We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend stay at the castle by the sea”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Castle By The Sea
Ranked #32 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had a two night break at this hotel ( we have stayed here before). We received a relaxed friendly welcome.
We stayed in a room which had a roof terrace with table and chairs and a fantastic view over the north bay. The room had been modernised, and had a new shower room with under floor heating. Full english breakfasts were excellent, and everything was hot, even the toast. There was also a choice of mornng papers to read.
We would recommend staying at this hotel.
Kathy and Phil

Room Tip: ask for a room that over looks the bay
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1204_Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for The Castle By The Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 220 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay. Nestled under the remains of Scarborough Castle the views are spectacular. Close by is St Mary's Church where the remains of the author Anne Bronte are. Importantly guests are well cared for by John and Janet who also welcome dogs. You will definitely want to go back.

Room Tip: Room with a view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stopped of for a snack on our walk to the north bay. Very warm welcome from the owner. Dog was made very welcome. Sandwhichs were gorgeous ,served with home grown salad. Would highly recommend this establishment. Owner very welcoming. Will be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Recommended by regular visitors to Castle By The Sea, but ourselves not knowing Scarborough,we were not disappointed with our stay. We had been in need of a break and this was the perfect place to be. We can't remember when we last slept so well! The bed was sooooo comfortable.John and Janet are the perfect hosts; the rooms are clean and welcoming and the breakfasts are delicious. We were served in the conservatory with stunning views over the bay. We are only sorry we didn't eat there in the evenings...next time for definite! John recommended places of interest he thought we might like, and to eat our evening meals according to our taste, and he was so kind and thoughtful. We really didn't want to leave at the end of our stay, and will definitely stay again. The Castle By The Sea is the most amazing building with an interesting history and overlooks the North Bay with absolutely breathtaking views, it really is stunning, The proximity to the town centre means there is no worry about having to drive in, the centre and both bays are easily reached by short walks. It is so quiet and peaceful there, the absolute perfect place to unwind. I cannot recommend Castle By The Sea highly enough.

Room Tip: We had room 6, which overlooked the North Bay with uninterrupted views, and also overlooked the terr...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 93AnnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

John and Janet give a warm welcome when you arrive and serve up lovely teas coffees and home made cakes with wonderful panoramic views of north bay! Children and dogs are welcome in the lovely civilised setting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank imogen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful stay at Castle by the Sea.. John & Janet were wonderful hosts with a wonderful Hotel. We (my daughter and I) were looking for a place that was dog friendly for the night just before the Easter Break and happened across this place.. John and Janet run the place brilliantly and we were made to feel right at home straight away.. We had a great nights sleep followed by a fantastic Full English Breakfast... When we come back to Scarborough we won't need to look anywhere else.. Thanks for a great stay.. See you again soon. Phil, Lola & Betsy.. When your next in Harrogate and get a break (never happens I know) give me a call...

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are lovely with Sea views and great balcony..
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AcornLodgeHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Originally booked for one night only but found Castle By The Sea and John so delightful that we stayed an extra night. We were lucky he had a room free!

Rooms were clean, beds comfortable, food lovely, views stunning and John is so helpful and accommodating. Family of 4 and our dog will definitely try to stay here next time we're in Scarborough.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrotbagsSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.6 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#37 of 184 in Scarborough
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#14 of 184 in Scarborough
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarence Gardens Hotel
Clarence Gardens Hotel
#39 of 184 in Scarborough
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle By The Sea

Address: Cottage-By-the-Sea Mulgrave Place, Scarborough YO11 1HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $81 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Castle By The Sea Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing