the home cooked ham sandwiches for my partner, and a cheese and ham plough mans for myself. It was great to be able to order a plough mans as this seems to have fallen out of favour in recent years. The ham was delicious and supplied in generous amounts, the cheeses are varied and interesting not your usual block of rubber cheddar. Our side orders of chips and onion ring were excellent as well.

Service was friendly and rapid, though we were three of only six customers present. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we ordered desert as well, banana toffee cheesecake one of a dozen or more choices available. Again the was excellent.

We've decided to make this one of our regular lunch stops on our trips up and down the East Yorkshire coast. A great lunch stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagdabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I visited the Falcon Inn over the last Bank Holiday period. I have to say that Louise and her staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend that others visit. The evening meals were exemplary and were reasonably priced. The room was very clean, well serviced and very quiet. We felt as though we were part of the family. Well done to you all.
Sheila and Mel, Nottingham

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My group booked a table for dinner on Friday. We ordered drinks at the bar while they set the table and were ALL given the wrong drinks.

Our food took an hour to come and was substandard. The risotto was tasteless and had a texture like porridge. The pastry was burnt and the burgers were dry.

Very glad we decided not to stay there, I dread to think what the breakfast is like.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AJFruitfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
2.4 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
4.8 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
10.6 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harmony Country Lodge
Harmony Country Lodge
#21 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcon Inn

Property: The Falcon Inn
Address: Near Cloughton Whitby Road, Scarborough YO13 0DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Falcon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falcon Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing