We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views in Scarborough”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Castle By The Sea
Ranked #32 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best views in Scarborough”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We have Thoroughly enjoyed a 4 night stay at the castle by the sea. Fantastic hosts, I'd say the best hospitality we've ever had.... It's got to be 5*! Homemade cakes, scones and tarts in the tea rooms, absolutely fantastic!! The views are spectacular! Breakfast was of good quality and generous. Rooms are very cosy with flat screen TV and tea making facilities. Would highly recommend, I would advise booking early though as demand seems to increasing. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    37
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
71
94
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the castle for 2 nights at the beginning of August as it was recomended by my daughter.
We had room 1 which was spacious even with the dog crate . The room was clean and the breakfast was 1st rate.
The position is ideal as you can exercise the dog on the beach below the hotel. Its also a nice walk into Scarborough its self.
We will be revisitng next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne499520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with our Labrador dog for two nights in Room 1 and were highly delighted.The room was spacious and the bathroom was lovely with a great shower.
We were able to park at the front of the building and John was there to greet us.He was full of information and nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfast consisted of a choice of cereals,fruit,full English and toast with homemade preserves.Our dog was not allowed in the dining room for obvious reasons but she could lay or sit beside us in the adjoining sunroom,which we preferred anyway.
The only reason for 4stars instead of five was that the roof top terrace was shared.
We would definitely stay here again though.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank daveminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My fiancee and I were made to feel very welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable four poster bed, amazing sea views, clean bathroom with plenty of hot water and clean, fluffy towels, delicious breakfast cooked to order, My only problem was having to come home. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Room 6 has the most beautiful four poster bed and amazing views. And don't worry if you forget y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingLady1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

spent a nice night at this unique accomodation...what lovely people the owners are ...friendly and helpful ,which made up for the weather this weekend,,our bed was a cosy fourposter...with a sea view breakfast was delicious and vast....an ideal base and as close to the sea as you can get...it was also good to see people with pets staying....well we will return....thaxs john and janet xx Cathy&Holly x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank henryMC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked a family room and had a lovely stay once again at this hotel. It had been near on two years since our last stay but once again it did not disappoint. We received a very warm, friendly welcome from John and Janet who cater so very well for their guests. We enjoyed the lovely view from the balcony where we sat out with our tea time cuppas! Breakfast as usual was very scrumptious and nothing requested was a trouble. A very enjoyable stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenMants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have just returned after 4 nights with my two teenage daughters. It is a good base as it is inbetween the two bays and we had a magnificent view of the north bay from the patio door in our room. What makes this place special is the attention to detail by the hosts: greeted by the door, chocolates on your tea cups, underfloor heating and a heated towel rail, wi-fi and docking station, delicious homemade jams with breakfast, crusts off for my fussy daughter, and even when I needed to contact John on his mobile at 1 o'clock in the morning he was down to our room in 5 mins and eager to help. The only difficultywith ad, with all the fresh sea air and the warm, comfy beds, was getting up in time for breakfast!

Room Tip: Room 1 is a great room with a double and single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teachertourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Tall Storeys Guest House
Tall Storeys Guest House
#29 of 182 in Scarborough
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#39 of 182 in Scarborough
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sylvern House
Sylvern House
#63 of 182 in Scarborough
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 182 in Scarborough
503 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Falcon Inn
The Falcon Inn
#20 of 182 in Scarborough
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle By The Sea

Property: The Castle By The Sea
Address: Cottage-By-the-Sea Mulgrave Place, Scarborough YO11 1HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Castle By The Sea Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing