We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Castle By The Sea
Ranked #35 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields, Tyne & Wear
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

Booked into The Castle for my sister's graduation from Scarborough Uni. John& Janet are very hospitable, the hotel & rooms are extremely clean & well kept. The hotel’s unique position and stunning views complete the package.

The hotel is situated approximately 5 mins and £5 in a taxi from the main Sea Front area and associated attractions. However this could easily be tackled on foot, and indeed was, after a good night out.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank toddyboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    37
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
68
89
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2008

Superb hotel with lovely views over the north bay.
John & Janet are a wonderfull couple who could not do enough for us.
They made our short stay with them so special.
The food is excellent and sevice to match.They have a great future ahead of them in the hotel business.
For a real Scarborough experience visit "The Castle by the Sea" Hotel, You wont be disappionted.
Kev & Sarah whould like to thank them both for their lovely hospitality.
We will see you agian later in the year.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kevandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2008

We enjoyed our stay hugely - Janet and John are so friendly and welcoming. Food was wonderful and the rooms spacious, well decorated, comfortable and very clean. The Castle by the Sea is a unique building with loads of character - the views over both of Scarborough's bays are beautiful. I cannot recommend this hotel enough and I will definitely stay here again the next time I visit the area.

  • Liked — Unique character and location - friendly and welcoming
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nb1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2008

Very friendly welcome. All our needs were catered for by Janet and John. They were very helpful and kind to our two young children. Lovely location and great home-cooked food. Enjoyed our stay very much, will definitely be going back soon!
Sarah and Andy

  • Liked — I loved the sea views
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

Our Stay was a birthday gift to myself and my partner from my Father. We were greeted by John & Janet the owners. When you walk in your greeted by a lovely hotel with spacious rooms. The food was very tasty and well cooked. Everywhere is clean. Considering they are new to the trade, you wouldnt guess it. Wonderful views over the South Bay. Nothing was to much for the owners. There are plenty of leaflets letting us know whats in the area. Extra was paid so we could have champagne and chocolates in the room, well worth it. We cant wait to go back and hopefully it wont be long until we do. Thank you Janet and John for a wonderful time.

  • Liked — The friendliness
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank madgixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

We went to the hotel and were surprised with the great views and excellent service provided by John and Janet. It was more than what we expected. John and Janet welcomed us with lovely smile and they allowed us to make the trip absolutely memorable. The views from the rooms were fab and all the 12 members of the team greatly enjoyed the trip. We would all advise you book this hotel and enjoy your trip!
Its value for money.

From,

Dr.Khalid

  • Liked — sceneic view
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lovelytweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

The view out of my window was absolutely magnificient. The hosts John and Janet were very warm and helpful especially with the baby monitor and cot that they provided for my baby to allow me and my husband to be with our friends in the lounge when my baby was asleep. The rooms were nice and clean. I would definitely want to go back there.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nia_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Tall Storeys Guest House
Tall Storeys Guest House
#26 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#9 of 35 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#9 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#33 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle By The Sea

Property: The Castle By The Sea
Address: Cottage-By-the-Sea Mulgrave Place, Scarborough YO11 1HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Castle By The Sea Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing