We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Castle By The Sea
Ranked #32 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed 1 night with daughters and young grandson - and the dog. Absolutely fabulous place to stay. Rooms lovely, views spectacular, proprietors very friendly and thougtful, food excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernadette w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for The Castle By The Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 220 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night last week & couldnt fault the place, great room, great views, amazing food & very very nice people who run it. Was so nice we decided to return for another night a few days later. To anyone thats thinking of staying here - do it! Also, try Janets scones - they are a must!!! Thanks John & Janet

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsH482012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was the third time we stayed at the Castle by the sea hotel,
highly recomended,great location with amazing views,with a comfotable clean modern room with all the comforts you would expect , comfortable beds, with a lovely Full English Breackfast
seved by john in the conservatory,
Great host and hostes ,very freindly and helpfull ,Thanks Janet and john,

Room Tip: Room 6 has a great four poster bed and amaizing views ,
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waynebow7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at castle by the sea for the second time last week. As before we had a comfotable modern room with all the comforts you would expect. The Patio doors led out onto a balcony with panoramic views out to sea and to peasholme park. We were made to feel very welcome from start to finish. the breakfast was well presented and and well cooked. If you want somewhere with great sea views , this is the place for you. and for a Hotel very well priced at £95 per room.
We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for patio doors and balcony
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paullambert887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This really is a lovely place,perched on top of the hill with amazing views.
We were greeted by John who let us park in the garage next door.Then shown to our room on the ground floor.Newly refurbished to a high standard, having the added bonus of patio doors leading onto a large terrace with the amazing views.Perfect for us with taking our dog who was really spoilt by John and Janet.!!!
The first night we were allowed to have a takeaway delivered and eat it in the conservatory with our dog.John even asked if we wanted plates etc. On the Sunday night, Janet cooked us a delicious Roast beef dinner with a prawn cocktail to start.That evening we relaxed in the lovely lounge watching the T.V
The breakfasts are excellent and the tables laid out beautifully.Everything cooked fresh to order and lots of it.!!! Even the dog was brought bacon and sausage.
John and Janet are working hard at the on going refurbishment and it looks like it is paying off.
How they do everything themselves and still be so happy and dedicated to guests, is beyond me.NOTHING is too much trouble for them.
On the Monday we arrived home, I E-Mailed John and booked another 2 nights for the end of this month.Cant wait.!!!
Many Thanks to you both.See you soon.

Room Tip: All ground floor rooms are dog friendly
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dansonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just returned home after a weeks stay at 'Castle by the sea'.Exellent time.John and Janet very nice,warm and welcolming people.Lovely hospitality. Food superb.John very helpful with advice in how to spend our days.All in all we had a great time and if we go to Scarborough again then this is the only place we would go.Thanks again John and Janet from your Dundee visitors.x

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed for the weekend with a group of friends celebrating a birthday, and had a great time. There are fine views over the North Bay from the terrace where you can take tea/drinks. The building has plenty of charm, John is a fantastic host, and we will no doubt return at some point.

Cooked breakfast (excellent) finished at 09.30, and if I had a criticism of the service this would be it (my thinking being 10:00 would be more the norm).We also enjoyed a great buffet on the Saturday evening which was prearranged. Whilst the decor was a little tired in places compared to some, this would depend very much on your definition of character. It certainly had a personal touch, and some interesting features and history. I would recommend this to any of my friends staying in this area, but not if you want modern chic .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redbeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#14 of 184 in Scarborough
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#36 of 184 in Scarborough
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarence Gardens Hotel
Clarence Gardens Hotel
#40 of 184 in Scarborough
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tall Storeys Guest House
Tall Storeys Guest House
#22 of 184 in Scarborough
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle By The Sea

Address: Cottage-By-the-Sea Mulgrave Place, Scarborough YO11 1HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $81 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Castle By The Sea Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing